R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2004, 09:37 PM   #61
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Default

There are my equipment. Pro4, Yokomo T-Max 23T LR, gear ratio 5.88, GP3300. The G10pro have very smooth throttle with fairly cool after run, high power output fm middle to end than another high-end esc (I have 5 ESC).

If u feel your car not enough power output with new motor , new cell, just try it or u may be get supprise.
Loman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 10:07 AM   #62
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Default G-10 Pro ESC

It's good to hear that you like yours. I have one in my Associated 2wd buggy. I run mine with motors as low as 10 turns. I have several other top end speedos (Cyclone '99, a Tekin G-12cIII and an original G-10) and the G-10 "Pro" just seems to be the most awesome. You're right about the high power output. I do like the adjustability that I have with the Cyclone (along with my Pit Wizard), but the "Pro" is alot easier and quicker to setup. I've been using mine off and on for about 4 1/2 years and it still performs flawlessly. One thing that I really like about the Tekins is that they have the solder drop fuse for total protection. I had a problem over the weekend with a cheap machine wound armature that shorted out. I normally used hand wound motors, but I wanted something to play around with. It didn't hurt the Cyclone or my battery pack, but the ESC was really warm because of it. If I'd been using the "Pro" at the time the overload protection would've kicked in. I guess I'll have to switch back to my trusty "Pro". Take it easy and have fun!
tmeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 05:41 PM   #63
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default G-10 in 12th scale

I thought I'd post a little about putting this speed control in my son and I's 12th scales. I wasn't sure how they would work, but couldn't be happier. First the size turned out to be no problem. It fit great on the 12L4 and my 12L3. The L3 was little different because of more cut outs in the chassis, but angling it a few degrees gives plenty of room to double side tape it down.
Here's a picture of it in the 12L3.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 12l3 tekin g-10.jpg (35.6 KB, 264 views)
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 05:44 PM   #64
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default G-10 in 12th scale

The other big concern (as always with 12th scale) was balancing the chassis left to right. As this picture shows. No a problem either.

I'll give a report after the race next Saturday. Before I was running a LRP comp and my son a GT-7. So we'll have a great comparison to the other top of the line equipment.

take care
john
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 12l4 balanced.jpg (41.0 KB, 225 views)
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 05:50 PM   #65
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Oh yea. The reports above about the setup are 100% true. I didn't think setup for a speed control could be so easy.
Why are these others so tedious and take tools to do? The buttons stick up enough to get even big fingers on and soldering is wonderful with the post. No little holes to cram the wire in.
With the report 350 or 360 some forward steps, I don't think smoothness will be problems .

take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 08:37 PM   #66
Tech Elite
 
Taz_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

if they can make a 1/12 size so it more the size of the GT-7 i think it would be great.
__________________
Jake's Performance Hobbies http://www.jphracing.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/757500284356171 Facebook Group for Pro 10
Taz_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:21 PM   #67
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Actually it's smaller than the GT-7 with the capacitor you have to run with it.

take care
john
Attached Images
File Type: jpg g-10 = g-7 size.jpg (34.0 KB, 268 views)
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 10:37 PM   #68
Tech Elite
 
Taz_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JohnB
Actually it's smaller than the GT-7 with the capacitor you have to run with it.

take care
john
then thing is i can place the capacitor any where if i run one at all.
__________________
Jake's Performance Hobbies http://www.jphracing.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/757500284356171 Facebook Group for Pro 10
Taz_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 06:51 AM   #69
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes you can. Nice to have mobil weight, but it's still gotta be there. I the picutre with the GT-7 the cap shoe goo'ed to the side. Had it crammed in behind the servo.

take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 07:48 AM   #70
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

The G-10 is a little bigger than some esc's but that is not really a problem for most of us. The fact that it is so easy to program and use is the major bonus. I can program it within seconds and never need some 75 extra piece of equipment to do so like alot of other speedo's need plus that is just one more thing to go wrong.

The G-10 was ahead of the times back in the day and actually still is because of the user friendly programing. I have 3 of these speedos and one I just picked up is new and was never used. Even the new Tekin G-10 that they are selling again now is a steal at the price they want for it. For those on a budget but want high end stuff this is a great esc for you.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 09:16 PM   #71
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wyd
The G-10 is a little bigger than some esc's but that is not really a problem for most of us. The fact that it is so easy to program and use is the major bonus. I can program it within seconds and never need some 75 extra piece of equipment to do so like alot of other speedo's need plus that is just one more thing to go wrong.

The G-10 was ahead of the times back in the day and actually still is because of the user friendly programing. I have 3 of these speedos and one I just picked up is new and was never used. Even the new Tekin G-10 that they are selling again now is a steal at the price they want for it. For those on a budget but want high end stuff this is a great esc for you.
I totally agree that the G-10 was ahead of it's time. It's still the easiest ESC to program and can still kick butt. For me the most awesome feature is the self test mode. How does it compare to other ESCs that you have owned? Thanks!
tmeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 10:34 PM   #72
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

So who is selling the G10's? I can't find them anywhere. I need a backup for the G10 pro.
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 12:09 AM   #73
Tech Fanatic
 
PSI Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 881
Default

Tekin is just starting to ship products out.
They'll start popping up in hobby shops everywhere.
PSI Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 06:01 AM   #74
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wyd
I have 3 of these speedos and one I just picked up is new and was never used.
Do you run on road or off? Either way, what throttle setting and Lim2 have you been using?

take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 09:33 AM   #75
Tech Fanatic
 
Michal101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by forty6
So who is selling the G10's? I can't find them anywhere. I need a backup for the G10 pro.
Here you go!

http://www.hobbyshopper.com/tekin.html

They have a few new Tekin products for sale.

Mike
__________________
(Team Driver)
R/C America
Team Tekin
ProMatch
Parma
Michal101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Tekin FX series thread(tekin support) Randy_Pike Radio and Electronics 50 09-01-2016 05:13 PM
>>TEKIN R1 PRO ESC/TEKIN REDLINE BRUSHLESS MOTOR<< LOSI SCOTT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 09-12-2008 07:51 PM
FS: Tekin mini rage esc and tekin 6800kv! 1/18th! tt01-demon Australia For Sale/Trade 7 05-24-2007 02:59 AM
Tekin Mini Rage w Tekin 5.4k motor J.Gonzalez R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 12-26-2006 07:02 PM
RC12LC, Tekin G-12 ESC, batts, OS .46FX, Tekin BC100L DennisNyholm R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 02-28-2006 03:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:11 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net