R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2010, 02:16 PM   #616
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all..
Rc Mushroom has the MK3 version in stock....
Ive tried all the settings with the RS-Pro...No matter what I do..I still have no high speed brakes..The SXX Stock spec craps all over the tekins...
LOL it's not the only one! Its funny how they worked out (well copied) all this speed but forgot that you need to stop to. Also many of the racers I talk to all complain about the "feel" of the power. I doubt their so called No.1 position will hold for much longer.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 02:25 PM   #617
AE-Reedy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B.S. View Post
SXX Stock-Spec now In Stock on Tower Hobbies.
Does it mk2 or mk3 software?
I will not give a 100% guarantee, but GP was supposed to have pulled any old stock from the shelf. Meaning anything they have now should be MK3.

It is possible to tell on the outside of box if unit has mk3 SW. LRP placed a small red dot by the box barcode. We (AE) have to place a different barcode sticker on the box so it covers the dot but it still should be visible under the sticker.
Sean Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 09:45 AM   #618
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 226
Default

Sorry, but around 50% of people who race at my club have had problems with the LRP SXX SS. This includes the V3 software. Someone yesterday who purchased one, opened one up and it had cogging out of the box. This is with V3.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Thomson View Post

Than the LRP SXX SS is bugfree with the new Mk3 software, it also got another big powerboost compared with the new Mk2 software. And quite honestly, it's a lot easier setting up a LRP than a Tekin. With the LRP you don't need to bring your computer, you don't need to be a (semi-)electronics engineer. Just plug it in, set up seconds (in less than a minute) and you go fast. Setting up a speedo can't be easier. Besides the Tekin isn't perfect either, there are still people complaining than they have no, of hardly any brake.

Sorry to be so harsh, but when you take on a brand, at least make sure you know what you're talking about, instead of bashing on someone with guesses.
maxg123456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 11:08 AM   #619
Tech Adept
 
altreyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxg123456 View Post
Sorry, but around 50% of people who race at my club have had problems with the LRP SXX SS. This includes the V3 software. Someone yesterday who purchased one, opened one up and it had cogging out of the box. This is with V3.
with which motors? Thx
__________________
Yokomo BD7 - Yokomo R12C
Orca-Gm120
Reedy-Lrp
Helios EX10
altreyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 11:13 AM   #620
Tech Regular
 
dsyed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 341
Default

this is the first i am hearing about software upgrades on the lrp sxx ss... how is that being done? I may be purchasing one soon so just want to make sure I get the one with the latest software revision, is there some kind of software update interface or do we have to send the controller to lrp to get it updated?

Thank you!
dsyed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 12:23 PM   #621
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxg123456 View Post
Sorry, but around 50% of people who race at my club have had problems with the LRP SXX SS. This includes the V3 software. Someone yesterday who purchased one, opened one up and it had cogging out of the box. This is with V3.

This is me, i was running a novak ss 10.5 and also a brand new tekin redline 13.5!! Cogging and felt like interference all over the track at different times and different speeds, i pushed on refusing to believe that mkIII software was playing up and so i tried 3 sensor wires, 2 recievers, 2 motors, 3 sets of crystals and 2 different lipo`s
I only purchased the esc on tues, fitted wed and run it last night- awful
It has a red round sticker on the box and beeps 3 times when turned on, the shop changed it today for another!! Wish me luck guys
kosmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 02:11 PM   #622
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I just got my LRP SXX TC SPEC for my MOD car.... But I'm thinking of giving it a try on stock and just use the hihgest profile to get some power and see how it does.
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 03:07 PM   #623
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosmic View Post

This is me, i was running a novak ss 10.5 and also a brand new tekin redline 13.5!! Cogging and felt like interference all over the track at different times and different speeds, i pushed on refusing to believe that mkIII software was playing up and so i tried 3 sensor wires, 2 recievers, 2 motors, 3 sets of crystals and 2 different lipo`s
I only purchased the esc on tues, fitted wed and run it last night- awful
It has a red round sticker on the box and beeps 3 times when turned on, the shop changed it today for another!! Wish me luck guys
I was there with him , not good what is going on lrp it would be nice for the lrp rep to let us know if there has been any other reports of cogging with the v3 firmware
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 03:52 PM   #624
Tech Master
 
mikecatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,274
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default .


