R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2002, 07:07 PM   #331
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

I had a problem with my HV's false peaking over the weekend. Just keep an eye on your charger and you should be able to prevent this. I peaked ( and falsely ) my packs twice, but never looked at the readout on my PitBull, needless to say, I dumped...
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2002, 10:54 PM   #332
Tech Elite
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BigDogRacing
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
I had a problem with my HV's false peaking over the weekend. Just keep an eye on your charger and you should be able to prevent this. I peaked ( and falsely ) my packs twice, but never looked at the readout on my PitBull, needless to say, I dumped...
Troy, were they new packs or did you leave them for a long time after traying them? I'm no battery wizard, but I know ALL of my NiMHs are bad about false peaking for the first 3 cycles when new, then maybe just once after being discharged for too long. One other thing, if you increase the charge amps from what you normally use, sometimes it will trigger a false peak the first or second time.
BigDogRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2002, 11:13 PM   #333
Tech Fanatic
 
rccarracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 926
Default

How do you tell if your cells false peak? Sorry for my stupidity, but I've never had this explained.
rccarracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2002, 11:19 PM   #334
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rccarracer
How do you tell if your cells false peak? Sorry for my stupidity, but I've never had this explained.
as it's name says, false peak is when the charger "thinks" that the pack is peaked but actually it's not. a pack that is false peaked is not fully charged so you can't get full run time out of it. hope this is correct~~
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2002, 11:56 PM   #335
Tech Fanatic
 
rccarracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 926
Default

So when do batteries typically false peak? At the start or near the end of a charge?
rccarracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 01:38 AM   #336
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 513
Default

hi, wondering if there is much difference between the lowest priced matched HVs than the highest priced for any brand? Thanks
ME-student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 02:48 AM   #337
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

The false peaks tend to happen in the first half of the charge - so you can tell a packs false peaked if it's still cool.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 08:11 AM   #338
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,486
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Troy, what were you using as a lockout on your charger?
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 11:16 AM   #339
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

BigDogRacing - They were trayed, but only till the lights went out. I did charge them at higher amps though, I was charging at 7a, when before i charged them at 6 to 6.5a.

Kraig - I wasn't using long lockout. For threshold i think i was using .05, .06 or somewhere on there. I don't remember for sure.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 11:36 AM   #340
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

I have been cycling and charging my SMC HV packs at 7A with a .07 cutoff and have never experienced a false peak.

My SMH's I charge at 5A with a .03 cutoff, and no false peaks there either.

After use, dump at 30A and store, no trays. That's my method; seems to work for me. My HV's have all gained .05-.10 volts (that's per pack, not per cell) since I first cycled them. Probably about 7-9 cycles through them now.
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 06:01 PM   #341
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

Anyone know what I should set my Turbo35 peak detection to when charging 1800mAH NiMH's(AA's)?
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 06:42 PM   #342
Tech Regular
 
rcruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 375
Default

Voltage of NiMH cells do increase after charge, discharge.
It doesn't neccessarily mean a good sign, it could mean that internal resistance increased and efficiency decreased.

You should try it on the track or dyno with enough load to see if cells have improved in good way.

Just my 2 cents
rcruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 08:36 PM   #343
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by proudwinner
Anyone know what I should set my Turbo35 peak detection to when charging 1800mAH NiMH's(AA's)?
I used 30mV to charge 4 cells AAA packs, seems pretty good, but my charger is no where near Turbo35.
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 08:55 PM   #344
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

Thanks Fire! I'm using .02, they false peaked on me 30 sec. after charge with .01. So far so good!
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 10:38 PM   #345
Tech Apprentice
 
wacky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wacky Land
Posts: 56
Default Help !!!

One of my HV Cells has this venting and some corrosion on the connection between the battery bars ... I only used this for about 5 runs and I noticed this venting on one of my hv cells. And also the voltage reading is alittle bit higher by 0.05v compare to the rest. Is this very alarming. Or is the cell already near its dead state.

My other cells doesn't have any signs of this venting.

Need you help guys ........
wacky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sanyo 3000HV ruftnik Rookie Zone 2 11-09-2003 06:05 PM
New Sanyo 3000HV PMR packs rayhuang R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 02-25-2003 11:18 AM
Sanyo 3000HV lilshortyc3 Electric On-Road 4 12-20-2002 02:34 PM
1 New Integy Sanyo 3000HV hohen711 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-11-2002 01:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net