Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
I got a dud monster stock, what can I do? >

I got a dud monster stock, what can I do?

I got a dud monster stock, what can I do?

Old 03-26-2004, 12:29 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
Cardboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Flushing,NYC
Posts: 843
I got a dud monster stock, what can I do?

Ok, i bought a monster stock pro to race in the novice stock class a few months ago. I've had nothing but problems with it, very slow, little torque, practically fries itself after about half a run, ill-fitting bushings, and brushes that are wearing out very fast. I've always just looked past this things as minor break-in problems(after all, it's only been used for 3 race days after correcting the bushings), but, when I heard someone mentioned dud monsters having less than 21,800 rpm and 99 Nmm of torque, I looked on the motor label. Here are it's numbers:
RPM:21,554
Power:66w
Eff:48.8%
Torque:98.3
Is there anything I can do about this sub-par motor? Or should I just buy another?
Cardboard is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 01:05 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

Turn the comm, oil the bushings, use the right brush springs, and try a smaller pinion gear.

However, you should have looked at that dyno sheet before paying for it, if it was LHS. Is it a Trin. motor, or a tuners motor?
PitCrew is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 01:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
Cardboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Flushing,NYC
Posts: 843
Default

I bought it from tower, so i really didn't have a chance at looking at the sticker....
It's straight from trinity. but dosen't trinity put the motor in the packaging so you can't see the sticker neways?
I'll get the comm trued tommorrow and see how it works then. thanks.
Cardboard is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 01:16 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,074
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default dud!!

you can re cut it , put new brushes in it and do the trail edge trim thing .. run green/reds springs re align the hoods and re shim the arm .. use 4499 double shunt brushes and see if that helps .. I do more to a dud motor and there pretty good .. for a few runs . then use them for practice ....

Last edited by mb racer; 03-27-2004 at 01:07 PM.
mb racer is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 01:26 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ive never had a dud motor yet send it here and ill see if i can fix it
R/C Anonymous is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 02:00 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default

Are you gearing it right? You should be running an absolute minimum 7.0:1 fgr, but more likely somewhere in the 7.2:1 -> 7.8:1 range.
psycho is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 02:35 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Align the brushes.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:14 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Originally posted by fatdoggy
Align the brushes.
Brush HOODs. . .
Tek Nickal is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 04:54 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
 
DT-Skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 24 Hour Fitness
Posts: 499
Default

Could it be the batteries?
DT-Skyline is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 05:59 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Originally posted by AzNDRAGster
Brush HOODs. . .
No brushes, if you just align the hoods the brushes still have some cock value inside the hoods which causes the brushes not to be perfectly aligned. Aligning the hoods gets it close but to get it perfect you have to align the brushes by taking the hoods slightly OUT of alignment. Cut a brush square and run it in your motor, it should wear perfectly in the middle of the brush.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:13 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Originally posted by fatdoggy
No brushes, if you just align the hoods the brushes still have some cock value inside the hoods which causes the brushes not to be perfectly aligned. Aligning the hoods gets it close but to get it perfect you have to align the brushes by taking the hoods slightly OUT of alignment. Cut a brush square and run it in your motor, it should wear perfectly in the middle of the brush.
Yeah, and if its unalligned you move the brush hood. . . . . There have been brush hood allignment tools but that don't work very well . . . .
Tek Nickal is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 06:25 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Yes but you are aligning the brushes by moving the hoods. You actually need to UNalign the hoods to align the brushes.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 04:01 AM
  #13  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brockport N.Y.
Posts: 11
Default

Fatdoggy is correct. When the arm spins it wants to cock the brushes in the direction the arm is spinning. THerefore the hoods many times have to be tweaked in opposite directions to counteract the slight cocking of the brushes. If the brushes are worn alot they will cock more in the hoods due to not being as long and not being held as straight in the hoods. If you just use one of those alignment tools your not doing much. You need to read the brush faces and move the hoods accordingly. Takes a little bit but its worth it.
ddesens is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 12:30 PM
  #14  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: C-BUS,OH
Posts: 55
Default

Fatdoggy and ddesens are on the money you've got to use the square brush face method fatdoggy mentioned. Also when you get a new motor run the armature shaft on some 2000 grit sandpaper for a minute with some very mild polishing compound. It definitely helps the motor spool up a little quicker.
Masterfaster is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 08:03 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default I got a dud monster stock, what can I do?

Cardboard;

Take a look at the number and size of balancing holes drilled into the Armature.

Because they have so few laminations in the Armature stack, they actually perform better with -0- balancing holes. (notice something on the Binary Stocks) The more of and larger the balancing holes, the slower your Monster Stock will be.
popsracer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.