Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
will an M8 work with Futaba receivers? >

will an M8 work with Futaba receivers?

will an M8 work with Futaba receivers?

Old 03-18-2004, 09:43 AM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Seedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default will an M8 work with Futaba receivers?

hey, i didn;t know which forum to post this in so i'm posting it here. I want to know if an M8 will work with futaba's r133 receivers? I don't want to plug in and fry my receiver. Any help would be appreciated.
Seedy is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:48 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Yep, but you have got to use an Airtronics X-tal in the RX as well.
komkit is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:51 AM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Seedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the info!
Seedy is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:57 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
speedxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland Oregon.
Posts: 3,894
Default

ditto on komkit
speedxl is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 10:05 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Sure, I was using Futaba stuffs before I changed my TX to an M8.


But I kept all my Futaba RXs, I just have one Airtronics RX (the one that came with the M8).
komkit is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 07:25 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego CALI.
Posts: 3
Default

Airtronics and JR are on a Positive shift


Futaba and Hitec are on a Negative shift.


so it wont work.
xray_racer_SD is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 05:41 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
 
Gutter Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 130
Default

Then how come it works for some people? I don't get it. I have read that the newer Futaba receivers can "sense" the shift and switch over no problems.
Gutter Ball is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 05:58 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Re: will an M8 work with Futaba receivers?

Originally posted by Seedy
hey, i didn;t know which forum to post this in so i'm posting it here. I want to know if an M8 will work with futaba's r133 receivers? I don't want to plug in and fry my receiver. Any help would be appreciated.
Hi,

I am using Super Ezes (stick M8?) with a M8 40Mhz RF module, and a Futaba R123F receiver.

No problem so far. However, you need to use Sanwa/Airtronics crystal on both TX and RX.
ongbenghui is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 06:14 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by xray_racer_SD
Airtronics and JR are on a Positive shift


Futaba and Hitec are on a Negative shift.


so it wont work.
Why won't it work. I am using M8 with 3 original Futaba RXs and 2 Novak RXs made for Futaba and 1 original Airtronic RX.

If the Futaba RX is a Dual Conversion and you are using an Airtronic X-Tal... I don't see why it won't work.

I have using this combo M8 TX and Fuataba RXs since 1999.

Work with an Original M8 TX RF Module or The Novak Switch Synthesized 75 MHz M8 Module.
komkit is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 07:12 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: singapore
Posts: 110
Default

Originally posted by xray_racer_SD
Airtronics and JR are on a Positive shift


Futaba and Hitec are on a Negative shift.


so it wont work.
trust me, IT WILL WORK!!!
rcprix is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 07:26 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
antoniop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 371
Default

It will work...

If the Futaba RX is Dual Conversion you HAVE TO USE Futaba crystals for Dual Conversion

If the RX is Futaba PCM 1024, it wont work UNLESS those receivers are capable of working in "normal" FM mode (PPM)

The crystals will work IF the INTERMEDIATE FREQ on the Rx is 455Khz - AND THIS COVERS ALL AFTERMARKET RX like Novak, Nosram, Mtroniks, LRP, Hitec .... and ALL Sanwa, Airtronics, KO etc etc.

So, to cut a long story short.... it will work... trust rcprix
antoniop is offline  
Old 03-23-2004, 09:50 AM
  #12  
Tech Adept
 
Gutter Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 130
Default

You guys rock, it does work flawlessly
Gutter Ball is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.