R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2012, 04:45 PM   #301
Tech Master
 
mikel33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,431
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PRODURANGO View Post
What is wrong with using a ESC in Blinky mode ? I run a Orion R-10 Pro in my VTA in blinky mode no timing or boost and it's still not legal ?!
Its a question of VTA vs full USVTA. USVTA rules do not allow a speedo with the capacity to add timing (there is a list of allowed speedos on the USVTA website). Many local tracks allow blinky mode speedo's for VTA, which is just fine. At an actual USVTA event (Scale Nationals, Southern Nationals, etc.) you would need to conform to the full USVTA rules. The 2 big rules are the speedo's allowed and the fact that only the NOVAK 25.5 motors are allowed. ROAR rules are obviously slightly different to avoid mfr. bias. Having said all that, there is much discussion on this stuff in the USVTA thread and this thread might not be the best place for a full discussion as this is a NOVAK thread.
__________________
Michael Larson.

Village Idiot Racing - Now accepting driver applications.
mikel33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 05:58 PM   #302
Tech Addict
 
alloyslash's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwddww34 View Post
Can somebody tell me if the Novak Ballistic 25.5 and the Novak SS 25.5 motors have a temperature sensor built in?
?
__________________
Pemberton SJ27 / Tekin RS / Cooper D4SS 17.5 / EAM 5000 / Futaba 9551 / 17.5lm
Pemberton SJ27 / Tekin RS / Bullet 13.5 / EAM 5000 / Savox 1251 / 13.5 Pro EDM

TLR22 / Tekin RS / D4SS 6.5 / Futaba 9551 / ORCA 6000 /SCMOD,
F14 carpet Oval Chassis too!
alloyslash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:35 PM   #303
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chi-Town West Burbs
Posts: 1,436
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alloyslash View Post
?
I believe that all the Novak motors have a temp. sensor. Otherwise, their own motors will not work with their lower line speedos. Loke the Havok
__________________
Goals Achieved....Running at the End and Not Dead Last.
mooby64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:50 AM   #304
Tech Addict
 
alloyslash's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I've been told that its the 2nd wire from the left on the sensor cable, is that looking at the motor or the ESC?
__________________
Pemberton SJ27 / Tekin RS / Cooper D4SS 17.5 / EAM 5000 / Futaba 9551 / 17.5lm
Pemberton SJ27 / Tekin RS / Bullet 13.5 / EAM 5000 / Savox 1251 / 13.5 Pro EDM

TLR22 / Tekin RS / D4SS 6.5 / Futaba 9551 / ORCA 6000 /SCMOD,
F14 carpet Oval Chassis too!
alloyslash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:00 AM   #305
Tech Elite
 
wwddww34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,560
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

My sensor wire looks like this one. What color is the temperature sensor wire?

__________________
https://www.facebook.com/groups/BananaRaceway/
wwddww34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:53 AM   #306
Tech Champion
 
DARKSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nashville-Memphis
Posts: 8,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwddww34 View Post
My sensor wire looks like this one. What color is the temperature sensor wire?

I think its the blue one
__________________
Myron "BATTMAN" Kinnard
Team Associated/Reedy Powered/PROTOform/OTT/1UP
Apex Raceway and Hobbies
1172 Park Ave, Murfreesboro, TN 37129
DARKSIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:08 AM   #307
Tech Fanatic
 
Adamska27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The land of cheese and beer
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

According to chuck at novak, all their motors have a temp sensor built in, Novak assumed all manufacturers would include a temp sensor in the motor, which I can understand. Their new gen of speedos will work with almost all motors, but yes the club and havoc and maybe a couple other older models (non x-drive) require temp sensor to run the motor.

If you ever need to know the pinout for the motor sensor wire is spec'd by roar and is in the rulebook.

I run epic motors on my novaks (all x-drives) and it works awesome, I thought I saw a D3.5 25.5T you guys could use for vintage.
Adamska27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:10 AM   #308
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winthrop harbor
Posts: 2,293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes, the blue wire is the temperature sensor wire. To the best of my knowledge, all Novak motors are equipped with motor temp sensors. The esc's however are different. Any of the esc's that are classified as "sport" have a motor temp sensor,i.e. XBR,Havoc,Goat,Mongoose,Club,Edge (any of them that are/were specifically intended to run with their motors).
__________________
Team Novak,Gravity RC,
ercwhtsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:27 PM   #309
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamska27 View Post
According to chuck at novak, all their motors have a temp sensor built in, Novak assumed all manufacturers would include a temp sensor in the motor, which I can understand. Their new gen of speedos will work with almost all motors, but yes the club and havoc and maybe a couple other older models (non x-drive) require temp sensor to run the motor.

