Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Ernest Provetti Open letter to RC Industry

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2010, 06:54 PM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by InspGadgt
I'm not so sure speed is an issue to a newbie...to me it is more of an issue to those who have been around awhile and broken their fair share of parts. Watch anyone at a hobby shop buying their first RC car and what is the first thing they want to do with it? Get the most insanely fast motor they can and strap it in their car.
When I first saw competitive RC car racing was at the 2004 ROAR paved onroad nats, the stock and mod TC speeds and cornering ability were mind blowing to me, I was instantly hooked. Had it been say.. all VTA's racing that day, I prolly wouldnt have even walked in the hobby shop

I recently Got my long time best friend to come out the the track(who had never seen rc car racing) and check out what I've been doing on the weekends for the last 5 years,So he saw the 13.5 TC's,WGT and VTA cars run...he was hooked,but found the 13.5 TC class the most appealing. He bought an original xray t2 that had been raced hard since it was new,next day he comes over and we begin working on it (I furnished the electronics just to get him on track asap) we broke it down and I explained all the adjustments and what they did to him. Once the car was done I told him to setup 2 objects (soda cans, weights etc) in a open parking lot and run figure 8's to develop some control.