Motor Break-in?

Old 03-15-2004, 09:04 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 458
Default Motor Break-in?

Can a motor be broken in with a 2-cell battery pack?
TC3er is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 09:05 AM
  #2  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

sure can...
Tres is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 09:06 AM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
 
Shayd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 95
Default

Sure thing. Between 2-3 volts is optimal to prevent excess arching while the brushes are seating in.

Scott
Shayd is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 09:29 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 458
Default

Thanks guys, how long should I let the motor run for?
TC3er is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 09:31 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

Originally posted by TC3er
Thanks guys, how long should I let the motor run for?
They Recommend for stock somewhere between 2-3 Minutes. Hope this helps
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 09:36 AM
  #6  
tel
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chandler,AZ
Posts: 233
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Go get the Fussy Brush tools. You can break in the brushes without wearing your com at all. This is one of the rare RC products that is something totally new and actually works. I just got mine and they are AWESOME. David Joor bought some and took them to the Snowbirds race. He let Todd Putnam (Putnam motors) use them to setup his motors. Todd wouldn't give them back.

http://www.fussybrush.com/
tel is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:18 AM
  #7  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,534
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by tel
Go get the Fussy Brush tools. You can break in the brushes without wearing your com at all. This is one of the rare RC products that is something totally new and actually works. I just got mine and they are AWESOME. David Joor bought some and took them to the Snowbirds race. He let Todd Putnam (Putnam motors) use them to setup his motors. Todd wouldn't give them back.

http://www.fussybrush.com/
how would that help anyways? the reason you need to seat the brushes is because the comm size is smaller after you cut. you need to let the brushes reseated so it fits the cut comm. that thing only has one diameter. the only thing i could think of it doing is resurfacing the brushes. you still need to break them in
disaster999 is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 01:51 PM
  #8  
tel
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chandler,AZ
Posts: 233
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Agreed, you want the brush to match the exact controur/size of the com. The Fussy Brush gets the contour within a few thousanths of the actual com. You may still need to do a breakin but for a much shorter period of time. With less breakin time you get less comm wear and a more efficient motor for the race.

BTW, this wasn't a sales pitch. I am not afilliated with Fussy Brush other being a customer.
tel is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.