Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Who makes the best tweak station? >

Who makes the best tweak station?

Like Tree3Likes

Who makes the best tweak station?

Old 03-12-2004, 10:10 AM
  #16  
Tech Adept
 
Brandon R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 146
Default

If you real precise setup get 4 digital scales...ebay has em for cheap usually..make sure it is the ones that go down to .1 gram...you car will really be setup nice
Brandon R is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 10:43 AM
  #17  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (91)
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,774
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Default Re: Who makes the best tweak station?

Originally posted by popsracer
Guys;

I have the Integy Laser tweak station and it does a excellent job.

My only complaint would be of the Bubble Vial for leveling. Even with the newest version it is almost impossible to find center. I've been using a separate machinist level to set-up the tweak station before placing my Car(s) on it.
That's the beauty of the laser tweak station...you don't need to level it before checking tweak. Using the laser method eliminates the need.

Blake
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:01 AM
  #18  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 825
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

My 5 year old Niftech does the trick!
Greg Anthony is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 07:26 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Re: Re: Who makes the best tweak station?

Originally posted by dr_hfuhuhurr

That's the beauty of the laser tweak station...you don't need to level it before checking tweak. Using the laser method eliminates the need.

Blake
This is what Integy claims, but my thinking goes like this.

Take a sharp Pencil and try to stand it vertically on the tip/point. Probably almost impossible.
If you have the Tweak Station leaning at an angle (even slightly), I believe that the setting will be off.
For this reason I go to great pains to level mine before checking a Car.
popsracer is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 10:07 PM
  #20  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes that is therotically true but it is close enough if the surface is generally level. I have used the integy tweak station for more than a year now and it is very good. The best part is you can also use it to equalise your droop as well.
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 05:09 AM
  #21  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Rick Worth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elmwood,Tn
Posts: 358
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The only problem with the penny deal is it tells you when your suspension travel tops out & starts to pick up the tire that has topped out when you lift it up & not equilizing the weights on each wheel loaded. Seems the penny works if you know each sides suspension hits the end of its up travel at exactly the same time. On a touring car it would be affected by the accuracy of the droop screws on each side matching. I would think a loaded chassis on a good tweak board is better. R.W.
Rick Worth is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 05:26 AM
  #22  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The real issue for 12th scale is the sensitivity of the tweak bord your using. ANY tweak board will work sufficiently for a TC because a TC has such a wide footprint and so much mass. A 12thscale car requires a FAR greater sensitivity. Most commercially available stations won't notice a 1/16th of a turn on 12th scale tweak screws, but a 16th of a turn can be noticeable on the track. If you don't have a compressed spring on one side of your 12th scaler, then the coin trick is ALWAYS more accurate.

If you've got a compressed spring on one side of your front-end you really won't be able to set tweak either way. The car will have unregulated suspension travel on the side with the compressed spring, and that leads to all sorts of handling irregularities that can feel like the tweak is off, or even a radio hit.
CypressMidWest is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 09:36 AM
  #23  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
ottoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,765
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I always level mine also. My Integy instructions never mentioned balancing out the laser end of the station. After you install the battery, that end is no where close to being level. I really started to dislike it when I tweaked my touring car on it and the adj's I made didnt seem to show up on the tweak station as fast as on my old MIP one. I went back and forth between the two and found that, for some reason, the MIP was much more sensitive than the Integy to changes in the shock collars. It looks cooler but just didnt perform as well as the cheap old MIP.
ottoman is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 10:36 AM
  #24  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Laser Tweak Station

Guys;

Even being able to adjust the battery position for balance, I myself find it about impossible for the Laser Arm to find level.

As I am writing this I just got an idea.

Instead of balancing using the teeter/totter method. I am going to try balancing like you would an Airplane propeller. Might make for a slightly more accurate set-up.
popsracer is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 09:43 AM
  #25  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
espresso1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,102
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I know this is an old thread, but would like to get more opinions on newer or updated tweak stations for a 1/10 pan. So please contribute and help a newbie get up and running with the proper equiptment.
espresso1967 is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:04 PM
  #26  
Tech Regular
 
porsche928gs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Saginaw Texas
Posts: 470
Default

Originally Posted by ottoman View Post
I always level mine also. My Integy instructions never mentioned balancing out the laser end of the station. After you install the battery, that end is no where close to being level. I really started to dislike it when I tweaked my touring car on it and the adj's I made didnt seem to show up on the tweak station as fast as on my old MIP one. I went back and forth between the two and found that, for some reason, the MIP was much more sensitive than the Integy to changes in the shock collars. It looks cooler but just didnt perform as well as the cheap old MIP.
It is true that when you put the batteries the beam tilts towars that side but if you stick a dime on the side of it at aprox 1.25 in right of the center shaft, it would be perfect. I use the integy laser tweak board for about 3 years and my cars are always perfect. My friend has a MIP and he always use mine when we pit together, He says easier and very precise. I highly recommend it.
porsche928gs is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:14 PM
  #27  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,280
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Unity is the BEST hands down

Scales is the other option
rocketron is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:30 PM
  #28  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

kinda un related but i just got a mip tweak station but no directions so i am not positive how to use it or what i am really using it for. Anybody know where i can find directions for it?
shadow102 is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:46 PM
  #29  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
tpczx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fremont CA
Posts: 878
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rocketron View Post
Unity is the BEST hands down

Scales is the other option

2 votes for Unity


http://www.unitytool.com/Unity_Tools...ek_boards.html


works with all scales
tpczx6 is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:49 PM
  #30  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rocketron View Post
Unity is the BEST hands down

Scales is the other option
I have one a Unity Tool and it is really nice. For what I see guys spending on some other brands I think I have a steal because the Unity tool don't have any slop like the others. I find it to be the most accurate for me.
wyd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.