Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Squeely stock motor. >

Squeely stock motor.

Squeely stock motor.

Old 03-26-2004, 05:40 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Squeely stock motor.

Skimmed my rev monster as usual this evening, rebuilt it and used 4504 brushes as i was all out of 4499's. When i run it however, at a low/mid throttle it is making a squeely kind of noise, this continues up to the high end, when it stops at 100% throttle, if i then back off it comes back about 40% throttle. Rebuilt the motor when i got back from the track and im having the same problem. Filed a bit of each edge of the brush to stop them wrapping round quite so much now im about 1/2 way through the motors life. Anyone got an idea what it could be?
berger is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 05:49 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,949
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like the bushings might be dry. Give em a drop of oil and try it again.
Jack Smash is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:03 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

I've only ever heard this on a Johnson 540 motor. Interesting.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:38 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

i have the same problem, i run a epic B2 stock, i run 767's, and do put oil on the bushings when i rebuild it, and its still does it, i just tune the sound out, and run the car anyway, it still works great, so i'll just live with it, maybe the comm might not have been cut perfect, thats my idea,
pro3racer is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:50 PM
  #5  
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,435
Default

I'm sure you checked this, but what about your gear mesh? Just a thought.

Josh
Speedo is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 07:23 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

i changed it to every possible position, i doesn't stop.
pro3racer is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.