R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2004, 08:55 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Formula1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye City!
Posts: 691
Default GM Speed control HELP!

I have a SX9 speed control in my 1/12th scale. Every three minutes or so the car cuts off. You can still turn the wheels, but no power to the motor. After thirty seconds it will work fine for a few more minutes and do the same thing. Has anyone had trouble like this?
Formula1fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 11:23 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
lowline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: tulsa
Posts: 135
Default tc3

I have a gm speedo great speed control i have'nt had that problem with it but did with a cyclone it had a bad mosfet could be the same not sure may need to send in.
lowline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 11:45 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
slowhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Home
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to slowhand
Default GM ESC

Formula1Fan: It is a common problem found in the GM SX series, due to the heat protection system circuitry. I'd like to suggest you check your motor, gear ratio etc.
The Yokomo spec of SX9 or SX12 do not have this problem and can run 'hotter' (that's why Yokomo call it 23T spec i.e. can be run with high gearing ratio commonly used in 23T racing. But it doesn't mean that the ESC can run only up to 23T)
Hope this helps ...
slowhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2004, 12:34 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Gutter Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 130
Default

8 of us had SX-9's that did the same thing. Just randomly quit running for no apparent reason. If you went over a corner dot, it would stop instantly. One guy sent it back to Horizon and they sent him an SX12. The repair person actually called that guy and told him to tell us to send ours back in too because we all probably got a bad batch. Overly sensitive thermal protection. So I sent 3 of mine (yep, 3. 2 in Carpet Knives and one in my Mini-T) back to Horizon explaining the problem and 2 weeks later I have 3 new SX12's. Email Horizon's service and they'll take care of you.
Gutter Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2004, 04:01 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

I never had huge heat problems with my SX9, but it did sometimes get a bit upset when the supply voltage got a bit low. It is a heat problem though as i had the problem in my touring car.

I now have an SX12 and it has been spot on in all cars that it has run in.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2004, 04:18 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
dragon26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 566
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default SX9 instructions in english

If anyone has sx9 instructions in english could they post them here. The translation from the manual is well pretty much useless.
thanks.
dragon26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2004, 07:24 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Chrisgt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 584
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Chrisgt2 Send a message via Yahoo to Chrisgt2
Default

SX12 is definately awesome.......got mine as a result of a bad sx9 too
Chrisgt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2004, 07:55 AM   #8
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

From what I have heard there were some little problems with the software of the SX9 from the first batch. Later versions seems to be OK and SX12 doesn´t have any problems.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2004, 09:19 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Formula1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye City!
Posts: 691
Default

I am going to send it back today. Thank you all for the help!
Formula1fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 04:46 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: san leandro ca.
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So who repair these esc. I send my v12 xc to horizon hobbies and they just sent it back to me. does any know who can repair them
ptjonesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 08:57 AM   #11
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Did they say why they send back the V12XC? Horizon is the GM-Racing distributor for the USA so they should care for repair.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 11:38 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
speedxl's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland Oregon.
Posts: 3,881
Default

pt they are the repair guys you must have killed the esc because they are pretty good about fixing it.
i had the cutting out condition on my sx9 and they were kind enough to replace it with the sx12 its odd they would send it back to you with out be repaired or or atleast offering an upgrade!
__________________
Pemberton / R1 / All out motorsports / Team Power Push
speedxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 02:25 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
war11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 880
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default GMV12 ISSUES

HAS anyone had issues with thier GMV12 with ,surging power current
mine seems to run well at times and not so well other times
i true my comm every meet and install new brushes so it cant be any thing to do with the motors ( i run monster pro and P2K2 pro from Paradigm) , is thier a fix ?? other then purchasing another one ?
cheer s
war11x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 02:30 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Re: GMV12 ISSUES

Quote:
Originally posted by war11x
HAS anyone had issues with thier GMV12 with ,surging power current
mine seems to run well at times and not so well other times
i true my comm every meet and install new brushes so it cant be any thing to do with the motors ( i run monster pro and P2K2 pro from Paradigm) , is thier a fix ?? other then purchasing another one ?
cheer s
DO you have the power capacity installed?
Is it loose?
On the right terminals?

Mine got loose and the ESC shutdown until I re-soldered it back on...

And NO DIODE!!!!!!!! Very bad things will happen if one is installed.
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 02:35 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
war11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 880
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: GMV12 ISSUES

Quote:
Originally posted by Nova F1 Racer
DO you have the power capacity installed?
Is it loose?
On the right terminals?

Mine got loose and the ESC shutdown until I re-soldered it back on...

And NO DIODE!!!!!!!! Very bad things will happen if one is installed.
DO you have the power capacity installed? NEW ONE INSTALLED
Is it loose? NO
On the right terminals? YES
and a new diode fitted 2 weeks ago
i had replaced these item in the past and the issue is still thier
the Speedy looks like new still and has not been subjected to any real big hits
Warwick
war11x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speed passion speed control, any good? newbie2 Electric Off-Road 11 08-31-2008 09:02 PM
speed passions granturismo speed control chad423 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 08-24-2008 10:03 PM
speed passion granturismo speed control chad423 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 07-11-2008 02:37 PM
speed passions granturismo speed control chad423 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 05-20-2008 09:23 PM
speed passion GT speed control $140.00 shipped.. rc_tradingpost R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-12-2008 08:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net