R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2004, 07:03 AM   #136
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

STLNLST.. For carpet racing i use a diff. For big wide open outdoor tracks i use a one-way. For tight hard tracks i usually will run a spool... I do not think the spools are harder to drive then a one-way. My opinion with the car setup the spool is much easier .....




trackdesigner71. IF associated wanted me to come then i would go. But that all depends on other races and schedule.. I have a 2 yr old i stay at home with so time my time is golden...

RAY... Awesome news.. Let me know if there is anything i can do for you....


Brandon Melton. I use the long neck one... Right now i am running my Cleveland setup . No adjustments just yet.. Remember this is the same carpet as the champs used... If i find anything out i will post it on here... Glad you liked it. Seems to be a good baseline for most people then they can adjust from there..


Mike
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED, SMC BATTERIES, REEDY MOTORS, JACO TIRES, RADIOPOST RADIOS, LRP ELECTRONICS, PROTOFORM BODIES, MAKITA POWER TOOLS, KICKER PEFORMANCE AUDIO, KOLORS BY KROPY, MUCH-, RSD
Mike Blackstock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:00 AM   #137
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,991
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Mike- Is there one of your spool set up's anywhere on the net? How much different is it from your oneway set up? Thanks again for your help.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:44 AM   #138
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Spool

I just want to share, with the indulgence of MikeB:

I use an associated spool for the TC3 and the car handles great with a LOSI 6degree C-hubs!!!! Great turn in and exit! Plus the loads of on power steering! Well this is what I experienced.

Plus the set-ups that Mike Blackstock posted, helped me to get the 1st in B-main!! (i usually finish last!)
Thanks MIKE!!!!!!!!

Peace and Happy Racing!

Lem
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 09:10 AM   #139
Tech Elite
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,979
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to trackdesigner71 Send a message via Yahoo to trackdesigner71
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Blackstock
STLNLST.. For carpet racing i use a diff. For big wide open outdoor tracks i use a one-way. For tight hard tracks i usually will run a spool... I do not think the spools are harder to drive then a one-way. My opinion with the car setup the spool is much easier .....




trackdesigner71. IF associated wanted me to come then i would go. But that all depends on other races and schedule.. I have a 2 yr old i stay at home with so time my time is golden...

RAY... Awesome news.. Let me know if there is anything i can do for you....


Brandon Melton. I use the long neck one... Right now i am running my Cleveland setup . No adjustments just yet.. Remember this is the same carpet as the champs used... If i find anything out i will post it on here... Glad you liked it. Seems to be a good baseline for most people then they can adjust from there..


Mike
Yeah, Ive seen him. he looks just like you. There is plenty of stuff for you guys to do during your off time and I will make sure that you get lots of off time so that you can be with your family. I understand in a way what its like to be away from the people that are most important to you.
trackdesigner71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 09:23 AM   #140
Registered User
 
OB42TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 417
Default

Mike,
Did you use the AE front steering hubs for your cleveland setup or Losi?
OB42TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 10:06 AM   #141
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

STLNLST.. Here is a setup we used at the onroad nat's in colorado with a spool....


http://www.rczone.net/files/associat...ker_mhor02.pdf

you might have to create a user to get it. But it is a good starting point for the spool. Barry kicked everyone's but with it. I ran 6th or 7th with it ...


trackdesigner71.. Thanks.. Hopefully the race will be a success for you....


LEM2... Congrats.. Gald i could help....


OB42TC3.. I run associated steering blocks.. I have played with losi castor blocks for the strength of graphite VS plastic....



Mike
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED, SMC BATTERIES, REEDY MOTORS, JACO TIRES, RADIOPOST RADIOS, LRP ELECTRONICS, PROTOFORM BODIES, MAKITA POWER TOOLS, KICKER PEFORMANCE AUDIO, KOLORS BY KROPY, MUCH-, RSD
Mike Blackstock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 10:11 AM   #142
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

Hey MIke,

I posted a pic on the hobbytalk thread. Can you take a peep at it sometime and tell me if you see any wiring hiccups on my part. I talked to Robert and he assured me I can run the 301 RX in high speed-3ch mode no problems at all!!!

I'll leave the 302 RX in my 12th scale car to get the highest speed response.

Thanks,
Ray
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:00 PM   #143
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Mike, you being a Novak driver of some time, what do you think is the best profile on the GT7 for Stock Foam TC? Mod Foam? I know you said in an above post not to change profiles to go to mod, but I am just wondering. Right now I have been running either profile 4 or 5 in stock and I cannot seem to tell much of a difference. Your thoughts?
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:32 PM   #144
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Brian McGreevy.... I run profile 5.. I never change it for stock or mod....


Mike
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED, SMC BATTERIES, REEDY MOTORS, JACO TIRES, RADIOPOST RADIOS, LRP ELECTRONICS, PROTOFORM BODIES, MAKITA POWER TOOLS, KICKER PEFORMANCE AUDIO, KOLORS BY KROPY, MUCH-, RSD
Mike Blackstock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:34 PM   #145
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Thanks Mike...see ya next week.
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:36 PM   #146
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,991
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Mike- Thanks again. I ran a simular set up two weeks ago but didn't like it. I'll try this set up as close as I can get it since I don't run a TC3. In general the settings should somewhat transfer over.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:47 PM   #147
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Mike, YGM...
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:53 PM   #148
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

hey mike just a couple of questions. according to the GT7 instc. profile 5 is oval

also If I am loosing the rear of the car getting into the corner does that mean that i am transfering to fast to the front.

I like the way the car turns now just need to tighten it up getting in. I am running 4 rear droop was thinking of going to 3 would this help

oh yah ever see
davepull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 09:36 PM   #149
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,586
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Here's a question for you Mike:
I'm going to run a the nats next week, and I want to get my tires ready. One friend says just cut them to race size and use new tires every round, from truer to track. the other says to break the tires in 5-6 laps after truing. This would be for stock. Any advice?
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 10:04 PM   #150
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by davepull
hey mike just a couple of questions. according to the GT7 instc. profile 5 is oval

also If I am loosing the rear of the car getting into the corner does that mean that i am transfering to fast to the front.

I like the way the car turns now just need to tighten it up getting in. I am running 4 rear droop was thinking of going to 3 would this help

oh yah ever see
Straight from Novak:

Recommended Throttle Program Summary:
Best Over-All: Throttle Program 5
Slick Tracks: Throttle Program 4
High-Traction Tracks: Throttle Program 6
Most Stock Motors: Throttle Program 6

I think adding more rear droop would transfer more weight to the front and lose rear traction. You might try 5mm rear droop.
P2
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing

Last edited by P2; 03-17-2004 at 08:37 AM.
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mike Blackstock & Team Assoicated back together again Kropy Electric On-Road 22 07-16-2008 07:18 PM
Where does Mike Blackstock GO next???? RCPIRATE Electric On-Road 104 07-15-2008 07:08 PM
CEFX signs Mike Blackstock Josh Cyrul Electric On-Road 39 05-17-2007 04:35 PM
Team br00d signs Mike Blackstock..... EddieO Electric On-Road 29 05-15-2007 09:24 AM
Congrats to Mike Blackstock on his move back to BIG T Tres Electric On-Road 0 10-26-2005 11:16 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:16 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net