R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2004, 01:14 PM   #361
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcnewb2004
Cole: how long should i wait after i remove the batteries from my car before I discharge at 20amps?
You dont have to wait

Charge the pack - No pause, Race it - No pause, Discharge at 20 amps - Cool down - Maybe do a second run.

Store

The night before next use, equalize them.

About the 20 A discharge; If the pack dumped at the track, I wouldnt discharge at 20 amps.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 01:18 PM   #362
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bballer
Is an equalizer ABSOUTLELY necessary?? Will it dramatically improve battery punch and life or is it not that needed with the 16x5v6. How much does a good one cost? Thanks
One thing came to mind; I use the 16x5v6 and the Robitronic equalizer. I got some Fukuyama cells (1,160-1,164). I follow the Fuku recommendations (incl. equalizing).

When the packs were run in (3 runs in the car), I did a test cycle. after 13-14 runs total, I did another test cycle. The voltage had improved with 0,01 volt and the IR gone down with 3 mOhm.

I dont know if the same would have happend without the EQ, but for approx. 35$....
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 01:34 PM   #363
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Equalizing does good on all packs, but sometimes i mean if u get 3 seconds more life on a crappy pack that does 60 sec short of what everyone else does then don't spend $60 on a rayspeed, its not worth it.

There is another advantage to equalizing. You can compare the health of your batteries accurately. If your cells are discharged to the same rate everytime. When u charge them up, u can actually make an accurate comparision, where as, if the last time u didn't use up all the juice in a few cells, u can get different numbers while charging.

Equalizing is a good idea if u want to treat your cells well. No doubt about that. The question you should ask yourself is "do i want to treat my cells well? are they worth it?"

I am like the cheapest ass rc guy out there. and i say i will get one, because u will need to get one in the long run anyway. u will not waste your money investing on a quality charger/discharger.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 01:35 PM   #364
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Sorry, about the last msg,

the top bit was for cole, the bottom bit was for bballer. (i am pretty sure cole knows everything i had to say already)
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 01:42 PM   #365
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

Cole trickle
You dont have to wait

Charge the pack - No pause, Race it - No pause, Discharge at 20 amps - Cool down - Maybe do a second run.

Store

The night before next use, equalize them.

That is what i do & i use a trinity realtime board,but i take them off as the lights go out.
And this system works for me ,The batts charge just fine up to 38+, ir in the low 30`s,peak around 9.2, & the parameters are
5.8a,.04mv. Must off had around 25-30 charges in the batt & they are still going strong,mostly stock 27t racing where volts count, done a few mod races at the stcc rds no problems there either,
So this is a good recipe for your batts
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 03:22 PM   #366
Tech Regular
 
bballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The courts of Detroit
Posts: 478
Default

Thanks a lot for the help guys. Right now i don't have the best packs, so i will just try w/o equalizing, or ask someone at the track to use theirs. Ill probably get one for Christmas if i notice a change, just right now after spending a ton of money on nitro plus the 16x5v6 and ps for electric and at the same time trying ot save up for a real car, ill wait a while and save for it. Thanks, should have my indi by next week!!!
bballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2004, 02:11 AM   #367
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcnewb2004
(i am pretty sure cole knows everything i had to say already)
Thanks, but dont be too sure, I've been into RC for awhile, but I still have a lot to learn.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 08:03 PM   #368
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

ANyone:

My gp3300s have 42mohm IR, but they will only charge to 2400 mah. I don't know what's wrong....

and I equalize them.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 10:20 AM   #369
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcnewb2004
ANyone:

My gp3300s have 42mohm IR, but they will only charge to 2400 mah. I don't know what's wrong....

and I equalize them.
How many runs on them? How old are the batteries? Need a little more specifics.
My 3300's charge to about 3600mah and the IR is in the low 30's. Maybe your cells are a bit dead? You could try getting them re-zapped?
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 10:31 AM   #370
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

They've got around 40-60 cycles (i should've been keeping track)

Maybe theyare a bit dead, i just wish my lhs has a zapper or something
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 03:09 PM   #371
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Send a message via AIM to =MisFitz= NuKe Send a message via Yahoo to =MisFitz= NuKe
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcnewb2004
They've got around 40-60 cycles (i should've been keeping track)

Maybe theyare a bit dead, i just wish my lhs has a zapper or something
hmm, well my batts charge to 4000-4100mah, not sure what the IR is.
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 04:51 PM   #372
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Hm.. ur capacity is good... i wonder if i have 2 dead cells or something.... cause that's what it seems is happening...

hell, i should just get some new batteries,... its pissing me off.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 12:35 AM   #373
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

If you had dead cells, you're voltage would be much lower because they are wired in series; so the voltage adds up, not capacity.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 12:37 AM   #374
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I guess I will cycle my cells and post some numbers.

Thanks micros
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2004, 05:16 AM   #375
Tech Regular
 
MartinSorlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway!
Posts: 307
Default

Since I'm a really lazy guy, I didn't bother to read all of this thread, so I'll ask instead! Does anyone have this charger with the built in power supply? Just ordered it....
__________________
Martin Sørlie, 1985, R/C since 1995.
TLR - Spektrum
www.teamsmallsize.com
MartinSorlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Integy INDI 16x5v6/Eagle CDC ver6.0B silverM3 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 07-29-2006 07:36 PM
Indi 16x5v6 Charger Pro Parts R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-19-2005 07:29 PM
***TWO Integy/Eagle/CDC 16x5v6 Chargers*** =MisFitz= NuKe R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 02-13-2005 08:45 PM
Eagle CDC V6.0B/Integy 16x5v6 sosidge Electric On-Road 7 10-18-2003 04:25 PM
Indi 16x5v6 AC/DC lilshortyc3 Electric On-Road 110 02-13-2003 07:35 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net