Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Formula Ten vs. Tamiya F103/F104 >

Formula Ten vs. Tamiya F103/F104

Formula Ten vs. Tamiya F103/F104

Old 02-06-2010, 02:00 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 947
Default Formula Ten vs. Tamiya F103/F104

Which is better?
UrabusDenis is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 02:16 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Whichever gives you more pleasure IMO.
rezenclowd3 is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 03:16 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
WheelNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Edmonton, Ab
Posts: 3,210
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

F104 pro is a lot better equipped from the factory. HPI F10 is really cheap. F104 w/Ferrari body looks awesome and has middle of the road price and equipment. If you want max speed get the F104 pro.
WheelNut is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 03:39 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
TfnG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wesley Chapel FL
Posts: 1,281
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

i had the HPI and it was horrible on my local carpet track. might be decent on asphault tho...dont no.
TfnG is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 03:41 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
timmig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trabuco Canyon-- in the Pines!!
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

The Tamiya cars are much better prepared as "out of the box" racers. The HPI will NOT work until you've purchased a LOT of upgrades to bring it up to speed. It sound cheap at first- but you have to upgrade the motor mounts, the differntial --and the wheels and tires as the kit ones are JUNK!!!
With the Tamiya 103 or 104--you can make them work well with a simple tire upgrade. There's lot's of bling parts that enhance--but the stock car will actually perform quite well with just the right tires on it..
FYI
T
timmig is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 09:20 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Kregger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Why would you have to upgrade the motor mounts on the formula ten?
Kregger is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 12:59 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
Blueman Austria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 427
Default

Originally Posted by Kregger View Post
Why would you have to upgrade the motor mounts on the formula ten?

The Problem of the F10 are the kit tyres! With the Bridgestone Soft compound tires it is a different car!

The second problem is that the car is suited only for use with rubbr tires.
There is a oputunity for us it with nitro foam tires, but on hihg grip traks, these tires have so much grip that the car roll over.....

If you want to use all the Tamiya/3racing-Foamtires you have to buy the convention parts wich are soon available from HPI.

I race mine on a raceclass where only F10s are allowed, with minor tuning.
and 4cell 17,5T B(without stock speedos).

Therefor it is much fun to drive, because all drivers have the same gear to use.

Greetz Blueman
Blueman Austria is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.