R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2005, 09:42 PM   #346
Tech Fanatic
 
Michal101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd
I would really like a new G11 Pro but I watched a Team driver blow at least 7 speedos in the last few months. Not sure the problem but it is not cool to keep seeing them burn up every week or two.

WYD,

Wow, 7 speedo's...are you referring to the G11 and what did Tekin do do resolve the problem or was it something the driver was doing wrong?

Just would like to hear more than just " a Team Driver blow at least 7 speedos in the last few months" before passing judgement.

Mike
__________________
(Team Driver)
R/C America
Team Tekin
ProMatch
Parma
Michal101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:51 PM   #347
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michal101
WYD,

Wow, 7 speedo's...are you referring to the G11 and what did Tekin do do resolve the problem or was it something the driver was doing wrong?

Just would like to hear more than just " a Team Driver blow at least 7 speedos in the last few months" before passing judgement.

Mike
Actually they can't figure the problem out. Not cool to post his name though. It is easily backed by him if he so chooses to post here on this.

He has had some G-11 prototypes and some of the full blown G-11 pros. When he ran with other factory drivers that tested the G-11 he found out they are not running the lowe winds he does and they don't have the traction like the track he runs at. Driver has at least 15 years of experiance because I have ran against him for at least that long. He has tons of regional titles and made numerous A mains in national events so it is not the team drivers problem.

As far as the problem or is it him. Well lets say the the other speedo he used had zero problems for the last two weeks running the same equipment. and he actually finished his races with no melt downs.

I'm a Tekin fan and actually ran for them back in the day but right now I I'm just not impressed with the reliablilty of the new stuff.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:52 PM   #348
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

I would think that there is a problem somewhere else, not the ESC,I mean 7! c'mon! he must have been doing something major wrong.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:54 PM   #349
Ike
Tech Master
 
Ike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper1
I would think that there is a problem somewhere else, not the ESC,I mean 7! c'mon! he must have been doing something major wrong.

Yeah, but seems like a few team drivers are having the same problems. I'm thinking there is something majorly wrong with the ESC, not the team drivers are doing something majorly wrong...
Ike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 10:00 PM   #350
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper1
I would think that there is a problem somewhere else, not the ESC,I mean 7! c'mon! he must have been doing something major wrong.
Beleave what you want. He even raced with some of the other guys testing for Tekin and blew a speedo. Differance is the test guys where running wimpy mod motors in the mid 13 to 14 turn range and he runs 9 and 10 turns plus the track he runs at has 10x more traction than the guys testing run at.

I have watched him for years and watched him hook up his wiring and nothing he is doing is wrong. 20 years of racing I think I know if he is hooking stuff up wrong or not.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)

Last edited by wyd; 11-26-2005 at 10:17 PM.
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 10:01 PM   #351
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ike
Yeah, but seems like a few team drivers are having the same problems. I'm thinking there is something majorly wrong with the ESC, not the team drivers are doing something majorly wrong...
Exactly. Hey it is a great speedo but it has issues now. Motors, batts, and servos are nothing like it was when Tekin was in business the 1st time. Things have changed a ton.

Funny thing is the other speedo he used for the last 2 weekends had zero problems and easily handled all the power with no problems. Must be because he don't know what he is doing!!!!!!!! No but seriously the problem seems to happen for him if he runs low turns and has tons of traction. Higher winds are not a problem.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 12:23 AM   #352
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

does this guy run dirt an like kiss if it is than thats the problem he has too much rip why he has too much rip
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 08:39 AM   #353
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DENNIS STORTI
does this guy run dirt an like kiss if it is than thats the problem he has too much rip why he has too much rip
It is dirt with traction as high or higher than most carpet track. It is wierd but I'm sure you actually know this guy and if I tell you I'm sure you will know it is not him!!!!!!
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 11:09 AM   #354
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,365
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I know him and he has always been able to blow things up
__________________
Tekno|JConcepts|TeamTrinity|BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 12:34 PM   #355
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: COCHAMBAMBA, Bolivia
Posts: 8
Default

The problem is on the USER level in this case. Seven blown speedo's, give me a break. I started racing in 87' and I've pooped maybe 2 or 3 in my entire career.

If people would just take the time to READ THE USER manual when they first get products, a lot of issues would never come up.

I work in retail. All I do is retail sales. And AMERICAN CONSUMERS need to be a little more responsible with his/her equipment. Once you leave my store, you OWN your equipment and if you screw it up, that is on you.

