R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2010, 12:57 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 348
Default The Frustrating Electronics Problem Thread...

Hi All

At a bit of a loose end, just thought id ask for suggetions

My MI4 has a fault where it cuts out randomly, i mean this could happen anytime, but usually occurs in mid day/afternoon of a meeting. I normally get on with practise and round 1 without any problems.....

The loss of power is not just from the motor, i lose steering aswell, so the whole car shuts down...

The equipment i am using currently are:

LRP SXX TC SPEC (Punch 8-10 usually) Doesnt even get warm
LRP X12 10.5 (6.4-5.8 gearing usually) Motor temps around 60 degree
40mhz 302f receiver
KO Esprit Universe 3
Savox servo.
MRT PT
Team Powers 40c 5000mah lipo

I have tried a different speedo ( i previously had a Nosram Pearl, still the same fault)....i have also tried a new reciever (still the same)...... (i also had it happen once with a speed passion 6.5), so it cant be the motor can it? Also tried different crystals. I will also change my corally connectors this weekend, but there new? No carbon is coming in contact with anything either.

Im stumped..... Are you?
steveonamission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:10 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steveonamission View Post
The loss of power is not just from the motor, i lose steering aswell, so the whole car shuts down...
signal issue between radio and receiver? borrow a mate's radio for your next outing.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:14 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

I would say it is your RADIO MODULE....happened to be on my 3PK after I dropped the radio from the driver stand.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 02:43 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,283
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Steve, look out for the module moving in the Esprit3.... couple of strips of cell tape down the side should stop that

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | MuchMore |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 03:16 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 348
Default

Really?...The module...

But to me, it seems like a power issue rather than a radio issue, i mean if i take the module out when the cars on, it doesnt shut down....it just goes haywire...as it should do.

Ive never had an issue with the transmitter before, and its never been dropped, nothing adds up at the moment.... i'll try a new module tho, cheers.

Im thinking more the Lipo has a loose internal connection now?
steveonamission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 03:21 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
smoke81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,224
Send a message via AIM to smoke81 Send a message via Yahoo to smoke81
Default

I know I had my car do that to me a couple of times.. I poped the module out and back in and the car came back to life.. I would really look at that..
__________________
Dustin Layne
smoke81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 07:04 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
phisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Three Rivers, Michigan
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Are you running indoor on carpet? I have read that belt drive cars with loads of carbon fiber, running indoors on carpet can build up a lot of static electricity. This in turn causes a lot of strange behaviors. Tamiya recently posted a notice about the TA05 on their website.
phisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 07:21 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

A friend of mine had a similar issue. His problem was a xponder wire that had worn out on both sides and was grounding out. We repaired the wire and his problem went away.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 07:56 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
A friend of mine had a similar issue. His problem was a xponder wire that had worn out on both sides and was grounding out. We repaired the wire and his problem went away.
I'll buy you a can of coke if i ever meet you,if this is the problem... because ive just take my pt out, which i run on the lipo side of the car, the wire seems to have rubbed the belt and caused the wire to be exposed coming into contact with the chassis i assume.....fingers crossed
steveonamission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 09:14 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steveonamission View Post
I'll buy you a can of coke if i ever meet you,if this is the problem... because ive just take my pt out, which i run on the lipo side of the car, the wire seems to have rubbed the belt and caused the wire to be exposed coming into contact with the chassis i assume.....fingers crossed
Good luck.

I prefer Mountain Dew.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 09:19 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,630
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steveonamission View Post
I'll buy you a can of coke if i ever meet you,if this is the problem... because ive just take my pt out, which i run on the lipo side of the car, the wire seems to have rubbed the belt and caused the wire to be exposed coming into contact with the chassis i assume.....fingers crossed
I've seen this problem as well, and could explain the erratic behavior you're describing. Check both of the transponder leads, and make sure that they're not creating a short circuit.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:58 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

i seen where a 4pk will over shadow a ko radio, but thats usually with spectrum, I see your running 40mhz but i wonder.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:23 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

definately check the lead plugs where they go into the reciever.
If frayed or damaged they tend to short out and cause hassles like this.
Also look at the module, had that happen to me with my Spektrum Pro module on my EXZES.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:31 AM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default

Knowing Steve as I do, and how the problem occurs mid way through the day, I'd put money on it being your hands getting all sweaty as the pressure starts to build and you're shorting out your transmitter

Or it could be something else completely
THancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:44 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
tc4wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: under your mums bed
Posts: 339
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i have had a few of these issues as well. my personal had a spot on the lead rubbed through, i sent it away and got it shortened etc to fit a little neater into the car. more recently i had the exact same prob as yourself. my speed control had deans plugs off it, which in my touring car had an adaptor to corally plugs. i tried to take the speedie out and switch it, the problem remained. all my speed controllers have the same setup as some of my batteries have deans pre-attatched. it took my weeks of annoying testing and swapping and the proem persisted. one of the guys i race with took my car for 20 mins and then brought it back telling me it was fixed. i had one of the wires in my little adaptor break, was still complete from outside but had frayed inside. so my lesson was to check every solder joint for continuity before i race. just in case
__________________
My ego tells me I am an A driver, my ability says different.
Grammatical errors mean so much more than poor education
Does anybody know where i can buy losi parts from?
FAIL!
tc4wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC10B4/T4 Forum DerekL Electric Off-Road 14338 11-18-2017 04:19 PM
Rc10ntc3 Taz_S Nitro On-Road 9437 05-28-2017 09:13 PM
Futaba 4pk Atom357 Radio and Electronics 1621 03-09-2017 02:15 AM
Neon/ Underglow Kit Tutorial! Blazin~ Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 10 04-25-2009 03:08 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:21 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net