Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Carbon fibre/Graphite questions >

Carbon fibre/Graphite questions

Carbon fibre/Graphite questions

Old 03-16-2004, 07:45 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Carbon fibre/Graphite questions

Hi ya all
I was wanting to stick some stuff on CF/graphite plates.
What is the best adhesive to do so?
with
1.high adhesion and little residue when removed.
2.thin application ,maybe less than 0.5mm.This leaves out shoo-goo.

I know CA is bad since it'll crystalize and stick.
Thanks for all the suggestions,and please help
lee82gx is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 08:39 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Brandon R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 146
Default

3M has a great double side tape that will out-do all others. It is clear/red and sticks very very well with no residue...im not sure where to get it but you can look for it from my description...so i wasnt enough help on that part
Brandon R is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 07:41 AM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The tape hes referring to is probably VHB. Its what they use in the automotive industry to stick on molding and other small pieces of trim. Thats pretty much all I use to stick my electronics down.
stumper is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 07:46 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'm trying contact adhesive by dunlop.
Rubber adhesive i think..i dont prefer double tape.
lee82gx is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 09:13 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
 
Brandon R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 146
Default

the stuff we use in the automotive industry (own a bodyshop) is a foam type. The stuff i am talkin about you can get as part number 4010 its extremely sticky and will hold anything down
Brandon R is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:33 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default DBL sided tape.

I get mine from OfficeMax. (3m) stuff, clear tape w/red peal.
acyrier is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:55 AM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 33
Default 3M red automotive tape

They sell it at Wal-mart. I always thought that it was too aggressive to mount electronics in RC cars, like you would never get the electronics off, if you needed to remount them. If it is different than what I have stated, post your experience with mounting electronics with automotive tape, especially your experience with remounting electronics.
Brant is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:59 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Brandon R
the stuff we use in the automotive industry (own a bodyshop) is a foam type. The stuff i am talkin about you can get as part number 4010 its extremely sticky and will hold anything down
Yeah.........And the stuff Im talking about is called VHB (very high bond#4910) which is used in most automotive shops.(i guess not yours). I work at and interior/exterior sign shop and use the stuff all the time............. You can also get it in black or even white........... And its NOT foam tape, we also use plent of foam tape too.......

Last edited by stumper; 03-17-2004 at 12:09 PM.
stumper is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 12:05 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Remounting Isnt that hard. Instead of pulling up on the part ,twist it and lighty pull up at the same time.
stumper is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 12:21 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Brandon R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 146
Default

Yeah we use the foam tape like 90% of car mfg's to mount moldings and emblems etc..im sure not too many people will want to pay 30-50 bucks for a roll of tape thought...vhb is expensive where as the others arent
Brandon R is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 12:33 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It does cost alot.......... Thats true. And after looking at the 4010, they look to be about the same.......
stumper is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 12:38 PM
  #12  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default 4010

Yes, I use this aswell. It's great. Comes off clean.
http://products3.3m.com/catalog/us/e...er/output_html

Also we use this, only difference is it's not clear and has a holding power of 5lbs vs. 2lbs.

http://products3.3m.com/catalog/us/e...er/output_html
acyrier is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.