Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Nemesis 17.5 motor thread >

Nemesis 17.5 motor thread

Nemesis 17.5 motor thread

Old 12-19-2009, 01:42 PM
  #16  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RPB, South Florida
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Gearing Help on the 17.5...

It's going in a T2 008 and has a SPX set on profile 7.
Right now I am using FDR 4.17 with a Novak 17.5, where should I be at with this motor?
GTSSTANG is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:17 PM
  #17  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
thisguy2849's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 844
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You want to start at around 4.05 fdr
thisguy2849 is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:31 PM
  #18  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern canada
Posts: 60
Default

Originally Posted by thisguy2849 View Post
As the guy who set the timing on the motors I will tell you that the timing looks like 10 degrees BUT since 0 on the end bell is closer to -10 its pretty much 0 degrees when set between the 10 nd 20 markings at the long line between the numbers
Awesome! Now this is what I call service! Thanks a lot for answering all of my questions so quick.
windsor is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 06:35 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,646
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by windsor View Post
I am running a tekin rs. When you say you were 5 teeth off do you mean higher or lower?
5 teeth less on the pinion, usually a 43 now on a 38.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 06:57 PM
  #20  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern canada
Posts: 60
Default

Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
5 teeth less on the pinion, usually a 43 now on a 38.
Wow. So your rollout is much lower with this motor then. Thanks for your input! Anyone running it in stock 1/12 yet and seeing the same thing?
windsor is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 09:43 AM
  #21  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

I ordered one on Friday and it will be going into my TA05 with a SPX on the infamous profile 7. I was running a black can stock motor 96/39 with a final drive of 5.04. Where should I be with this motor on a medium to large track?
gashuffer is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 10:43 AM
  #22  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RPB, South Florida
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I think you run at my track too.... I asked basically the same question.. Look up a few posts....

It was recomended to start with 4.05...
GTSSTANG is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 11:17 AM
  #23  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Yeah your right, but for me to get to 4.06 I would have to run a 48t pinion that can't be right?? My trans ratio is 2.055

Last edited by gashuffer; 12-20-2009 at 11:27 AM.
gashuffer is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 11:23 AM
  #24  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thisguy2849 View Post
As the guy who set the timing on the motors I will tell you that the timing looks like 10 degrees BUT since 0 on the end bell is closer to -10 its pretty much 0 degrees when set between the 10 nd 20 markings at the long line between the numbers
So, your saying that if I reset this to the 0 point on the can, it's really in negatives? If this is the case, why didn't they just label it correctly?
EVILGRAFX is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 12:11 PM
  #25  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
thisguy2849's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 844
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Its just the way the sensor was designed
thisguy2849 is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 03:00 PM
  #26  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thisguy2849 View Post
Its just the way the sensor was designed
Okay, if the sensor is designed that way, why not label it the same way the sensor is set? That way, when I (or anyone) set it to 10 degrees, it's actually 10 degrees and not negative two to five somewhere.
EVILGRAFX is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 03:07 PM
  #27  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

C'mon dude it is what it is. No reason to start a flame war
gashuffer is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 03:26 PM
  #28  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gashuffer View Post
C'mon dude it is what it is. No reason to start a flame war
I'm not starting a flame war. It's a simple question.

It is what it is? That's just stupid dude. C'mon.
EVILGRAFX is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 03:32 PM
  #29  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Okay, so we know that twelve to fifteen degrees on the can is really closer to zero degrees actually.

What about people who don't read RCTech? How are they supposed to know that when they set their motor to ten degrees that it's actually negative two to negative five degrees?

I understand that they can't be exact but, why not label it close to the way it is?

Why label it different?

Is it to keep people who aren't in the know from easily over-setting the timing?

That's all I'm asking.
EVILGRAFX is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 03:45 PM
  #30  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EVILGRAFX View Post
I'm not starting a flame war. It's a simple question.

It is what it is? That's just stupid dude. C'mon.
What's stupid about that. They told you how to read the timing but thats not good enough. This information is found other places than RCtech and if you don't race then it doesn't matter
gashuffer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.