R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2004, 12:37 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
clayrace24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 439
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default Power supply In your CE Turbo 35

I saw one of these on ebay, where the guy had added a power supply into the vast openness inside the CE Turbo 35. Has anyone done this? What is the smallest power supply that you can use for such an application and still get full function out of the charger?

All input(including specific how to) would be greatly appreciated.

Clay
__________________
B44.3,Tamiya M05 Mini Cooper and lots of airplanes
clayrace24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 02:42 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

I was thinking about doing this to my 35 when I put temperature speed controller on the fan (oh the blessed sound of silence), but did not, I had power supply that fitted but was worried about heat and dust or liquid if I'd cut cooling holes.
Basically you need Switch Mode Power Supply that supplies 13.8 volts and 20% more amps than you charge with, 8 amps is pretty common SMPS size and should work perfectly for this application. Power supply from old computer might work. They´re usually 12 amps or more, but have 12 volts which may not be enough.
Switch Mode Power Supply 12V
Switch Mode Power Supply 15V
At 169X98X38 millimeters both should fit and they have voltage adjustment for fine-tuning. I don't remember if the 35 is ok with 15 Volts.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 05:32 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Just becausefull using those type of switching power supply.

Those type of power supply meant to be used in the GROUNDED rack or chassis mount.

just my 2 cents.
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 07:36 AM   #4
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

andsetinn: is correct.

I have seen this done a few times...

Also, you must consider doing motor run....

breaking in a motor, even at low voltage will load a 8A ps heavily.
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 08:28 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

I use my 35 with very good 8A supply and do motor runs without problems, same with my lathe. The 12v power supply I linked to is 12 amps, it should be enough. But if you're really loading the motor you're running in it may not be.

Good point komkit. Project like this should not be undertaken unless you know what you're doing and preferably have electrician look it over before plugging it in.

After seeing some interest in this. I'm thinking about putting power supply in my 35 and do an article. Don't you think Shane will put it up here?
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 10:29 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
clayrace24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 439
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default Artricle?

andsetinn,

You get my vote! If you can't post here for some reason, please keep me in mind for a PM when you're done. Thanks for your response.

Clay
__________________
B44.3,Tamiya M05 Mini Cooper and lots of airplanes
clayrace24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo 35 GFX and power supply DavidAlford R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 06-26-2008 09:46 AM
Pit Box with Turbo 35 bl and 30 amp power supply stone R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 01-24-2008 08:17 AM
turbo 35 and power supply al spina R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 12-20-2006 08:08 PM
Turbo 30 9 button, Turbo 35, power supply Greg Amendola R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 10-14-2004 11:00 PM
turbo 35 and power supply xxxntmaster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 10-19-2002 08:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net