Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Novak GT7 Question >

Novak GT7 Question

Novak GT7 Question

Old 03-02-2004, 05:46 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 309
Default Novak GT7 Question

I am installing a Novak GT7 into my Yok SD and the GT7 has on the power wire a distribution connection of some sort (see pics). I want to get rid of this to make my solder and wire routing in the car a little easier. First off...is this just a power distributor, or does it serve some other function I am unaware of? I want to get rid of it and then solder the wires the way I usually do. Any suggestions or help?
Attached Thumbnails Novak GT7 Question-pics-005.jpg  
nitro_tacklebox is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 05:49 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 309
Default

Another Pic with shrink wrap off.
Attached Thumbnails Novak GT7 Question-pics-008.jpg  
nitro_tacklebox is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 05:53 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
ScottyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,221
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

nitro_

That's not a connector, it's a high frequency diode. Novak have wired it into the harness for convenience. Unfortunately it does not suit all wiring layouts.

You can get rid of it by replacing it with the seperate diode that Novak sells. It's exactly the same thing, but you just solder it directly to the motor. This will allow you to wire your SD as you suggest.

I am having the same trouble with my TC3 at the moment and will likely delete the inline diode in favour of the seperate one soldered directly to the motor.

If anyone has any pics of a cleanly layed out TC3 with the inline diode on a GT7 I'd appreciate seeing it!

Cheers,
Scotty P
ScottyP is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 06:16 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maquoketa, IA
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Don't know about the inline diode layout but in my TC3 I used the standard schottky but I soldered to the underside of the wire lugs on the GT7 itself. Made it a compact setup that doesn't have to be moved from motor to motor.
slots is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 06:26 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This is from rczombie's site:
It's how i have my gt7 as well.

http://groups.msn.com/RCZOMBIES/nova...to&PhotoID=257
JusBox is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 08:49 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 309
Default

Whats the part number on that diode that can be soldered directly to the motor?

This is all good info thanks guys!
nitro_tacklebox is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 09:08 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
ScottyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,221
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Part number is 5639 and it's called the 'Shottky Diode Motor Module'.

ScottyP is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 09:09 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

you can take off the heat shrink on the diode you have
look at the bottom side of the diode and you will know how to attatch it directly to the motor
Attached Thumbnails Novak GT7 Question-dsc02539.jpg  
Fire is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 09:09 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

side view
Attached Thumbnails Novak GT7 Question-dsc02541.jpg  
Fire is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 09:25 PM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Da4head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 620
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Fire
you can take off the heat shrink on the diode you have
look at the bottom side of the diode and you will know how to attatch it directly to the motor


Neat little fan aimed at your motor. Where can a guy buy one of these.
Da4head is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 10:49 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

i bought the fan at a LHS

those fans for notebooks should work too
Fire is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 07:44 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

you can get the fans here.

http://www.hobbyshopper.com/page4.html
davepull is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 10:11 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

taking the inline wont hurt us stock motor racer right?? just wanna know cause i really wnna take it out its just bulky...what you think??
pinggoy is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 10:19 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

hmmm a diode right under the solder tabs, I never considered this, now I have seen it I must do it, it will make the motors so much easier to transfer between cars now
ford_racing is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 01:19 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

i just run stock though....would it be alright?
pinggoy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.