Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Rebuilding Servo >

Rebuilding Servo

Rebuilding Servo

Old 03-17-2004, 02:39 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default Rebuilding Servo

How do you rebuild a servo, i run a JR z550 metal gear, and had to take it apart, but the gears fell all over before i had a chance to look how the where put together.
pro3racer is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 04:01 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
DT-Skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 24 Hour Fitness
Posts: 499
Default

Wat company servo is it? Would help to say.
DT-Skyline is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 04:05 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Default

"JR" he post that already
lazyboy is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 04:06 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by DT-Skyline
Wat company servo is it? Would help to say.
he said it. JR Z550. JR is the brand.

Actually, there's only so many gears in a servo (usually 5 if I remember well)... just fiddle with it until you get it right.

Usually the flatter gear is on the bottom, the thicker one is the output, and there's also a large one mounted upside down... sorry, no pic available as of now.

Just keep trying, you'll get it right in less than 10mn...

Later,
Paul
Lonestar is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 05:21 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Re: Rebuilding Servo

Originally posted by pro3racer

How do you rebuild a servo, i run a JR z550 metal gear, and had to take it apart, but the gears fell all over before i had a chance to look how the where put together.
Have you tried going to the Horizon Hobbies (JR dist.) to see if they have an exploded view.

Otherwise, it can ONLY go together one way and have the top case fit correctly.
popsracer is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 05:36 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
 
alch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 188
Default

Check out the servos page on the KO Site..
They have a nice pic of inside the servo showing all the gears.. Might not be the same, but could help you out a bit?!
alch is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 06:12 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

thanx alch, that site helped a bit, i'll go and fumble around with it. Actually, the reason i took it apart was to see how the servo wires where soldered in, because i believe they got cought under my car in last weeks main, and burnt up, so alot of the wire is bare, that which isn't, is badly burnt. I got my backup servo in the car now, not as good, but i'll work.
Thanks all you guys!
pro3racer is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.