R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2010, 04:47 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default Advice required for running twin brushless motors

Hi guys,

Has anyone rigged up a twin brushless motor setup? I wan't to scratch build a creation but my appreciation of brushless technology is limited.

Can I connect 2 brushless ESC's to one receiver via a y-harness? Is it that simple? I am assuming I would need to run 2 battery packs and am thinking that a couple of small packs for 1/18th cars would suffice.

Thanks in advance,

Steve
stephenianjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 07:18 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 718
Default

Yep, I've done that with two Mtroniks systems in an E-Maxx. Set the transmitter to one ESC on its own, then again to the second one on its own, then attach them both to the reciever with the Y-lead. Each ESC is independant apart from input signal, so yep, you'll need 2 battery packs.
__________________
Quote, Leodis, 2007: ''I've been shopping online for 9 years and the only charge I've ever had to dispute with my credit card company was from TiR. Congratulations TiR. Even porn sites are more ethical than your company!''

RC cars - I haz sum.

Last edited by academygaz; 02-06-2010 at 09:07 AM.
academygaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:26 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, this is great. Is there anything else to it though. I was wondering also, with twice power from the ESC's to the receiver, will this cause problems as it would be 12v as I see it?
stephenianjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 01:09 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 718
Default

I guess its dependant on the input voltage of the receiver. I was using the stock Traxxas one that comes with the E-Maxx and didn't have a problem with it, but I assume the standard EVX ESC would have stepped it down to the standard 6v, otherwise it was happy running on 12v+.
__________________
Quote, Leodis, 2007: ''I've been shopping online for 9 years and the only charge I've ever had to dispute with my credit card company was from TiR. Congratulations TiR. Even porn sites are more ethical than your company!''

RC cars - I haz sum.
academygaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 04:46 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Thanks again, I guess I can only try and see.

One lat dumb question (relating to the 6v vs 12v thing), which one of the 3 wires would be an input voltage wire to the receiver? If I simply disconnected one of these wires, would the input voltage then be 6v?
stephenianjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 05:49 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenianjames View Post
Thanks, this is great. Is there anything else to it though. I was wondering also, with twice power from the ESC's to the receiver, will this cause problems as it would be 12v as I see it?
It would not be 12 volts, as they would be hooked up in parallel. The red wire is the positive wire feeding the receiver, with black being negative, and the white wire is for the signal.
__________________
The Original SC10 4X4 Clutch Basket

Steve McGeorge
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 05:56 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

You should be able to run both speedos off of one battery if you want to. Just make sure it has the c rating to handle double the usual current.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:09 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the extra info guys. I recall high school theory about wiring in series vs parallel...it now fits into place again. I guess I wasn't sure which way the y-harness worked but thinking about it, it would need 2 batteries wired in a series circuit to double the voltage rather than how I intend to do it, so it seems obvious (NOW!)

Thanks again guys, I think my creation might just be possible!

Cheers,

Steve
stephenianjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:19 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
DanielC.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,658
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

I would disable the BEC from one of the esc's if I were you, so they do not "fight" each other in delivering current to the receiver/servo. (just remove the red wire from one of the esc receiver plugs)
DanielC. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 05:35 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Ok thanks for the tip...much appreciated!
stephenianjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 12:57 PM   #11
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supafastsupra2 View Post
I would disable the BEC from one of the esc's if I were you, so they do not "fight" each other in delivering current to the receiver/servo. (just remove the red wire from one of the esc receiver plugs)
Absolutely! And be sure to insulate, shrink wrap or something, the one wire end you pull out.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 01:03 PM   #12
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Its far easier to use a short servo ext and pull the wire in the extension - that way when you want to go the other way or sell it, you just unplug it from the extension and its back to the way it was.

You can also use the modded servo ext to do this again whenever you need.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 01:23 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Great tips...thanks for all of that.

I have a shopping list now for all the bits (including 2 x brushless systems).

Regards,

Steve
stephenianjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 03:13 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 237
Default

steve, are we gonna see this thing at the track soon?

Chris...
gameover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 06:22 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Hey Chris,

Give me a chance to build the thing first! I'm gonna attempt to build something for the upcoming mini nats...note the word ATTEMPT! I have a backup twini mini if my build atempt doesn't work though.

And I'm not sure what class this frankenstein thing would fit into anyway!

Cheers,

Steve
stephenianjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net