If I were TEKIN, I would have a 90 day warranty and if you didn't read the manual sorry about your luck.

I already know what he is doing, he is using a digital servo, and he is not utilizing the bypass wire (that little RED wire coming out of the speedo) to bypass the receiver.

Look guys and gals, the speedo is a dumb animal. It just does what it's told to do, and that includes a GLITCH if that is what the RECIVER is telling it to do.

Also, their are Frequency's coming off the GRAPHITE CHASSI that you can't hear or see. If you are using GRAPHITE you need to INSULATE your wires and your BATTERIES from the chassis. GRAPHITE conducts ELECTRICITY and we are using D.C. ELECTRICITY to power our cars.

If you guys have concerns like this, rather than complaining on a msg board, why don't you go to www.teamtekin.com and log into their msg board and ask the PRESIDENT and CHEIF ENGINEER of the company, Jim Campbell?

You would get more satisfaction and have a better experience if you go that route.

Regards,
Mr.B
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin-cellpornplayboy.jpg  
Mr.B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 12:45 PM   #356
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Smash
Seen the same thing happen here with a team driver I know. Doesnt seem to like 7 turns.
On the initialy pre-release versions of the G-11, the ESC was allowing the ESC to produce far to much power through the FETS, the issue should of now been resolved and not a concern for the production runs from the release date.

As for Digital servo's, there can be an issue with the G-11, these are

1. The BEC isn't limited like on other ESC's so it provides the power that is required.
2. Poorly setup Digital servo's can end up stalling and putting power consumption on the BEC circuit through the roof.

Also, the Red By-Pass leas carries 7.2V so, use that at your own risk, TEKIN DO NOT recommend this route, but if you wish to try it that is up to you.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 01:53 PM   #357
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: COCHAMBAMBA, Bolivia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst
On the initialy pre-release versions of the G-11, the ESC was allowing the ESC to produce far to much power through the FETS, the issue should of now been resolved and not a concern for the production runs from the release date.

As for Digital servo's, there can be an issue with the G-11, these are

1. The BEC isn't limited like on other ESC's so it provides the power that is required.
2. Poorly setup Digital servo's can end up stalling and putting power consumption on the BEC circuit through the roof.

Also, the Red By-Pass leas carries 7.2V so, use that at your own risk, TEKIN DO NOT recommend this route, but if you wish to try it that is up to you.
DA_Cookie_Monster is right! What up bill cook! And in the user manual, it cleary says to use the bypass for digital servos.

so TEKIN DOES RECOMEND it, but I recomend NOT USING a digital servo. All the pro's that use them, have jumped back, and even if the case says it's digital, it more than likley ins't.....remember, we DO the R&D for everything in this industry....plain and simple.

Best,
Mr.B
Mr.B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 04:02 PM   #358
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Hmmm

I'm sitting here reading the manual for the G-11 and nowhere does it say not to use a digital servo,as a matter of fact the words "digital servo" is nowhere to be found in the entire manual.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 04:04 PM   #359
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have just re-read the G-11 Manual and unless you got another version of the one they have posted on the net, it doesn't suggest once connecting a digital servo to the FET lead (7.2v) as we all know most digital servo's are on 6v.

Any blow ups in the past are part of the R&D work done by Tekin drivers to ensure that the product is suitable for use. If you have any queries, take a trip to www.teamtekin.com and ask on the forum.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 04:11 PM   #360
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper1
Hmmm

I'm sitting here reading the manual for the G-11 and nowhere does it say not to use a digital servo,as a matter of fact the words "digital servo" is nowhere to be found in the entire manual.
Interesting.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Tekin FX series thread(tekin support) Randy_Pike Radio and Electronics 50 09-01-2016 05:13 PM
>>TEKIN R1 PRO ESC/TEKIN REDLINE BRUSHLESS MOTOR<< LOSI SCOTT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 09-12-2008 07:51 PM
FS: Tekin mini rage esc and tekin 6800kv! 1/18th! tt01-demon Australia For Sale/Trade 7 05-24-2007 02:59 AM
Tekin Mini Rage w Tekin 5.4k motor J.Gonzalez R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 12-26-2006 07:02 PM
RC12LC, Tekin G-12 ESC, batts, OS .46FX, Tekin BC100L DennisNyholm R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 02-28-2006 03:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:28 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net