R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2004, 05:06 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 107
Default comm size?

what is the smallest comm size you can go with a stock motor
SPC Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 05:46 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

With pretty much all standard size comms (not the Reedy KR or quad mag motors. They use a large comm.) you don't really want to go much farther than about .270" I've pushed it to .265" and paid for it. They start burning brushes really bad, ecpecially if it's a laydown motor ot P94 even because the brushes always have the comm shorted out.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 07:06 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

It just eats your brushes and gets the motor really hot and the comm gets all black.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 07:04 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I stop racing them at .272 but use them in practice as long as they work, just have to narrow the brush face, but the small arms arn't as fast.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 07:33 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcracingkid
I stop racing them at .272 but use them in practice as long as they work, just have to narrow the brush face, but the small arms arn't as fast.
If you have a slower motor for practice, then you don't know how to setup your car properly when the motor is faster, so you'll have your setup messed up. Having a good motor in practice is just as important as having a good motor in the main.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 07:34 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

in Stock i use my racing motoe as practice as well. Just cut comm before Main seems to work Well for me
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comm size oMONSTERo Electric Off-Road 8 09-27-2006 01:29 PM
Smallest comm size? Bike racer Electric Off-Road 8 03-26-2006 06:45 PM
Comm size limits bvoltz Rookie Zone 5 08-18-2005 07:23 AM
How big is comm size of new motor? MugenMTX3Kid Electric On-Road 12 03-21-2004 12:46 AM
What is min Comm size? WC Australian Racing 10 04-05-2003 02:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:05 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net