R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2002, 06:52 PM   #16
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bellaire,Tx,USA
Posts: 34
Send a message via ICQ to Colossus
Default

i use a turbo35 but was wondering about the Q-pro
can it repeak like the 35. i like that feature. its great on junk batteries that are rrrreeeaaalllyyy ooollldddd. plus what is the discharge range
Colossus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2002, 10:51 AM   #17
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default

I recieved my Quasar Pro about 2 weeks ago, and the only thing I do not like is it does not have a backlit display. But other than that it is great. I like the ac/dc feature so I don't have to lug around a power supply. I hope the next run of chargers will have a lower audible tone because this one is LOUD. It's a great charger much like the 16x5 w/o backlit.
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2002, 05:32 PM   #18
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,494
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

I read somewhere that the tone was set so Mike could hear it. He did mention that it will or is going to be changed on the next batch. No idea if they are going to offer a backlight option but it would be nice.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2002, 10:10 AM   #19
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Just received the Integy 16X9. It works! No problems. Just charged and cycled a couple 2000, 2400, and 3000HV cells. For $30.00 more than the Quasar Pro. It's a far better deal. Footprint is about the same so it will take up about the same space in you pit area. Backlit display!
Under housing Tilt support like the 35's. Internal 14amp power supply. Has 2 plugs in back to tap the power supply to power another DC charger, dyno, or lathe. Setup and features are the same since they are both made by Eagle racing. The Fan is whisper quiet and the beeps is about a third as load.

I highly recommend the 16X9 over the Reedy Quasar Pro.
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2002, 12:21 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

on my 16x9 when i cycle packs or discharge a few 2400's in a row the charger pauses with a message that says charger to hot pause. it does this for a few minutes the continues. have any of you guys had that problem? it works great other than that. i love the charger.
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2002, 01:59 PM   #21
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I saw that message when I had my 16x5. Discharging several cycles at 20amps the unit gets hot..
Just a way you know that the unit is working properly at the correct operating temperature. You don't want it hot all the time.
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2002, 04:05 AM   #22
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

I recieved my 16x9 yesterday, awsome charger . One Q though when you discharge a pack and you go through the normal setup that you would to charge a pack and at the end you switch it to discharge, right when I do it it discharges for like 5 sec's then it drops out? any idea's. I know I have something set wrong any clues? Thanks a heap.

Awsome charger, great that it detects the different power supply too. I'm very happy with it. O and yes sweet backlit screen.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2002, 08:51 AM   #23
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

what do you mean it drops out? it just discharges for 5 secs then its done?
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2002, 10:47 AM   #24
mo
Tech Master
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,359
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

On the Quasar Pro, is the discharge cutoff voltage adjustable so you can discharge 4 cell and 6 cell packs?
__________________
TLR, Spektrum, Tekin, SMC, MO-GRIP, www.factory-rc.com https://www.shapeways.com/shops/MPP
mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2002, 12:15 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Voltage cutoff is fixed on the Quasar pro. same on the 16X9
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2002, 12:30 PM   #26
mo
Tech Master
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,359
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Do you know what it is fixed at?
__________________
TLR, Spektrum, Tekin, SMC, MO-GRIP, www.factory-rc.com https://www.shapeways.com/shops/MPP
mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2002, 01:15 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

On my 16x5 it's fixed at .9 per cell I believe. Rather than set the discharge cutoff voltage, you simply tell it the number of cells. I believe the Reedy works the same way.

Trips
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2002, 03:49 AM   #28
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UCLA
Posts: 196
Default

I got the Quasar-Pro 2 weeks ago and it burnup after the first day, I send it back to Tower for a refund. I am using the 16X9 now and I think it's a much better unit. First class quality by Integy.
RickyIS300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2002, 05:03 AM   #29
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spaz456
what do you mean it drops out? it just discharges for 5 secs then its done?
spaz456 LOL thanks for the tip, I had no idea discharging was that quick

Hey I have another Q? I bought some smc 2400 cells and they are supposed to be discharged at 30amps can I just discharge them at 20amps since I don't have a 30amp discharger? P.s. It says to charge at 6.0 amps isn't that a bit high?

Thanks
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2002, 11:05 AM   #30
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

6.0 amp for 2400 should be no problem. That's what I use to charge my 2400 and 3000 cells. 20 amp discharge should be alright too.
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB..REEDY QUASAR PRO... frankiecmgt R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-23-2006 07:43 AM
JR XS3, LRP 7.1, Reedy Quasar Pro, Reedy 12 double S.Heath R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 10-31-2005 07:48 AM
reedy quasar pro LT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-09-2005 03:04 PM
Lrp V7 and Reedy Quasar Pro R.Fenstermacher R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 10-26-2004 06:06 PM
reedy quasar pro ver.2.1 Mo Denton R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 08-27-2004 08:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:30 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net