Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
how do i find a bad cell? >

how do i find a bad cell?

how do i find a bad cell?

Old 03-28-2004, 12:48 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 702
Default how do i find a bad cell?

i think have a bad cell in one of my packs.fully discharged my millenium pro says that the pack has over 6 volts. and will only charge it for about 20 seconds. when i put my multi meter across each cell they all read the same. what gives? and how can i figure out wich one it is? (4cell nicad)
sean is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 03:59 PM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 93
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: how do i find a bad cell?

The easy way is to put them in a turbomatcher .

There are a couple of other ways though. Often when a cell goes bad, it will get extremely hot while it charging or discharging, so keep an eye out for that. Assuming that doesn't work, a more tedius method is to disassemble the 4 cell pack in question. Take a 4 cell pack that works, remove one cell from the working 4 cell pack and replace it from one from the faulty pack, try cycling the pack, if it fails, there's your bad cell, if not, keep trying to you find it.

John


Originally posted by sean
i think have a bad cell in one of my packs.fully discharged my millenium pro says that the pack has over 6 volts. and will only charge it for about 20 seconds. when i put my multi meter across each cell they all read the same. what gives? and how can i figure out wich one it is? (4cell nicad)
zxracing is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 04:09 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
 
gcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 269
Default Re: how do i find a bad cell?

Originally posted by sean
i think have a bad cell in one of my packs.fully discharged my millenium pro says that the pack has over 6 volts. and will only charge it for about 20 seconds. when i put my multi meter across each cell they all read the same. what gives? and how can i figure out wich one it is? (4cell nicad)
Usually when you discharge it voltage check each cell during discharge and it should be apparent. Heat is another indicator..

coop
gcooper is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 04:52 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Lightbulb More help I hope

The best way is to put the pack in a tray then read the voltage of each cell. A bad one will be 0 volts or really low. Most will be in the 1.2 range.

Some signs:

Heat shrink or label blurred,
Heat shrink or label coming off cell
leakage at the + end will look like acid on one cell


Charge the pack as much as you can. put on a load like bulbs or a discharger or a tray. Read the voltage of each individual cell as it is discharging. I f you have a bad one it will be obvious.

David Root

Or you could send the pack with the motors
David Root is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 07:02 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
evaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south of metro manila
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

my 2 cents.

try chargiong the cell, then put it in a tray iwth an individual resistor like the trinity real time 2, the bad cell will show immediately as the indicator will show that the bad cell has no charge in it by not lighting up.

evaa is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 12:19 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

It gets hotter than the other cells while charging, easiest test.
Tek Nickal is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 04:05 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default Re: how do i find a bad cell?

Originally posted by sean
i think have a bad cell in one of my packs.fully discharged my millenium pro says that the pack has over 6 volts. and will only charge it for about 20 seconds. when i put my multi meter across each cell they all read the same. what gives? and how can i figure out wich one it is? (4cell nicad)
I'm not familiar with the Millenium, but maybe it simply wont charge because the voltage is too low.

With some of my older packs, I've experienced that if they have rested for several weeks (discharged), my Eagle CDC 6.0 try to charge. After a couple of minutes, the charger stops, with the error message: Batt. voltage too low (or something like that).

If I afterwards pot a few miliamps in the pack with a 7,2 volt power supply, the voltage raises and the CDC charges normally.

But if it's a bad cell, GCoopers methods is good.
Cole Trickle is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.