TRF415 setup

Old 12-09-2009, 05:14 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default TRF415 setup

Hey

I am new to racing and have got myself a trf415msx. With this i will be race 540 silver can to start off with. What is a good setup for my car. The track is mainly chicanes with 2 straights about 6 - 10 meters and a few sweeping corners.

Cheers

Robert
rwmjd007 is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 06:09 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rwmjd007 View Post
Hey

I am new to racing and have got myself a trf415msx. With this i will be race 540 silver can to start off with. What is a good setup for my car. The track is mainly chicanes with 2 straights about 6 - 10 meters and a few sweeping corners.

Cheers

Robert
This is a really good site for 415 info
http://www.thard.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=11
http://www.thard.co.uk/415/setups/
http://www.thard.co.uk/415/tips/
TwoTone is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 08:42 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

i assume its asphalt right? im running msx right now and its doing pretty good. 170ft straight away with lots of high speed corners. i will post later after practice my setup if it will do good...
pinggoy is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 04:02 PM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for your response. I have a few questions about the on http://www.thard.co.uk/415/setups/. With there setups on asphalt why is it they run a spool instead of a one way. Do you get better breaking or traction with the spool?

Also with some of the setup sheets i am a bit confused, cause i looked at a couple Marc Rheinard did and for the diff it says direct. I am assuming that this means spool diff, am i correct?

I have found a photo of the track i will be running at if it helps.

regards

robert
Attached Thumbnails TRF415 setup-dsc00212uq8.jpg  
rwmjd007 is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:25 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rwmjd007 View Post
Thanks for your response. I have a few questions about the on http://www.thard.co.uk/415/setups/. With there setups on asphalt why is it they run a spool instead of a one way. Do you get better breaking or traction with the spool?

Also with some of the setup sheets i am a bit confused, cause i looked at a couple Marc Rheinard did and for the diff it says direct. I am assuming that this means spool diff, am i correct?

I have found a photo of the track i will be running at if it helps.

regards

robert
Normally Spool outdoor asphalt and one way indoor carpet
TwoTone is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:41 PM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

could you use a 1 way outdoors or is it better to run the spool.
rwmjd007 is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:43 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
mild seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,063
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

for 540 silvercan a oneway would be fine.
mild seven is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:44 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Default

Originally Posted by rwmjd007 View Post
Thanks for your response. I have a few questions about the on http://www.thard.co.uk/415/setups/. With there setups on asphalt why is it they run a spool instead of a one way. Do you get better breaking or traction with the spool?

Also with some of the setup sheets i am a bit confused, cause i looked at a couple Marc Rheinard did and for the diff it says direct. I am assuming that this means spool diff, am i correct?

I have found a photo of the track i will be running at if it helps.

regards

robert
for me personally, with front oneway you will get higher cornering speed. IMHO it will really help if you run 540 silvercan. spool are easier to drive especially with the modified brushless motors. however oneway requires a smoother acceleration.

yes you're right, direct = spool

if i were you, with 540 silvercan and if the track has fairly good grip. i'd opt for front oneway.

but that's just my personal preference
dodo is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 10:35 PM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i will try both and pick the one i like better. I also look forward to seeing your setup pinggoy.
rwmjd007 is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 10:50 PM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Also will i need a high speed steering servo?
rwmjd007 is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 02:31 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Default

Originally Posted by rwmjd007 View Post
Also will i need a high speed steering servo?
if you're not on a tight budget, getting it will be a good investment IMHO
dodo is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 02:35 AM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ok cool i have a spare one from my drift car. sorry have not been totally honest. i have been drifting for 5 months and now have a second car that i am going to go racing with. so thought i would start with 540 and can always move up from there.
rwmjd007 is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 02:39 AM
  #13  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

On a big track, ive used a centre one way with 2 diff's with a 27t motor and I really liked it

It is a bit more subtle than the front one way too, so you have a little more braking. not by much but it can help sometimes.

Just another thing to consider trying....
tc3team is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 03:37 AM
  #14  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i will have to try that as well. it sounds like i will have to spend a few days at the track testing different diffs. Also with this http://www.thard.co.uk/415/setups/CLewis415Reedy06.jpg setup sheet it says that the front axle is 4 degs what does this mean?
rwmjd007 is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 05:59 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
On a big track, ive used a centre one way with 2 diff's with a 27t motor and I really liked it

It is a bit more subtle than the front one way too, so you have a little more braking. not by much but it can help sometimes.

Just another thing to consider trying....
Not to hijack the thread, but how do you think that set up would work for VTA indoor carpet? I've been tempted to try it out.

My driving style just doesn't seem to work with one ways.
TwoTone is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.