Schumacher Corner


Old 05-02-2006, 07:23 AM
  #14491  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,487
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I guess what you can do is check the temp on your motor after 5 min. With a fan on it you should be able to run around 160 deg before feeling a fade in power.
Bob Barry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 09:41 AM
  #14492  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Jon are you running the carpet car or the rubber tire car? Is the carpet car alright on asphalt?
DavidAlford is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:01 AM
  #14493  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DavidAlford
Jon are you running the carpet car or the rubber tire car? Is the carpet car alright on asphalt?
Both. I'm running the rubber car outdoors and the carpet car at SoCal. SoCal has massive grip (maybe not as much as carpet but more than any outdoor track I've ever seen or heard of.) So the stiffer chassis seems to really help there. I have modified the top deck on the SoCal car though by cutting most of the center braces to get a little more flex. But no where near what the outdoor car has. I'm sure the carpet car will work outdoors with a few modifications. If you're not going back and forth too often from carpet to asphalt, you can simply change the chassis, top deck, shock towers and add the risers under the bulkheads and you've got an outdoor car.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:10 AM
  #14494  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Both cars come with a front spool?
DavidAlford is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:12 AM
  #14495  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Rubber kit comes with a spool, foam kit comes with a front diff.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:14 AM
  #14496  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I really should read up on this stuff lol
DavidAlford is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:18 AM
  #14497  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Yeah you slacker! Really though, let me know if you need anything. I'm going to be out that way in August for the weekend. If I can get away, I'll see if I can come check out a race. I can't remember the exact date off the top of my head.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:09 PM
  #14498  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,819
Default

Originally Posted by RAL
eh Mates,

I have a buddy of mine who will let me run his old Mission. The first mission. What do you guys think about it? Do you still think it can be competitive? I'm a decent driver and just don't have the cash to buy one of the newer TC's

Thanks a million!
Although not the latest car, it is still a good car to run and setup, and you should still be able to get closer to the fast guys than you think. I did

Skiddins
Skiddins is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:45 PM
  #14499  
Moderator
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,005
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

This is a really dumb question, but what is the difference between a spool and a diff? Is a spool like a one way?
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:47 PM
  #14500  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

A spool is a locked diff. So its like a oneway but you can use breaks. Lots of punch out of the corner. Takes awhile to get use to using one though.
DavidAlford is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:56 PM
  #14501  
Moderator
iTrader: (76)
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 13,005
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Ok, my car had a lock diff in it and was very hard to drive, so I put a reg. diff in. Thanks for the answer, I guess I should learn my rc defintions.
roadrashracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:59 PM
  #14502  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,487
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

What I want to know is does anyone make any one way bearings for the idler pully....I would love to try the one way spool setup.
Bob Barry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 07:30 PM
  #14503  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (39)
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,665
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, on my mi2 ive got a teemu 3700 bottom deck, and for some reason my 3700 and 3800batts still come out .

I saw on pro4's on the side of the battery slots they have 2 little plastic holder thingo's. Will they fit on my mi2?

Thats the way i was thinking of fixing my batts from coming rite out
A Ilievski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 07:42 PM
  #14504  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

The battery probably is able to come out because of insuffecient pressure or fitting of the battery strap, if you have shims under the battery bar posts try taking them out or putting in thinner ones. Make sure you don't make the posts too low or you will have to flex the bar and then it will tweak the chassis. The other reason that could cause the pack to eject is the chassis isn't filed enough so the cells are sitting too high in the slots so the sides of the slots can't keep the pack in. You want to have the cells sit flush or slightly above the bottom of the chassis. Put a pack in and look underneath to see how low they are, then file the slots till the pack sits at the proper level. One more thing, using strapping tape to hold your batteries in is a better way, it wont tweak the chassis like a strap can and it holds the pack better, it all depends how much you hate tape .

Rain City Raceway's online store has a bunch of Schue part for clearance on their website. Go to www.raincityraceway.com/store to find them. I believe everything is 30% off street price, there isn't a huge amount of parts but there could be just what your looking for .
mini-dub is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 08:17 PM
  #14505  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (115)
 
nf_ekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22 Acacia Avenue
Posts: 4,650
Trader Rating: 115 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by roadrashracing
Ok, my car had a lock diff in it and was very hard to drive, so I put a reg. diff in. Thanks for the answer, I guess I should learn my rc defintions.
Hard to drive? Hmmm. I dunno on that,I will say that the spool lets me drive the car as agressive as I want, and out of the corners it goes where I point it. Learn to feather the throttle a bit in wide, sweeping corners and it wont seem so hard-go in hot and let all the way of your goin wide. Spool is it on alot of asphalt tracks it equals RIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
nf_ekt is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service