If you ever need to know the pinout for the motor sensor wire is spec'd by roar and is in the rulebook.

I run epic motors on my novaks (all x-drives) and it works awesome, I thought I saw a D3.5 25.5T you guys could use for vintage.
no need to start crap about another motor..The novak motor has work fine all these years, so there isn't any need for the Trinity/Epic crap in USVTA
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:35 PM   #310
Tech Adept
 
DontChangeUSVTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Las Colinas, TX
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
no need to start crap about another motor..The novak motor has work fine all these years, so there isn't any need for the Trinity/Epic crap in USVTA
+1000
__________________
There is no need to change USVTA Rules. They are working great!
USVTA is why I started into this R/C hobby. I love it!
Spec-R R1 - HPI #17519 1966 Mustang GT - Novak Ballistic - HobbyWing Justock ESC
HPI Racing Vintage 8-Spoke Wheels and Tires - Team EAM 5000mah 70C Lipo Battery
DontChangeUSVTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:43 PM   #311
Tech Addict
 
alloyslash's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamska27 View Post
According to chuck at novak, all their motors have a temp sensor built in, Novak assumed all manufacturers would include a temp sensor in the motor, which I can understand. Their new gen of speedos will work with almost all motors, but yes the club and havoc and maybe a couple other older models (non x-drive) require temp sensor to run the motor.

If you ever need to know the pinout for the motor sensor wire is spec'd by roar and is in the rulebook.

I run epic motors on my novaks (all x-drives) and it works awesome, I thought I saw a D3.5 25.5T you guys could use for vintage.
Thanks for the info! I didn't know that their pinout was on Roar's page, I'll have to go check that out.

I know that my Edge has the feature that checks temp status on the ESC with color coded LED flashes. I wonder why, since a temp sensor is in the motor too, don't it have a program in the ESC that'll shut it down when the motor itself gets too hot?.
__________________
Pemberton SJ27 / Tekin RS / Cooper D4SS 17.5 / EAM 5000 / Futaba 9551 / 17.5lm
Pemberton SJ27 / Tekin RS / Bullet 13.5 / EAM 5000 / Savox 1251 / 13.5 Pro EDM

TLR22 / Tekin RS / D4SS 6.5 / Futaba 9551 / ORCA 6000 /SCMOD,
F14 carpet Oval Chassis too!
alloyslash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 03:00 PM   #312
Tech Elite
 
wwddww34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,560
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

I really like the looks of Novak's VTA web page design.
.

__________________
https://www.facebook.com/groups/BananaRaceway/
wwddww34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 08:02 PM   #313
Tech Addict
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 719
Default

I have a Novak 17.5.with a 12.3 mm rotor. What dose it do to the motor when you put a 12.5 or 13mm rotor in the motor? Is thir any benefit to it? THANKS
5th wheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 08:18 PM   #314
Tech Elite
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,874
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

if I'm not mistaken - the larger rotors give you more torque, and a little less RPM

Some places don't allow the tuning rotors, so make sure that's a legal swap at your track

NOTE: This was a thread for NOVAK's VTA Stuff and the 17.5 is NOT used in any VTA stuff anymore that I know of.
__________________
Joe Myers
R/C Racing since 1985 ~ Santa Maria, CA (Central Coast)
2001-2012 - South-West Tour R/C Oval Series...will the SWT be revived?
Things are headed towards a return of the SWT Series, but for
2017 the focus will be on the Encino Velodrome (and dirt oval racing)
SWTour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 08:19 PM   #315
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winthrop harbor
Posts: 2,293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5th wheel View Post
I have a Novak 17.5.with a 12.3 mm rotor. What dose it do to the motor when you put a 12.5 or 13mm rotor in the motor? Is thir any benefit to it? THANKS
The short answer is, it increases torque. You may find it beneficial for certain track configurations.
__________________
Team Novak,Gravity RC,
ercwhtsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:12 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net