R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2005, 08:22 PM   #406
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

lol.....i have no idea what i am doing

i am useing epic monstor metals /unmatched/bought from stormer in a power brick

im charging at 3.8amps and 3mv cutoff
pink pac man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 09:36 PM   #407
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

If you are running 7.2V packs, you should be charging at about 5-6amps. That should put the punch back into the pack.

I use 4mv/cell cutoff and that's pretty good place to start and experiment. Usually a 3-6mv/cell cut off is a good range depending on your cells.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 11:00 PM   #408
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

ok...that sorted the charging out now what about discharging....how do i make it cut it off at 5.6[or whatever is best] volts
pink pac man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 11:43 PM   #409
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

hey pink pack man,

I think it is almost agreed that most ppl believe in 3 different cutoff voltages:
0V (also known as dead shorting), 0.9V/cell (or 5.4 V/pack), or 0.8V/cell.

0V for nimh or even nicd is not recommended if you dont' know what you are doing because you can easily damage your cells. I personally never do it.

0.9V/cell is what most people do and are recommended to do. Safest, most dischargers will go down to 0.9V/cell. Can't complain much about this cutoff voltage.

0.8V/cell is what the CDC does, so it will take your pack down to 4.8V/cell which I heard will increase run time on your next packs(but I can be wrong on this.)

However, you want to get a discharger that will discharge each independent cell down to the cut off voltage. Such dischargers are called "equalizing trays". (They equalize the voltage within each individual cell)

It is generally benefical to your batteries, because it help maintain runtime, consistency, and various other aspects that the pros on these pages can tell you about.

It would be strongly recommended that you buy an equalizing tray if you have batteries that are matched and cost like $100 a pack. I personally like the Novak variable discharger, but its costly, but super easy to use.

But I own a rayspeed discharger, and that serves my purposes well. Only thing I can complain about it, is that it takes a bit of "figiting" to get my cells into the slots.

Hope that clears things up for you, but if I am wrong about anything, I am sorry, here to learn myself. (Hence my name.)

Just my 2 cents.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 01:22 AM   #410
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

A cheaper board is the new LRP/NOSRAM one ,just clip them in all the red LED`s come on & cut off at 0.09v, 3 amp discharge
You don`t have to baby sit this one either, it has spring clips on them so just push them on the board & away you go
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 03:07 AM   #411
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Mr. Jolly, that's neat you have any website selling this thing? that's probably what I am looking for in the future. the rayspeed also has auto cutoff and 2 different modes of discharging incase anyone's wondering. Its been around for a while so the its pretty well trusted.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 04:07 AM   #412
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

LRP one is a blue board & the nosram one being a red board, helger are the ones who deal with this

LRP one is lrp41630, microtechracing
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 05:13 AM   #413
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

thankyou to every1 who helped me

espeseally rcnewb2004 and Cole Trickle
pink pac man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 05:27 AM   #414
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pink pac man
thankyou to every1 who helped me

espeseally rcnewb2004 and Cole Trickle
Thanks, you're welcome !

I'll second that about getting an equalizer, it really helps performance, and cahnces are great, that it'll solve your lacking punch at the end.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 05:45 AM   #415
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

i am thinking about getting the novak smart tray.....is there any better bord than that 1
pink pac man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 02:34 PM   #416
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I personally think the novak is the way to go. its functions are transparent and make sense. No guess work, read instructions and easy to use. If price is not a problem, go with the novak tray.


You are really welcome pink pac man. I learnt a lot on this page and I am glad that my advice did some good for once haha.



Thx MRJolly, I will take a look at it.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 06:32 AM   #417
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 194
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Babylou
Default

One thing to note abotu the Novak equalizing discharger.. It discharges at I believe 2.7 amps. In some cases it could take a little while for your battery to discharge. You might was to also invest in some kind of discharger. The integy charger mentioned here does discharge at 20 amps. I use the integy octane2 discharge tray.. I have yet to buy the novak charger. But I probably will sometime in the near future..

Those that have it at my local track suggest a 20A or more discharger. Use this prior to putting in the novak tray.
Babylou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 10:12 PM   #418
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

ok i just charged a very old battery of mine and it said battery voltage to low.....does this mean my batts are rooted
pink pac man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 12:03 AM   #419
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

u might have to charge it a few times.... see if it keeps saying that. sometimes it takes a while for the chemicals in teh battery to become active again.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2005, 04:09 PM   #420
Tech Regular
 
jackfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: rowland heights, CA
Posts: 351
Default

My backlight just started to go out, well it actually has some like dark spots on the lcd screen and they are starting to get bigger. It looks like I may have to get it repaired. Has this happened to anyone and how much did it cost to get fixed? It is no longer under warranty so I will more than likely have to pay for the repair.
jackfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Integy INDI 16x5v6/Eagle CDC ver6.0B silverM3 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 07-29-2006 07:36 PM
Indi 16x5v6 Charger Pro Parts R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-19-2005 07:29 PM
***TWO Integy/Eagle/CDC 16x5v6 Chargers*** =MisFitz= NuKe R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 02-13-2005 08:45 PM
Eagle CDC V6.0B/Integy 16x5v6 sosidge Electric On-Road 7 10-18-2003 04:25 PM
Indi 16x5v6 AC/DC lilshortyc3 Electric On-Road 110 02-13-2003 07:35 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net