R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2010, 10:19 PM   #841
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 276
Default

Personally I prefer 64p. As sometimes I run on a very dusty parking lot with my friends the 64p gear least around 1 month with 2 nights per week, I think it is reasonable. Sure 48p will last even longer but the advantage of 64p (smoother, better throttle response, more power, etc) is simply too much.
__________________
http://www.gpm-parts.com
gpm-parts.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 10:34 PM   #842
Tech Master
 
superspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,148
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

what's the street price for this touring car? also, has anyone seen it on well know online hobby stores like tower, horizon, stormer, amain, omni, etc..
superspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 02:21 AM   #843
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,980
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superspeed View Post
what's the street price for this touring car? also, has anyone seen it on well know online hobby stores like tower, horizon, stormer, amain, omni, etc..
Not sure of price, but check out rcmarket.com.hk for a broad range of parts and kits. I think i have seen Sakura stuff on rcmart also.

Not to mention www.3racing.com.hk direct. Full retail, though delivery is very fast.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 03:51 AM   #844
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

www.rcmarket.com.hk
www.rcmart.com
www.rcmushroom.com

All these stock the kits along with parts
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 05:56 AM   #845
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Has anyone tried the new optional motor mount? The one with the relocated motor mounting screws? I have just installed mine and somehow my motor is sitting higher than the stock mounting. Is this normal?
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 07:32 AM   #846
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

can use other brand name spur gear !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 08:17 AM   #847
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
can use other brand name spur gear !
If you are referring to my post: No I don't think spur gear has anything to do with it.

If you are asking Q: Yes you can use other brand spur gear. I ve been using Tamiya, Kawada and 3Racing spur gears without any problem.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 02:26 PM   #848
Tech Fanatic
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 788
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi dudes!

What a beautiful car... with a gear diff!

Could somebody give these informations about the gear diff:
- What is the distance (in mm please) between the two bearings when they are on the diff?
- What is the internal diameter of the gear diff bearings?
- How much is the space in the outdrives?
- About blades and driveshafts, what is the diameter of the kingpin?

Thank you very much...

I really hope I can use this part on my HB car...
Airwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 04:23 PM   #849
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airwave View Post
Hi dudes!

What a beautiful car... with a gear diff!

Could somebody give these informations about the gear diff:
- What is the distance (in mm please) between the two bearings when they are on the diff?
- What is the internal diameter of the gear diff bearings?
- How much is the space in the outdrives?
- About blades and driveshafts, what is the diameter of the kingpin?

Thank you very much...

I really hope I can use this part on my HB car...
Havr tried the diffs in a Cyclone, wishbones, c-hubs and knuckles fit but we could not get the diffs to fit in the cyclone, I have a Sakura and was desperate to have the Gear Doffs in the Cyclone but can't see any way to get them to fit in.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 12:01 AM   #850
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Havr tried the diffs in a Cyclone, wishbones, c-hubs and knuckles fit but we could not get the diffs to fit in the cyclone, I have a Sakura and was desperate to have the Gear Doffs in the Cyclone but can't see any way to get them to fit in.
my fren using sakura diff in his TCX...
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 03:01 AM   #851
Tech Fanatic
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 788
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Very interesting...

Considering the fact that the rear block is narrower on the TCX, that's quite possible it fits in TCX but not in TC...

So now, could you ask your friend how he installs it? Direct fit? Needed shim? Blades?

And what about the spool? what sort of 38T gear does he use?

Maybe you can tell him to contact him by PM, so I can stop the thread pollution...

Thanks in advance...
Airwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 04:43 AM   #852
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to #iZzy Send a message via MSN to #iZzy Send a message via Yahoo to #iZzy
Default

Some Issues i've found on my Sakura Zero:

- You can't drive the harder Topdeck with the new Motor Mount!
- You can't drive a One-Way with the new Motor Mount! (Because Belt-Flipping)

- 3Racing Pink Servo Horn don't works correctly with the Stock Topdeck and i'ts unusable with the harder topdeck.
__________________
Team Magic Europe - HRC-Distribution - GM-Racing - LMI - MR33 - Tonisport
#iZzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 04:57 AM   #853
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpm-parts.com View Post
Sure 48p will last even longer but the advantage of 64p (smoother, better throttle response, more power, etc) is simply too much.
64 pitch gears have nothing to do with throttle response or "more power". You can get a better gear mesh, and have finer control over FDR, at the potential expense of slightly weaker teeth. If you run indoor, run 64 pitch.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:15 AM   #854
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by #iZzy View Post
Some Issues i've found on my Sakura Zero:

- You can't drive the harder Topdeck with the new Motor Mount!
- You can't drive a One-Way with the new Motor Mount! (Because Belt-Flipping)

- 3Racing Pink Servo Horn don't works correctly with the Stock Topdeck and i'ts unusable with the harder topdeck.
Can you explain more on these? Why you can't DRIVE it? Is it affecting handling or something? I just put mine (the newer motor mount) and there are only few pro and cons I notice but non of 'em affecting handling of the car.

Pros:
Easy to mount the motor screws (no need to go through the spur gear)
Easy to adjust the gap between spur and pinion
Motor sits a bit higher (at least mine does) so it wont drag to the ground during hard right corner.

Cons: (using stock upper deck)
The top deck is a bit tricky to mount (coz of the newer upper mount protruding in the middle.
If you want to take off the upper deck you need to dismount the motor first (coz the upper deck is now sandwiched between them motor and the protruding part of the mount.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:44 AM   #855
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to #iZzy Send a message via MSN to #iZzy Send a message via Yahoo to #iZzy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
Can you explain more on these? Why you can't DRIVE it? Is it affecting handling or something? I just put mine (the newer motor mount) and there are only few pro and cons I notice but non of 'em affecting handling of the car.

Pros:
Easy to mount the motor screws (no need to go through the spur gear)
Easy to adjust the gap between spur and pinion
Motor sits a bit higher (at least mine does) so it wont drag to the ground during hard right corner.

Cons: (using stock upper deck)
The top deck is a bit tricky to mount (coz of the newer upper mount protruding in the middle.
If you want to take off the upper deck you need to dismount the motor first (coz the upper deck is now sandwiched between them motor and the protruding part of the mount.
Hi!

The Problem is that the new upper deck haven't so much "Holes" and more material, so, you can't put the new Motor Mount Part through the Topdeck (There is Carbon).

The One-Way Problem: As an result of the new Motor Mount you have to flip the Belts and then you have the Problem the One-Way runs in the wrong directory.

The Kingpin on the Alu-Horn would be screwed in the other direction as with the stock Servo-Saver or some other plastic ones. the Problem is that you hit then the Topdeck. The new Topdeck is on the Servo-Position a bit more wider then the Stock one, so you can't use it - only if you cut a lot from Topdeck!

And sorry for my bad english
__________________
Team Magic Europe - HRC-Distribution - GM-Racing - LMI - MR33 - Tonisport
#iZzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adelaide Electric Radio Control Car Club Inc penmark67 Australian Racing 6824 07-10-2014 05:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net