Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin Redline motors >

Tekin Redline motors

Tekin Redline motors

Old 12-06-2009, 10:56 AM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
4wheeldrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodstick Ga.
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default Tekin Redline motors

I got a 17.5 Redline motor in a trade and I find that there is a bit of play when pulling on the rotor. I would say about 1-2 millimeter which seems excessive. Do these motors have that much play in them? Are there shims that are supposed to be in the motor and where should they be?

Last edited by 4wheeldrive; 12-06-2009 at 01:41 PM.
4wheeldrive is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 01:42 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (64)
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

The play is normal. Over shimming can cause binding and hurt performance and possibly cause damage. I own 4 Tekin Redline motors and they all have the same amount if play, and they all run great.
SpraydbySprague is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 02:14 PM
  #3  
Registered User
iTrader: (20)
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

they are easy enuff to teardown and shim to correct play if excess (either way tight or loose) is detected.

R
UltegraSTI is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 03:57 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

I have a Tekin 13.5 that I too thought had excessive play. A local Tekin sponsored driver put my mind at ease that it is perfectly normal for these motors to have a seemingly large amount of play.
biz77 is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 04:14 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,518
Default

Have 10.5 & 2.5 redlines Sensored. Seems the 2.5 motor has exccessive play then the 10.5 motor. Also brand new in the box.

Also have have 2.5 Sensorless redline motor W R1Pro and it has noplay at all.

Don't know what the spec are. But, Sensored & sensorless run good for my standing and driving style.
Geezatec is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:20 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 411
Default

Both my 10.5 and 13.5 have just over 1mm play. I too was concerned, but was told it was normal.
Chris-s is offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 05:49 PM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Buford, Ga
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have a 13.5T Tekin Redline and was wondering what the timing is from factory... I see the hash marls on the end of the can and it is 0 degree, hash, hash, 12 degree, hash and hash...

There is a indentation on the blacke end bell cover and it seems/appers to be lined up with the 1st has mark to the left of the 12 degree mark. Is this 16 degrees of timing???

I'm asking becuase I am setting up my Tekin ESC with my hotwire and was told that you do not want to exceed the combined timing boost and actial timing on the motor past 30 degree's.

Any help and guidence would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!
Marv
Ultramarv is offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 05:51 PM
  #8  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Buford, Ga
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have a 13.5T Tekin Redline and was wondering what the timing is from factory... I see the hash marks on the end of the can and it is 0 degree, hash, hash, 12 degree, hash and hash...

There is a indentation on the blackend bell cover and it seems/appers to be lined up with the 1st hash mark to the left of the 12 degree mark. Is this 16 degrees of timing???

I'm asking because I am setting up my Tekin ESC with my hotwire and was told that you do not want to exceed the combined timing boost and actual timing on the motor past 30 degree's.

Any help and guidence would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!
Marv
Ultramarv is offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 05:53 PM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Buford, Ga
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Oops... sorry for the double post!!!
Ultramarv is offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 08:13 PM
  #10  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Marv,

Yes that "tick" is the indicator. They come out of the box set at 12 degrees.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 08:00 AM
  #11  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Buford, Ga
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info Randy!!!
Ultramarv is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 09:48 AM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California USA
Posts: 79
Default tekin ceramic bearing

We just released a 4x13x5mm ceramic ball bearing for the Tekin Redline Brushless motors. They have been engineered to produce low noise, low heat and high RPMs.
acerracing is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 03:57 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,902
Default

The Tekin's do seem to come with quite alot of play in the rotor, they also sound like a bag of bolts when they are running but they go well.

I have had a problem where one of the three screws that hold the end bell of the motor can (the end with the pinion) has stripped, I didn't apply much pressure when doing it up but it still went.

It just about seems OK with two of the three screws holding it all together.

Skiddins
Skiddins is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 04:31 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
4wheeldrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodstick Ga.
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Well thanx for the responses, the reason I posted the question was because when I installed the motor in my Xray 2007 the pinion set screw sits just about half off the edge of the rotor. Since I noticed the amount of play I realized that the amount of play is what I would need to have the set screw sit flush on the rotor shaft when pulled out. If the play is normal then this may not be the motor for this car. I have a novak 13.5 that has no play at all an it does have washers that are part of the assembly. I did get my Redline used so I'm not sure if there are supposed to be washers from the factory in the motor.
4wheeldrive is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 05:49 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,902
Default

Originally Posted by 4wheeldrive View Post
Well thanx for the responses, the reason I posted the question was because when I installed the motor in my Xray 2007 the pinion set screw sits just about half off the edge of the rotor. Since I noticed the amount of play I realized that the amount of play is what I would need to have the set screw sit flush on the rotor shaft when pulled out. If the play is normal then this may not be the motor for this car. I have a novak 13.5 that has no play at all an it does have washers that are part of the assembly. I did get my Redline used so I'm not sure if there are supposed to be washers from the factory in the motor.
If anything I would shim it 'inwards' so the rotor is as close as possible to the sensors (obviously without touching them etc ), this way you will guarrantee not getting into any sensor related issues whereby they struggle to detect the exact position of the rotor.

Skiddins
Skiddins is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.