Last edited by mikecatts; 09-16-2010 at 06:55 AM.
mikecatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 05:48 PM   #625
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all..About the cogging issue..
Make sure that you dont "over time' the motor..
Rule of thumb..Try and keep the timming below 60 deg total advance..
If the motor cogs..drop a tooth or two..and retard the timming..
1 degre makes a huge difference..
The SXX is faultless from my end.
We have a guy who has the MK2 sofyware..17.5 and no cogging issues as he has the gearing/settings/timming just right...and he leaves the Tekins for dead..and heaps of brakes

Mike
please explain how you would know what total timing you have?

personally I dont think boost settings change the cogging, mine cogs on ALL boost settings.
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 06:00 PM   #626
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Default

Ive got 2 or 3 guys at our club who all run full advanced or nearly full advance on novak ss motors with SXX SS no problem, ive looked at the motors myself!!
I dont mind trying it retarded slightly but my novak ss 10.5 with my spx felt gutless unless motor was on full advance
kosmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 06:00 PM   #627
Tech Elite
 
Yokomo_Ant3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,405
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all..About the cogging issue..
Make sure that you dont "over time' the motor..
Rule of thumb..Try and keep the timming below 60 deg total advance..
If the motor cogs..drop a tooth or two..and retard the timming..
1 degre makes a huge difference..
The SXX is faultless from my end.
We have a guy who has the MK2 sofyware..17.5 and no cogging issues as he has the gearing/settings/timming just right...and he leaves the Tekins for dead..and heaps of brakes

Mike
Actually Mike for the first 10 packs through the speedie it was faultless and fast...Then we to hit the cogging issues No change in anything, just started doing it. We only have the problem of it cogging at LOW speeds. Im guessing their might be another update available sooner rather than later if mk3 is doing the same thing. No doubt this speedie is fast tho
__________________
Antoni Caretti

Team Yokomo - Racing Performer - Sweep Racing
Yokomo_Ant3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 06:34 PM   #628
Tech Addict
 
Stein Tumert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway (Oslo) / Germany (Hamburg)
Posts: 556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jochim_18 View Post
I just got my LRP SXX TC SPEC for my MOD car.... But I'm thinking of giving it a try on stock and just use the hihgest profile to get some power and see how it does.
It will not keep up with the SXX stocspec if you run stock motor, not even with profile 10...
__________________
Stein Tumert
Tamiya TRF, Sanwa M12, SpeedPassion, Much More, LRP
Stein Tumert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 06:43 PM   #629
Tech Addict
 
Stein Tumert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway (Oslo) / Germany (Hamburg)
Posts: 556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yokomo_Ant3 View Post
Actually Mike for the first 10 packs through the speedie it was faultless and fast...Then we to hit the cogging issues No change in anything, just started doing it. We only have the problem of it cogging at LOW speeds. Im guessing their might be another update available sooner rather than later if mk3 is doing the same thing. No doubt this speedie is fast tho
There were problems here with the MKII version, but not with MKIII

If you have timing on the motor, retard it as much as you can and try again.
__________________
Stein Tumert
Tamiya TRF, Sanwa M12, SpeedPassion, Much More, LRP
Stein Tumert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 06:50 PM   #630
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

ok thanks for clarifying that... I was just going to give it a try but I'll stick with MOD I'm Tired of trying to get SPEC MOTOR to go faster...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stein Tumert View Post
It will not keep up with the SXX stocspec if you run stock motor, not even with profile 10...
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP SXX TC SPEC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 190 08-20-2012 05:52 AM
LRP Vector X12 StockSpec and SXX stockspec mac853 Electric On-Road 224 03-27-2010 02:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net