R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   begginer ;D (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/349405-begginer-%3Bd.html)

kenstarhz 12-06-2009 12:47 AM

begginer ;D

hey im new to rc cars. im wondering should i go for nitro, gas or electric. Im not familiar with all the engine/motor names and types so if anyone would like to help that'd be much appreciated. :)

RyeRey521 12-06-2009 01:09 AM

Well what I believe most people would say is ask you what you are looking to do with the hobby....

Are you looking to race at the track, mess around with your buddies, or just go out in your backyard everyso often and play with it :sneaky:.... lol

If your going to race at an rc track... I would say go electric. It seems like all tracks whether they be onroad, offroad, or oval on or off all have an electric class.... It seems like electric cars are perfectly set up the the length of typical heats plus I think they are easier to set up (In the basic sense of the phrase) then nitro.... But then again some tracks are mostly geared towards nitro.. 1/8th dirt and onroad tracks usually have an electric class but untill electric catches up totally with the bigger scale they mostly do gas... if you will be racing just ask the guys at the track... for all you know... a bunch of new guys may have started up a class that the faster guys aren't into but would be good for you since other new guys would be in it ya know... Thats what I did with 1/12th scale I went into that over VTA first because of the caliber of guys in the class....

If your going to mess around with a group of friends then its cool to have what everyone else is using just for the fact one person won't have to be doing something diffrent and slowing the whole group up.......