R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2004, 10:35 PM   #16
Tech Adept
 
MrEs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourme, Australia
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to MrEs
Default

grrr ill probably send it in to eagle racing on monday. im not expecting it back for atleast a month though..
MrEs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 03:00 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrEs
grrr ill probably send it in to eagle racing on monday. im not expecting it back for atleast a month though..
lol,now is the time to bring out some cash for that bling-bling charger while waiting!
I was in your position just a couple of months ago,but i'm really grateful for the exchange unit provided by my LHS..

Quote:
Yes I mean't charging, sorry.

When discharging at 20A with matched GP3300s I see about 2700mAH.
I was thinking it's bcos of the stoppage time every minunte for 3 secs,as i think that should be counted into the discharge time ,but isn't.
It artificially pulls up the voltage reading but the capacity is dropped(also artificially).
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 03:18 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

I think your discharge figures are a bit low - I can get 3150-odd discharge capacity on old (equalised) packs, never had a chance to run a brand new pack on the charger though.

These figures are very similar to what I would get on the Pro-Trak discharging to the same criteria (e.g 20A, 0.8v per cell cutoff). On the Protrak the cells, when new, discharged to 3450 at 20A.

Is anyone else finding under-calculated discharge capacity on the Eagle?
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 03:08 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
MrEs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourme, Australia
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to MrEs
Default

so has anybody else had to send one of these back? whats the ETA for return? :\
MrEs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 10:05 PM   #20
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Never Never Land
Posts: 53
Default Please advise

I've read the Pitbul vs CDC thread a while back and now this thread. Is the CDC really problematic?

My brother is about to sell his Pitbull (the original blue transluscent charger) to raise money for a CDC. I've already pointed out the two threads but he seems to be sold on the bells and whistles that the CDC offers, like the ability to display the discharged capacities and cycling functions...

So is he better off sticking with the pitbull or is the CDC "safe" enough? The cdc is going to cost him about twice the amount he'll be getting for the Pitbull.

BTW, a buddy emailed Eagle regarding his backlight going out and was referred to an LHS, so I'm assuming for now that the CDC is covered for defects at our place. However, if it's true that CDC-charged packs are flat, then the LHS can't help...

Thanks...
TRF512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 10:10 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

cdc is fine, i use a 16x5 and have had no issues. batteries have plenty of punch and run time.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 10:14 PM   #22
Tech Fanatic
 
Jaybo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 773
Default

69 million years! :P

that's the advantage to buying locally i guess, dont have to post shit overseas for warranty.

shouldnt take more than 1 month though
Jaybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 01:25 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

TRF512:
this is a fine charger.
The packs are not flat they are very powerful.

The earlier versions have the backlighting going out,but i have 2 and the latest one(just 2 months old) seems to run fine without any hitch.
I hope you can take my word that for the price you're paying , there is nothing better out there.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 01:42 AM   #24
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Ive only been getting high 2900s to low 3000s in mah after charging my matched GP 3300s. They probably have a little over 15 runs on each pack. They used to peak at 3400-3500mah during the first 5 or 6 charges and it slowly decreased to where it is now, yet they still peak at the same temp. Could this be because I havent been equalizing my packs? I always discharge them the night before I run them, but I dont have an equalizer.

btw Does anyone else have a problem with the counter? Mine is counting much faster than in minutes.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 07:12 AM   #25
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
Ive only been getting high 2900s to low 3000s in mah after charging my matched GP 3300s. They probably have a little over 15 runs on each pack. They used to peak at 3400-3500mah during the first 5 or 6 charges and it slowly decreased to where it is now, yet they still peak at the same temp. Could this be because I havent been equalizing my packs? I always discharge them the night before I run them, but I dont have an equalizer.

btw Does anyone else have a problem with the counter? Mine is counting much faster than in minutes.
Go get an equalizing tray and you will see the numbers go back up
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 07:15 AM   #26
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
Ive only been getting high 2900s to low 3000s in mah after charging my matched GP 3300s. They probably have a little over 15 runs on each pack. They used to peak at 3400-3500mah during the first 5 or 6 charges and it slowly decreased to where it is now, yet they still peak at the same temp. Could this be because I havent been equalizing my packs? I always discharge them the night before I run them, but I dont have an equalizer.

btw Does anyone else have a problem with the counter? Mine is counting much faster than in minutes.
Equalize your cells, and you'll notice that your packs will take quite a few more mah's.
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 05:54 PM   #27
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Any reccomendations on what equalizer I should get? Will I actually notice a diffrence in run time?

Thanks
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 02:58 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
Any reccomendations on what equalizer I should get? Will I actually notice a diffrence in run time?

Thanks
i use a robitronics tray which is very mild and takes a long time(indefinitely)
but it does a good job of really bringing the voltage down while not dead shorting.
Works best overnight,on race days i don't equalize,in fact i don't even discharge.

I notice that the actual discharge capacity is not really dependent on whether the cells are equalized or not.
However,the amount of charge that goes in is greatly affected.
With equalizing:
1.charge:3800-4100
2.Discharge:2700

Without equalizing:
1.Charge:depends on state,2700-3000
2.Discharge:same

My numbers may look like i have the wrong cut-off but i'm at the mininum,and i charge in warm ambient.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 06:12 AM   #29
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ballston Spa, NY
Posts: 141
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have the integy 16X5V6 charger and I've never had a problem. Its the best charger I've ever owned. I also use the Rayspeed discharging tray. A little pricey but well worth it.
Razoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 05:59 PM   #30
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Never Never Land
Posts: 53
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by lee82gx
TRF512:
this is a fine charger.
The packs are not flat they are very powerful.

The earlier versions have the backlighting going out,but i have 2 and the latest one(just 2 months old) seems to run fine without any hitch.
I hope you can take my word that for the price you're paying , there is nothing better out there.
YUP..

We got the CDC and for the first few hours of testing we were thinking of selling it right out as we didn't see any improvement on charging compared to the pitbull. We were monitoring the pack voltage with an analog VOM and the displayed voltage differed from the what's displayed by the charger. (we observed the same discrepancy with the Mill Pro, Tekin 112C and Pitbull)

However my brother started smiling when we used the cycle function (first time we have one). We put the cells on a 4x cycle and the cells woke up.

Yesterday we went to the mall and left the charger humming happily... The backlight has no problems although we find the Tones and Fans too loud..

Thanks for the advice guys...

TRF512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting ice on motors? Chris__RC Electric Off-Road 37 07-24-2008 09:02 PM
Need help putting together rc boat. derwood70 Rookie Zone 0 06-21-2008 04:46 PM
Any downside to putting a lot of aluminum on a XXX-NT z28mccrory Nitro Off-Road 11 12-29-2007 09:16 PM
putting a picture in a thread wallstreet Rookie Zone 2 05-24-2005 06:42 PM
putting capacitors on new motor ??? burn1 Rookie Zone 3 04-28-2003 02:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:06 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net