R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2002, 05:25 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Mad_Cats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 35
Send a message via Yahoo to Mad_Cats
Novak T2

To some I am sure these will seem like novice questions...
But I can't learn Diddly if I don't ask
1, In the manual, it States that Motor capacitors are NOT needed with this ESC. If thats is true, what do you do about Trinity motors that have the build in Cap.s? Do you remove them.. or will it make not matter if they are there?

2, The Diode.... No One at my track runs with one of these mounted, I am left with the opinion that they are only needed to assist braking...
Do I, or do I Not need this mounted... if I never use the breaks while in a heat or a Race?
Mad_Cats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 05:38 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
D_Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 617
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to D_Ames
Default

Its always a good idea to have caps installed on your motor even if Novak says you don't need them. With the motors that have surface mounted caps, just leave them there. It won't hurt anything.

For the diode I assume you mean the schotky diode on the motor. This diode helps keep the ESC cooler and gives you more consistant brakes (especially in mod). Just pay attention to the proper polarity because if you connect it backwards it will blow.


D_Ames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 05:41 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Mad_Cats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 35
Send a message via Yahoo to Mad_Cats
Default

Well as far as the Doide goes... I was using it.. but its such a pain in the but to mount... I have opted not to use it.. with out noticing any differance anywhere
(what do you mean this thing has Brakes?)
Mad_Cats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 07:22 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 221
Default

Not using the diode can cause you to burn your ESC up.
patcollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 09:16 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
AE_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,127
Send a message via AIM to AE_Racer
Default

I think the diode he is referring to is the bigass capacitor on the Cyclones.....I have used them without it before, no problems..
AE_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 10:09 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Mad_Cats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 35
Send a message via Yahoo to Mad_Cats
Default

No, I meant the schotky diode, I do run with the Big A** cap.
took me a week to find a place to mount it.. but its on there
Mad_Cats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2002, 08:09 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Diodes just help out with braking. Hince some pro-drivers run two or more of them. The caps are a very good ideal to help filter out noise which can cause glitching. We mount our diodes on the ESC itself. Makes it much easier then trying to put them on the motor.
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2002, 11:31 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 177
Default

can the diodes be attached to the wires leading to the motor?
was ist los? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2002, 03:47 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Yes, some guys actually put the diode in line with the wires and heat shrink it to the wires.
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2002, 05:39 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 177
Default

thanks crash
was ist los? is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J Concepts BJ4WE CHEAP!!! NIP NOVAK 10.5 & Novak 4300 w/Sintered Rotor Zac R R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-13-2008 06:13 PM
LRP Sphere tc, Novak 13.5pro, Novak 10.5 pro, Novak 13mm rotor theisgroup R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 01-08-2008 11:21 AM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
For Sale Novak 3.5 brushless motor with Novak Heat sink $60.00 SHIPPED!!! Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 06-24-2007 08:29 PM
Rivergate RCD30, Novak Millenium Pros, XXX4G+, XXXTMF, lehner/novak BL Jman-x R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2005 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net