Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How often do diff's need to be rebuilt?

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2009, 06:07 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default How often do diff's need to be rebuilt?

I'm still pretty new to this hobby so I'm not real sure about maintenance on certain parts of the car. About how often does a diff need to be rebuilt? I'm sure there is a way to tell by feel but I don't know how to do it yet.
Old 12-26-2009, 06:22 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)

Originally Posted by lowcel
I'm still pretty new to this hobby so I'm not real sure about maintenance on certain parts of the car. About how often does a diff need to be rebuilt? I'm sure there is a way to tell by feel but I don't know how to do it yet.
It will feel 'gritty' thats the best way to describe it.
Old 12-26-2009, 06:26 AM
Tech Master

xray diffs won't feal gritty at all LOL even after 3-4 months...
we asked that to elliot harper he thinks once every 10 runs ! For the best results...
Old 12-26-2009, 06:37 AM
Tech Master

Thanks for the replies. If once every ten runs I guess that would mean about once a week. I do two heats and a main on Friday and three heats and a main on Saturdays plus some practice runs.

What grit sandpaper should I get to sand the diff rings?
Old 12-26-2009, 06:40 AM
Tech Master

600 works well
Old 12-26-2009, 06:46 AM
Tech Master

Thank you, I'll make a quick run to NAPA then start tearing some cars apart.
Old 12-26-2009, 07:33 AM
Regional Moderator