R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2010, 01:52 AM   #976
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Just got mine and have to try it and compare it to my other TC's

ragrds Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Teacher View Post
Has anyone tried the narrow chassis yet? Just got one and thinking about trying it out. I'm thinking this will give me more overall grip but would like to hear what others think...
Attached Thumbnails
Sakura Zero - New Touring Car!-eigen-autos.jpg   Sakura Zero - New Touring Car!-eigen-autos-1.jpg  
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 06:45 AM   #977
Tech Elite
 
The Teacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 4,840
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

gpm-parts.com, did you try the narraow chassis with the narrow blocks for the rear end? It seems that if you narrow the rear of the car it gives it more grip.
The Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 08:21 AM   #978
Tech Adept
 
Jezp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

so is using the narrow suspension blocks illegal? also using 4mm hex illegal coz its lets the car less than 190mm now. i bought both and just using the hex for now.
Jezp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 08:28 AM   #979
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Why would this be illegal??
The max wide of the car should be max 190MM so everything close to that should be ok as long as it won't be more then 190MM.
I don't know of heard of any class that has a rule that your car should be exact 190MM

regards Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezp View Post
so is using the narrow suspension blocks illegal? also using 4mm hex illegal coz its lets the car less than 190mm now. i bought both and just using the hex for now.
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 08:54 AM   #980
Tech Elite
 
squarehead's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wheaton, Illinois
Posts: 4,211
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to squarehead Send a message via MSN to squarehead Send a message via Yahoo to squarehead Send a message via Skype™ to squarehead
Default

There are no width minimums in racing any class, only maximum widths.
__________________
Everything depends.
Nothing is always.
Everything is sometimes.
squarehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 09:48 AM   #981
Tech Adept
 
Jezp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

i knw max width is 190mm. i just wanted to knw if there was a minimum rule. tnx for the answers guys
Jezp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 10:39 AM   #982
Tech Elite
 
squarehead's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wheaton, Illinois
Posts: 4,211
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to squarehead Send a message via MSN to squarehead Send a message via Yahoo to squarehead Send a message via Skype™ to squarehead
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squarehead View Post
There are no width minimums in racing any class, only maximum widths.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezp View Post
i knw max width is 190mm. i just wanted to knw if there was a minimum rule. tnx for the answers guys
No, there are NO MINIMUM WIDTH rules anywhere in racing, including electric touring cars.
__________________
Everything depends.
Nothing is always.
Everything is sometimes.
squarehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:07 PM   #983
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Just got mine and have to try it and compare it to my other TC's

ragrds Roy
Got your belts on wrong...the narrow chassis uses the flipped belt mod I believe. That should help with your servo placement.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 08:04 PM   #984
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Got your belts on wrong...the narrow chassis uses the flipped belt mod I believe. That should help with your servo placement.
It can be used either way really, with the belts flipped its a lot easier to mount the electrics due to the narrowness of the chassis.
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 10:29 PM   #985
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Well as you can see i have no problems with placing the electronics.
If you use the new motor mount then you have to flip the belts around but with the stock motor mount there is no problem.
Just have to see how it is behaving comparing to my other 2 TC's.
For now i leave the belts like they are.
Most people flip them around on the Top also.
This also for getting more space for the electronics but hey i want to find out how it drives like it is.

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 12:51 AM   #986
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Well it is not just for space either...it is to better balance the car because the electronics side of the car typically comes out heavier than the battery side. Yes you can mount the belts either way but it really was meant to run with the belts the other way. Same goes for the new TOP LiPo chassis as well.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 01:21 AM   #987
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

As you can see on my Photon i still run the 6 cells chassis and can't flip the belts over due to not modding the chassis for the dif and spool pulleys.
When i buy the Lipo chassis for the Photon i will try flipping them over and see how that works.
For the Sakura,this weekend will be it's maiden race/practice so i will see what it will bring and if i have balance problems i will flip the belts to the other side and mount the vertical motor mount i have with the car.
Any setup tips for 13.5 boosted stock racing on carpet with rubber tires would be welcome.

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Well it is not just for space either...it is to better balance the car because the electronics side of the car typically comes out heavier than the battery side. Yes you can mount the belts either way but it really was meant to run with the belts the other way. Same goes for the new TOP LiPo chassis as well.
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)

Last edited by Pro10noob; 12-14-2010 at 11:49 AM.
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 11:44 AM   #988
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default sakura spring sets

just a heads up that i've got two brand new sakura spring sets to part with. i figure it's not something anyone else would want so i'd give you all a heads-up here. especially, since it's not worth an order to asia for a $20 part/set.



$20+ship

hit me up. [email protected]
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 07:06 PM   #989
Tech Elite
 
The Teacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 4,840
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

seaball, have you run your car yet? I would ask for a setup but the only place I have to run right now is doing indoor offroad...
The Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 02:06 AM   #990
Tech Initiate
 
CuLeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Anyone know what is the suitable 'pinion' gear while using center 19t n 21t pulley?
CuLeX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adelaide Electric Radio Control Car Club Inc penmark67 Australian Racing 6824 07-10-2014 05:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:19 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net