Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Getting rid of the Millenium, what charger now? >

Getting rid of the Millenium, what charger now?

Getting rid of the Millenium, what charger now?

Old 03-04-2004, 09:17 PM
  #16  
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

Originally posted by TFR
Pitbull X3...
Fire is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 10:03 PM
  #17  
Tech Regular
 
DT-Skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 24 Hour Fitness
Posts: 499
Default

Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
Does it have backlite screen?
How about tryin the Integy Indi 16x7v6? It's has a backlight, cna dicharge at 30 amps, charges from .1a to 6.5a and it' as/dc with a fan. Also, one of the other feature is Cycling and Reconditioning for batteries
DT-Skyline is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 11:01 PM
  #18  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Default

Hmm, theres one on ebay thats only 169.99, but they only take M/O. I have all my money in Paypal so that sucks.
DOMOisCOOL is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 11:12 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
Thnx for the reply. My buddy has a Pulsar and it is nice. Is the run in feature really useful?

Reason why one of my choices was the Quasar Pro was because I don't have to haul a power supply around.
Run in feature: 3-4 older cells will do the job. Even if you have to buy 3 cells separately, it's cheaper than to get an external power supply. In case you dont have one already....
Cole Trickle is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 11:17 PM
  #20  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Default

Well, im selling my power supply since im planning to get an AC/DC charger now.

I have a sport pack. Its been used a lot, but still works. Can i tear it down and use it for motor run in?
DOMOisCOOL is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 12:31 PM
  #21  
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Default

Have you checked out the Pro Trak? Exactly how far up did you want to step?

I am very biased about this charger (I provide Tech Support and sales in the US).

I have been running a Pro trak for about 8 years now, it tells you everything and more than you will ever need. Recently I have been Running graphs of my 4 cellpacks. Pack AND cell data. The unit can export data to a pc from there you can import to Excell. Once it's there you can do anything with it you want.

Please Check out the Pro trak website: -

www.protrak.co.uk

If you would like more info please e-mail me at

[email protected]

Thanks
crimson eagle is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 12:52 PM
  #22  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
Well, im selling my power supply since im planning to get an AC/DC charger now.

I have a sport pack. Its been used a lot, but still works. Can i tear it down and use it for motor run in?
Keep the power supply and buy a charger that is dc only. You can use the power supply for other things as well.
JusBox is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 12:54 PM
  #23  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Futaba CDR-5000
Hebiki is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 03:55 PM
  #24  
Tech Fanatic
 
rccarracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 926
Default

Originally posted by Hebiki
Futaba CDR-5000
This is what I'd be looking at if I need a new charger.....
rccarracer is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 05:06 PM
  #25  
Ike
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
Ike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,228
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by DT-Skyline
How about tryin the Integy Indi 16x7v6? It's has a backlight, cna dicharge at 30 amps, charges from .1a to 6.5a and it' as/dc with a fan. Also, one of the other feature is Cycling and Reconditioning for batteries
Haha, I guess it does. Goes to show how much I pay attention to little things like that. Just turned mine on and I'll be damned, it is backlit
Ike is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 05:59 AM
  #26  
Tech Adept
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 237
Default

Here's the Pit Bull info, I have 2 of the older units and love them:

http://www.competitionelectronics.com/pitbull%20x3.htm


I'm tempted to sell my GFX and get a Pro Trak, I've been watching this charger for years and understand they soon will have US support.

The GFX is a nice unit but, the 35's need to be up dated. Open it up and it's half empty, they should redesign it and make them smaller. While there at it print a usable instruction sheet and throw in a floppy disc so you can easily download discharge info on to an excel graph to compare your batteries. How about upgrading the quality of that knob while they're at it.

I think the Futaba and Pro trak units are going to "raise the bar"
lastplace is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 07:59 AM
  #27  
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Default

Hi Lastplace,

I'm going to be providing the tech support sales or anything else you need for protraks in the US. I've known Phil Haines (Mr Protrak) for probably 10 years or so and used his charger for about 8 years now.

In about a month the new model will be available, 30A discharge, new case and some program modifications.

For me the best recent thing is the uploading of data to a pc which can then be imported to excell, once it's in there, there is any amount of info you can get from it. I'm working on getting all of my packs data on one graph and graphs for all of my packs with individual cell data.

Anything you need to know, send me a message.

[email protected]

You can also check out the Pro Trak Website.

protrak.co.uk
crimson eagle is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 08:03 AM
  #28  
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default

Im using a eagle 16X9V6 and a new frontline charger from straight ltd.
Ko Racer is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 01:45 PM
  #29  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by crimson eagle
Have you checked out the Pro Trak? Exactly how far up did you want to step?

I am very biased about this charger (I provide Tech Support and sales in the US).

Please Check out the Pro trak website: -
www.protrak.co.uk

Thanks
http://www.pro-trak.co.uk/ is the url for the company you do sales and tech support for... New on the job?
MManson is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 08:16 PM
  #30  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Default

Alright guys thanks for your help, but I just bought a new charger from Ebay:

LRP Pulsar Sport NIB. I got it for 79.99 w/ free shipping. Hes selling a bunch of these. It should be coming tomorrow.

What do you guys think of this charger? I talked to Les(TexRacer) and he said it is a great lil charger.

I'll probably use this charger till the end of the season
DOMOisCOOL is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.