R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2005, 09:48 AM   #391
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

teetwo, it isn't realy something to worry about, just ensure you set the servo and the transmitter up correctly so the servo doesn't stall on the steering endstops.

With the system in the G11, it allows the servo to operate quicker, but with all things that give an edge, you have to ensure that the everything is set right.

I would say, that the Tekin is as good as they get on the market right now, but just so easy to adjust (i.e. no need for the manual to work out what all the blinking lights mean). Plus no power cap or schottky diodes is ace.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 12:06 PM   #392
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst
I can take a picture of the install if yo ulike Dark, so you can see how I did it, lol.
Yeah, I would love to see it.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 12:32 PM   #393
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,085
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I just got my G11 Pro installed and I ran it thru the self test feature and I noticed that the light on my PT would dims a bit when it would go to full throttle. Any of you guys experience this? Would this affect the reading of the PT in any way? If it helps, im running a Reedy 19T and 4 cell 3300's that were charged about halfway
__________________
Speedpassion : Speedpower : East Coast Bodies

Last edited by thunderbt3; 12-15-2005 at 01:23 PM.
thunderbt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 01:47 PM   #394
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbt3
I just got my G11 Pro installed and I ran it thru the self test feature and I noticed that the light on my PT would dims a bit when it would go to full throttle. Any of you guys experience this? Would this affect the reading of the PT in any way? If it helps, im running a Reedy 19T and 4 cell 3300's that were charged about halfway
My PT does the same thing while I run my Futaba MC800C Ver. 2 speed control. My PT never misses a lap.

For reference: I run my PT on top my servo.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:03 PM   #395
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,085
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Darkseid,

For running 1/12, i run my PT right between the front suspension. right on top of the "X" on the L4. So far i havent had any problems with it running a Dually. Dually blew up last week and my G11 Pro came in yesterday. Im looking forward to testing it
__________________
Speedpassion : Speedpower : East Coast Bodies
thunderbt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 03:43 PM   #396
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRF415boy
Once you've past the X hours delay, if you leave your pack on the tray it will be then taken to 0.5V / Cell at 2Amp rate, which won't take long at all, maybe a few minutes.

As for the LED, it comes off when the pack has been taken to 0.7V per cell.

To resume :

Put your pack on the tray, if you take it out when the LED comes off you have a pack at 0.7V / cell. You have a few hours between the moment the LED comes off and the moment when the cutoff is downed to 0.5V. If you want your pack at 0.5V / Cell then simply leave it on for a day or so, so you're sure it'll be at 0.5V/Cell.
What you said first seems to conflict with how you summed it up. First you said that after a pack is down to .7 volts it should only take a few minutes to get to .5 volts. If so, then I dont think it would take too much longer to get to .5 volts from .9 volts. But then you said, "Put your pack on the tray, if you take it out when the LED comes off you have a pack at 0.7V / cell. You have a few hours between the moment the LED comes off and the moment when the cutoff is downed to 0.5V." Then you say it will take a few hours to get from .7 to .5 volts . Does it equalize the pack at .7 volts meaning it stops discharging each cell at .7 volts and holds them there? And after a few hours the cutoff some how changes to .5 volts. Or is it just the the light for each cell goes off after it reaches .7 volts but it continues discharging? I can't see how it would take a few hours to go from .7 to .5 volts at a 2 amp discharge rate. Is there an there a separate led for all the cells or one for the whole pack to tell you that it is at .7 volts. Most importantly, if it actually cuts off at .7 volts does it hold the cells at .7 volts or does it shut off and allow the voltage to regenerate?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 04:22 PM   #397
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbt3
Thanks Darkseid,

For running 1/12, i run my PT right between the front suspension. right on top of the "X" on the L4. So far i havent had any problems with it running a Dually. Dually blew up last week and my G11 Pro came in yesterday. Im looking forward to testing it
You shouldn't have any problems. Heck, the light on my PT even dims a little when I turn the wheels. Must admit, it scared the hell out of me when I first installed it. I mean those PT's aren't cheap and I thought something was wrong with mine!

