R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2010, 08:45 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default Belt cut into battery??? Need a fix

Ok so while practicing today by bely cut into my hard case lipo and barely nicked the corner of the battery. Fisrt question is, will it be ok?

Second question, how is everyone fasten there lipos in?

Is the Exotek Chassis worth it? I am serious thinking about it.

The car is a TC5 by the way.
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:54 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

I think the Exotek chassis is awesome, Mike makes really nice stuff and the price is really reasonable. I use strap tape, my lipo has never moved.
Attached Thumbnails
Belt cut into battery??? Need a fix-tape-002.jpg   Belt cut into battery??? Need a fix-tape-004.jpg  
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:58 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

really like that setup, think it will hold a SMC 5200 just fine? I am thinking about getting a batter strap for it to but I mihgt just use tape for now.
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:12 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

I can't say for sure on the SMC, I know that it holds the Thunderpower packs very tightly, to the point were it clicks in. Associated and Diggity Designs also makes lipo braces for the tc5.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:14 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Milwaukee
Posts: 2,731
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

with my old tc5, it cut into the battery, on both of mine because i get hit by people and the tape breaks. the xotek chassis is very nice, i know everyone at my track who has one, loves it.
__________________
Mike Adamec
TEAM HACK-HACK OR BE HACKED
Trackside Hobbies
not home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:18 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
HB Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Surf City, USA
Posts: 1,080
Default

I had that belt into the battery issue a couple times with my stock TC5 chassis. Its never happened with the Exotec.
__________________
Bruce "Moose" Riedinger
HB Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:27 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

and was your batterys ok? on mine a very little spot of silver is showing. I used store mode on it tonight and it seems to be fine so far. I really wish I knew if it would fit my battery. I want to get one...

Is it a pretty good chassis for carpet?
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:43 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,505
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_Money View Post
and was your batterys ok? on mine a very little spot of silver is showing. I used store mode on it tonight and it seems to be fine so far. I really wish I knew if it would fit my battery. I want to get one...

Is it a pretty good chassis for carpet?
The chassis will fit any roar legal battery. If the battery has cell bumps on the bottom, a few mm's of shims will raise the battery strap up to compensate (no need to worry if you use tape). This chassis is for anything rubber tire, asphalt or carpet.
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:44 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Ok sweet.. What if I ever wanted to switch to foam? Is there a option for that?
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:57 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,505
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_Money View Post
Ok sweet.. What if I ever wanted to switch to foam? Is there a option for that?
For foam you are best off using the TC5F chassis & upperdeck (rubber tire chassis flex way too much for foam).. associated sell a retainer that will help hold the pack in place: TC5 lipo battery retainer
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:57 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Just checked the specs between the Thunderpower and the SMC packs that I am using. The smc is a tiny bit shorter length wise, and its about 4 millimeters bigger in width, and about 3 in height. Do you see that being a problem?
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:03 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_Money View Post
Just checked the specs between the Thunderpower and the SMC packs that I am using. The smc is a tiny bit shorter length wise, and its about 4 millimeters bigger in width, and about 3 in height. Do you see that being a problem?
Nope, there's an adjustable carbon fiber backstop to keep the lipo from sliding inward
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:06 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

awesome. thinik I would have a problem using the battery strap if I didnt want to use tape?
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:08 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

nope, I just use the tape tho, it works very well. Mike sells a strap kit too tho.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:15 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

sweet deal, thanks a ton
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya Championship Series Neil Rabara Racing Forum 21258 Yesterday 07:49 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net