R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2002, 08:43 AM   #466
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

ChristopherKee-

You need to get a Turbo 30 or 35 . I got both and I will let you use them when we race together . Sorry that I could not come out this weekend. I have to entertain the wifes parents . And hook up my 65inch TV .

I charge my HV's at 8 amps .07 per cell.

Discharge at 30amps.. 1.52 volts per cell. I guess that is average

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2002, 09:09 AM   #467
Tech Fanatic
 
DHMOTORSPORTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I used the Indi 16x9 to cycle the pack. I know the cutoff is different than the turbos. My stock metal pack says 1.139 @30 on the label and the 16x9 shows it [email protected] To me I'am begining to wonder about guy I'm getting the batteries from. But the 2400's I've got from the same guy all have good numbers. And on the track I can feal the difference in punch. Especialy in 1/12th scale betweem 24's and 3000.Mabe I'll get lucky and find someone in my area that has a HV pack I can cycle to see if theres are different. Most of the guys around here are going to the Stock Metals for touring car. And they love them. I said well you should try one of my 2400's..lol They feal alot getter than Stkmtls do..
__________________
Trinity / Team Epic / ReVtech Batteries / TRC / F-Bomb Graphix
DHMOTORSPORTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2002, 09:21 AM   #468
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

The numbers at 20 amps should be way better than at 30...

On the T35 you can set what you want the cutoff to be.

I cycled a pack of my HVs and a pack of my SMH...SMH charge at 5, .03 threshold. HV charge at 6.5, .05 threshold...

HV's came out at 320 sec, 1.140 ave volts...Label reads 1.148 ave volts...

SMH comes out 320 sec, 1.126 ave volts, label reads 1.124 ave volts.

AIR on both packs was almost the same.

Speedo
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2002, 01:30 PM   #469
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mike_Webb
Discharge at 30amps.. 1.52 volts per cell. I guess that is average
I sure hope you meant 1.152 per cell...

Trips
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2002, 01:35 PM   #470
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

9 volt packs

So that is why the sponsored guys are so fast
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2002, 01:51 PM   #471
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

Hey Trips

how are you doing?

Yes.. that is 1.152 per cell. I did have a 1.157 in there.

And I did make a mistake.. I forgot one 1 so no I don't have 1.5volt cells.... I have about 4 e-mails from people offering to buy those packs from me .

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2002, 02:19 PM   #472
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Mike,

I'm doing fine, how are things there? Any electric racing going on? I feel inclined to make another trip, but Buster sez Mimi's will be pretty empty on Saturdays now that nitro is picking up again...

David
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2002, 02:45 PM   #473
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

David-

Mimi's is dead a little... Some people are up there. Seems like on Sundays there is going to be a big turnout for Racing at a place about 45min South of Mimi's called Brown Brother. Check out the Maryland,DC, VA group in the Racing Forum for Details. That is where i will be hanging out.

Talk to you later.

Mike
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2002, 08:44 AM   #474
Tech Fanatic
 
DHMOTORSPORTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I got a friend with a zapper. So I think I'll hit them with that and see what they look like after that. I'll let you know what it comes out to..
__________________
Trinity / Team Epic / ReVtech Batteries / TRC / F-Bomb Graphix
DHMOTORSPORTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2002, 09:07 AM   #475
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

DHMOTORSPORTS: Your problem is probably that your testing your packs with an Integy charger/discharger. It probably reads differently than a Competition Electronics T-30/T-35 which is what most people use. The T-30/35 will give numbers similar to the labels because matchers use TM-4 from CE to match there cells.

Does the Integy charger/discharger have to sets of wires to hook up to the pack ? If they do are they seperate and attached to the pack seperately? To get accurate and consistant results you need a second set of leads which are used for voltage sensing. The T-30/35 uses them and it's the only way to get no voltage drop.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2002, 06:33 PM   #476
Tech Fanatic
 
DHMOTORSPORTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Yes, the Indi 16x9 has 2 sets of wires.. I know the cutoff is different than the turbos.. But on the other side I just wonder if it has a funny way with NiMih's compared to NiCads. I find it hard to believe a pack at 30 looks worse at 20..Never seen it before..
__________________
Trinity / Team Epic / ReVtech Batteries / TRC / F-Bomb Graphix
DHMOTORSPORTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2002, 06:48 PM   #477
Tech Regular
 
rcruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 375
Default

I came accros a posting at team orion saying something like
'generally cells are matched only by capacity not by voltage'.
And said something like 'more expensive team orion matched cells have more capacity. So if your racing need more capacity buy more expensive ones otherwise buy cheaper ones since voltages should be around the same.'

I thought cells are matched by capacity, discharging rate, voltages, etc...

Something to think about team orion's matched cells. 'cuz their cells were ok for me.

Any comment?
rcruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2002, 07:07 PM   #478
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

RCRUV

I don't remember the readout on the Core Motor. All I know is that when the guys at my track put it on the Dyno it was very impressive and I had about 5 of them asking if they could buy it off me or at least use the motor. They all thought that the numbers were wrong at first so they put it on the Dyno 3 times. It was just barly better then my firends Hellfire. And the really nice thing about the motor is that it was a Team Core Motor and I had yet to do anything to it like adjust the hoods or change the springs. I broke it in for about 300 seconds.

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2002, 11:22 PM   #479
Tech Regular
 
rcruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 375
Default

mike_Webb > Thanks for the info. I might try core. With so many motors it's really hard to keep track of them.

I don't know why integy matches cells at 20A.
1.21 AVG doesn't make any sense since I have to compare it with other cells matched at 30A.

I guess once I buy integy charger then I can get all the numbers out of cells at 20A to get fair comparison.

I wonder if what I felt at the track would be any good.

rcruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2002, 08:44 AM   #480
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to Ovalman19
Default

Integy's cells are also cutoff at 375 seconds, instead of the full runout, that is why their voltages seem to be so high. Don't be fooled.
Ovalman19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sanyo 3000HV ruftnik Rookie Zone 2 11-09-2003 06:05 PM
New Sanyo 3000HV PMR packs rayhuang R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 02-25-2003 11:18 AM
Sanyo 3000HV lilshortyc3 Electric On-Road 4 12-20-2002 02:34 PM
1 New Integy Sanyo 3000HV hohen711 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-11-2002 01:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:58 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net