No problems so far.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 04:30 PM   #398
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AE Racer
Does it equalize the pack at .7 volts meaning it stops discharging each cell at .7 volts and holds them there? And after a few hours the cutoff some how changes to .5 volts.
That's exactly what it does. It's possible only because it's digital and does not use ceramic components to control the cutoff unlike the other trays (less the Novak I think). The "few hours" is a delay set on the tray by Tekin. I believe this is purely practical, since you can't always stay next to your pack waiting for the LED to come off, so they decided to leave the user some time before the cutoff voltage changes.

As for leaving the cells to regenerate, I have no idea but if you want to keep your cells at 0.7V/Cell then you should not leave them on the tray as if you leave them too long the tray will change the cutoff and get them down to 0.5V/Cell.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 07:52 PM   #399
Tech Addict
 
Shane Reinink's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Longmont, CO.
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Shane Reinink
Default

basically what the tray does is dump your pack at 2 volts down to .7 (which is when the lights turn off, then it will bring your pack down to .5 slowly. There is a short review of the Battery Doctor 8.0 in this months issue of RC Driver magazine with a picture of it.

Last edited by Shane Reinink; 12-15-2005 at 09:03 PM.
Shane Reinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 07:56 PM   #400
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

Shane-edit, 2 amps lmao
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 09:03 PM   #401
Tech Addict
 
Shane Reinink's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Longmont, CO.
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Shane Reinink
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenSobottka
Shane-edit, 2 amps lmao
my bad, you knew what i ment to say so all is good
Shane Reinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 09:25 PM   #402
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

Shane-heh, I got your back buddy!
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 09:26 PM   #403
Tech Addict
 
Shane Reinink's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Longmont, CO.
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Shane Reinink
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenSobottka
Shane-heh, I got your back buddy!
then next time edit it yourself, so i dont have to...lol
Shane Reinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 10:18 AM   #404
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Actually the Battery Doctor first cutoff is .08 hench Battery Doctor 8.0 . (pretty smart) Yes everyone here is pretty close. It does a quick discharge to .08 lights go out and then slowly goes down to .05 how and why. We felt it was the best way and second it is how we designed it. If you are using the IB3800 I recommend you pull the pack off the tray right after the lights go out. The IB's do not like getting close to zero. Hope that helps
Scooter Tekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 07:01 PM   #405
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooter Tekin
Actually the Battery Doctor first cutoff is .08 hench Battery Doctor 8.0 . (pretty smart) Yes everyone here is pretty close. It does a quick discharge to .08 lights go out and then slowly goes down to .05 how and why. We felt it was the best way and second it is how we designed it. If you are using the IB3800 I recommend you pull the pack off the tray right after the lights go out. The IB's do not like getting close to zero. Hope that helps

Sorry Scooter but the 8.0 is because the tray will hold up to 8 cells.

PER TEKIN! the tray will discharge down to .07 at which time the leds (NOT THE CELLS!) will cut off,if the cells are left on the tray each cell will continue to discharge down to .05,at which time the cells will cutoff(QUIT DISCHARGING) maintaining a .05 voltage for each cell, thus the pack is equalized at .05.NO! if you leave the cells on the tray it WON'T continue to discharge down to "0".How in the world you guys are coming up with all these different variations on how this tray works is beyond me,it's VERY SIMPLE!
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Tekin FX series thread(tekin support) Randy_Pike Radio and Electronics 50 09-01-2016 05:13 PM
>>TEKIN R1 PRO ESC/TEKIN REDLINE BRUSHLESS MOTOR<< LOSI SCOTT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 09-12-2008 07:51 PM
FS: Tekin mini rage esc and tekin 6800kv! 1/18th! tt01-demon Australia For Sale/Trade 7 05-24-2007 02:59 AM
Tekin Mini Rage w Tekin 5.4k motor J.Gonzalez R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 12-26-2006 07:02 PM
RC12LC, Tekin G-12 ESC, batts, OS .46FX, Tekin BC100L DennisNyholm R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 02-28-2006 03:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net