Schumacher Corner

Reply

Old 01-10-2005, 01:05 PM
  #8596  
mo
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Fran. e-mail me or leave you e-mail address and I'll send it to you. [email protected]
mo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 04:13 PM
  #8597  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 400
Default

Mo did a great job this weekend, as did Dujan to put Mi2's first and second in a highly competitive Mod class at the Northwestern Carpet Champs this weekend. Both these guys deserve a hand!
Jay Dub is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 05:03 PM
  #8598  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Maybe Found
Posts: 640
Default 30mm foams

I was always told 30mm foams wont fit the rear of my Mi2 .

Well they fit, is there any reason i need to cut them down ?
Scottymi2b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 08:18 PM
  #8599  
Tech Regular
 
rcshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bradenton, Fl.
Posts: 286
Default

Originally posted by Jay Dub
Mo did a great job this weekend, as did Dujan to put Mi2's first and second in a highly competitive Mod class at the Northwestern Carpet Champs this weekend. Both these guys deserve a hand!

Good job guys but look what you was driving what do you exspect!!!!!

realy good job guys like to see schumacher up front keep it up!

they are going to let the 19 turn go at it in feb. here in houston for best 5 out of 6 weeks!
rcshark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 05:07 PM
  #8600  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
AZ_Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys... we're getting closer... I got the shocks on the car today, and am setting the car up using Paul's Novak Race setup sheet... Weird thing though... I only have 4 holes for the upper shock position instead of the 5 shown on the sheet... I'm just assuming my tower is an older version.

Other issue I seem to have are the droop screws are not hitting the chassis when the shocks are on... I've unscrewed the ball cups about 4 threads, but the droop screws are still 3mm or so above the chassis... do I need to go with longer ball cups, or ????

Thanks!

I'm hoping to race either tomorrow night, or maybe saturday depending on how busy work is...

Ron
AZ_Ron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 06:26 PM
  #8601  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

If you don't have any limiters inside your shocks, yes, you need to put some longer ball cups on the shocks. That should fix the problem.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 06:48 PM
  #8602  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tri-cities, wa.
Posts: 36
Default

on the set up sheets that i have seen it says you are runing 2mm and 3mm is that with a droop gauge or are you measuring the suspension down travel after you set ride hight? thanks will
willdp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 07:12 PM
  #8603  
Tech Addict
 
IslandBwoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 602
Default

On the setup sheets where you see low values 2,3 they are most l ikely measuring the drope above ride hight. So after ride hight has been set. That is how PW and adrian's setup sheets look nowadays.
IslandBwoy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 07:17 PM
  #8604  
Tech Addict
 
IslandBwoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 602
Default

Good job guys but look what you was driving what do you exspect!!!!!
I only wish we had more guys running the shu's in orlando. I'm trying to hold down the fort as much as i can olong with tony. But thats it as far as regulars each week.
IslandBwoy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 07:22 PM
  #8605  
Tech Addict
 
IslandBwoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 602
Default

Other issue I seem to have are the droop screws are not hitting the chassis when the shocks are on... I've unscrewed the ball cups about 4 threads, but the droop screws are still 3mm or so above the chassis... do I need to go with longer ball cups, or ????

I'm not sure why your droop screws are not touching. I use to use the long ball cups when i had the stock shock towers but now i'm using the short ones with the carpet towers. However if you are setting up for carpet i'm assuming you are using the inner on the shock towers which would make that distance a little longer than normal. So yeah use the long cups if nothing else works. or maybe one of the team guys will reply with some kind of reasoning for your issue.

BTW: Art J. got me going with the tamiya and we had to take aprx 1mm off the long ball cups when were using them because of how tall they were. Something to keep in mind.
IslandBwoy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 07:25 PM
  #8606  
Tech Addict
 
IslandBwoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 602
Default

If you don't have any limiters inside your shocks, yes, you need to put some longer ball cups on the shocks. That should fix the problem.
Is this also recommened when you are using the carpet towers? And where do you get the limiters from if your using the tami's?
IslandBwoy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 07:52 PM
  #8607  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I think Ron is running a Mission, not the Mi2. I never had a chance to run that car but as far as I know they didn't have lower towers for that car. That's why he may need the longer ball cups.

As far as limiting the Tamiya shocks, it's not needed if you're running the carpet towers. However if you're running the stock towers with the Tamiya shocks, I think you'll need to use some longer ball cups to make length.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 08:04 PM
  #8608  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (53)
 
Tony Rivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kissimmee, Fl
Posts: 2,286
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by IslandBwoy
I only wish we had more guys running the shu's in orlando. I'm trying to hold down the fort as much as i can olong with tony. But thats it as far as regulars each week.
who are you? where do u race?
Tony Rivas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 08:08 PM
  #8609  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sacramento,California
Posts: 672
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks jay-dub Mo and I worked hard to get the MI2 working. It felt pretty good getting back on the podium again! Its been to long!!!
bigdog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 08:20 PM
  #8610  
Tech Elite
 
speedxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland Oregon.
Posts: 3,887
Default

tony rivas this is hector i will be at popi's friday (TQ hobbies)
speedxl is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service