R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2004, 04:13 AM   #211
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Hi Cole - equalizing the Sanyos just killed them, really, the punch from the pack really dropped off. They were an old pack anyway, but equalizing turned an old pack into a bin pack.

rcnewb - my assesmment of your pack is that the discharge voltage seems fair, but the capacity is poor, and the peak voltage is high.

Either your poor soldering has cooked a couple of the cells, or the cells weren't well matched in the first place, or they had been stored a LONG time and need a few cycles to come back to life.

There have been a few threads on the board about soldering - general rule is that heat kills the cells.

Basically, you shouldn't be holding the iron against the cell for more than a few seconds to get the solder flowing into the joint. That needs a moderately powerful iron (60W plus), and don't use silver solder (high melting point).
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 04:27 AM   #212
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sosidge
Hi Cole - equalizing the Sanyos just killed them, really, the punch from the pack really dropped off. They were an old pack anyway, but equalizing turned an old pack into a bin pack.
Strange... I've been equalizing my Sanyo 3000 HV for 1 year... The capasity really is bad, but other than that, the pack perform well, considered it's an old pack....
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 02:31 PM   #213
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

I got two Fukuyama GP3300 (green/orange label). They are matched to 1.160-1.164.

CDC data:

Charge: 6A, 8 mV pr. cell. Discharge: 20 A. Equalized to 0,8 pr. cell right before charge.

Pack 1, charge: 3.968 mAh, 9,074 V, 37 mOhm.
Discharge: 3.069 mAh, 6,992 V, 33 mOhm.

Pack 2, charge: 3.972 mAh, 9,077 V, 46 mOhm.
Discharge: 3.185 mAh, 6,944 V, 32 mOhm.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 01:37 AM   #214
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

OK new question out there for all those hardcore electrical people:

My friend has took his power supply back and my CDC is left stranded with no power supply now.

So being the cheapskate that I am (can't afford $100 on a power supply), I decided to use 2 computer power supplies in parallel.

The computer power supplies I am using are 250W. Each is suppose to be able to output 12V at 8A. Therefore using the simple naive electronics that I learned, that is suppose to give me 12V at 16A.

However, when I hook it up to my CDC and try to charge at 5A, I get a significant voltage drop and the CDC gives me the "input voltage error".

I don't get why there is such a voltage drop, and I don't get why some people have no problem using a computer power supply for their charger.

PLS HELP!!!!
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 02:28 AM   #215
Registered User
 
maverick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcnewb2004
OK new question out there for all those hardcore electrical people:

My friend has took his power supply back and my CDC is left stranded with no power supply now.

So being the cheapskate that I am (can't afford $100 on a power supply), I decided to use 2 computer power supplies in parallel.

The computer power supplies I am using are 250W. Each is suppose to be able to output 12V at 8A. Therefore using the simple naive electronics that I learned, that is suppose to give me 12V at 16A.

However, when I hook it up to my CDC and try to charge at 5A, I get a significant voltage drop and the CDC gives me the "input voltage error".

I don't get why there is such a voltage drop, and I don't get why some people have no problem using a computer power supply for their charger.

PLS HELP!!!!
you need to stabilize the 12v output by loading the 5v output by some load, resistor or light bulbs. the more load there is on the 5v line the more stable your 12v line becomes up to a certain extent. by itself, the 12v line will drop if the 5v line is without load. also do a search online on how to convert the pc's power supply to a stable 12v one. there are a number of them. i just don't have the links now.

hope this helps.
maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 03:10 AM   #216
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Thx Maverick,

However, as u know, with actual URL, and no numbers as to how big a load I will need on the 5V lines,... I can't really do anything useful with the information given to me.

But please don't take any offense to what I've said, you have been very informative, however, I am unable to apply it physically.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 03:18 AM   #217
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Here's a link about how to convert a computer power supply

I'm using a 200 W Computer PS - no problem. You're right about the amps, when parrallel coupling them. But that require they are EXCATLY equal, otherwise they'll fight each other.

My PS got around 12,1-12,2 volt with no load. WIth a load on, it usually goes to around 10,5 volt, sometimes even down to 11,3. The CDC dont car, it just keep on charging.

So, I would strongly recommend you try with ONE power supply. If it works, it'll be the best. If it dont work, I would rather get a stronger power supply, than do the parrallel trick.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 03:30 AM   #218
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Yea, I will try it with one. Thanks Cole, If u were in Canada, I buy you and Mav Lunch.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 04:24 AM   #219
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

I dont know Mav Lunch but I guess it was a compliment, so I say thanks.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 12:07 PM   #220
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Mav is short for Mavrick, he gave me advice in the previous reply.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 12:27 PM   #221
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcnewb2004
Mav is short for Mavrick, he gave me advice in the previous reply.
Ahhh, I see. Thanks.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 02:08 PM   #222
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,547
Default Integy 16x7v6

Anyone have the 16x7v6, anyproblems with it, does it work well?

Thanks,
E
__________________
<
AE 12R5.2 & R6(x2) - TC7.1 convert, F6 - M05 - M05V2R

People who don't have to wait for the latest item, should not tell those that do, that "It's worth the wait"
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 03:36 AM   #223
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I got some new numbers, since I fixed my power supply and I can charge at 6A again.

-----------------------------------------------
Pack 1 is:
GP3300 (green/orange label). Matched to 1.162+. (Less than 10 runs.)

Pack 2 is:
Sanyo3300HV, not matched, 1 yr old. Abused in all physically possible ways.

-----------------------------------------------

CDC data for Pack1:
Battery discharged to 0.8V/cell before Charging. Left to rest until cold. (4 hrs or more)

Charge: 6A, 4mV/cell.

Time b/w Charge/Discharge 1min.
(This simulates race conditions.)

Discharge: 20 A.

CCap=3287mAh
DCap=2630mAh
Vp=8.846V
Va=7.231V
IR=21mOhms (Taken at the end of discharge)

-----------------------------------------------

CDC data for Pack2:
Battery discharged to 0.8V/cell before Charging. Left to rest until cold. (4 hrs or more)

Charge:5A, 15mV/cell.

Time b/w Charge/Discharge 1min.
(This simulates race conditions.)

Discharge: 20 A.

CCap=3506mAh
DCap=2625mAh
Vp=9.431V
Va=6.885V
IR=41mOhms (Taken at the end of discharge)

-----------------------------------------------

I am somewhat concerned about my Discharging Capacity (DCap), its so low compared to other people! What's wrong with my batteries?

All the other numbers for my GP pack look ok. And I dont' think my abused sanyo pack is doing that bad either... but that discharge capacity!!! help!!!

Could it be because I get a "discharge processing...." message all the time? is that screwing up my discharge capacity?

And hey Fike, I haven't heard of anyone having troubles with a 16x7v6.
The dealer I know sold 4 of them and he says he's heard no complaints so far.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 04:24 AM   #224
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Hmmmm.

Do runtime matter? If you race in stock class, then you actually got some good packs.

Personally, I've never seen any of the "discharge processing" or "charge processing" messages. And the manual dont say much about it... You can try e-mailing Integy, usually they reply within a few days.

Are you using an equalizer? It will have a positive effect on the charged capasity (which dont matter much), but I'm not sure how it will affect DCap. But it's worth a try, if you can borrow one. Alternatively, you could discharge the cells this way (one step after the other in a row):

1: At 20 amps as a pack (like you do now)
2: At 1 (one) amp, discharge each cell INDIVIDUALLY.
3: At 0,1 amp, discharge each cell INDIVIDUALLY.

Let the pack rest an hour or so. Then cycle once.

Please note: It's safest to use equalizers with auto-cut-off at 0,9 volt.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 04:44 AM   #225
Tech Master
 
babytoy101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,532
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

i encoutered this msg. "discharge processing" i think its a msg. to prompt the user when he is discharging a pack at full charge and the halt its discharging job when the charger is too hot! just to show the user "im stoping discharging for a while, its too hot! but i will finish the process" like that!



Quote:
Originally posted by Cole Trickle
Hmmmm.

Do runtime matter? If you race in stock class, then you actually got some good packs.

Personally, I've never seen any of the "discharge processing" or "charge processing" messages. And the manual dont say much about it... You can try e-mailing Integy, usually they reply within a few days.

Are you using an equalizer? It will have a positive effect on the charged capasity (which dont matter much), but I'm not sure how it will affect DCap. But it's worth a try, if you can borrow one. Alternatively, you could discharge the cells this way (one step after the other in a row):

1: At 20 amps as a pack (like you do now)
2: At 1 (one) amp, discharge each cell INDIVIDUALLY.
3: At 0,1 amp, discharge each cell INDIVIDUALLY.

Let the pack rest an hour or so. Then cycle once.

Please note: It's safest to use equalizers with auto-cut-off at 0,9 volt.
babytoy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Integy INDI 16x5v6/Eagle CDC ver6.0B silverM3 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 07-29-2006 07:36 PM
Indi 16x5v6 Charger Pro Parts R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-19-2005 07:29 PM
***TWO Integy/Eagle/CDC 16x5v6 Chargers*** =MisFitz= NuKe R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 02-13-2005 08:45 PM
Eagle CDC V6.0B/Integy 16x5v6 sosidge Electric On-Road 7 10-18-2003 04:25 PM
Indi 16x5v6 AC/DC lilshortyc3 Electric On-Road 110 02-13-2003 07:35 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net