R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2004, 05:37 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default KO Helios and personal transponder problem?

I have recently purchased a KO helios and I have been having problems missing laps in my sedan. I relocated the transponder and reciever and even tried two different transponders and it still will on occasion miss laps.

I had a airtronics m8 before and I never had this problem.

Has anyone experienced similar problem and does any one have any suggestions.

I have also emailed KO on this issue.

Jamie
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 07:01 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

hmm, I've been using the helios since it came out in the states and haven't had a problem with my personal transponder.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 07:32 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Actually i had some problems at a race with the transponder missing laps totally. I moved the transponder to the front of the car and the problem where gone (i had the transp on the servo before that)
When i got home i checked up the tranponder for any loose cables or things. I then noticed that the minusconector in the reciever where loose. by soldering it the transponder now has been working flawless even on the servo!
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 07:33 AM   #4
Regional Moderator
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default

Im with MATT on that I have been using mine from day one and no problems
Ko Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 08:10 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The only problems with mine have been when I plug the transponder in backwards when transfering it from car to car. It glitches like crazy when that happens.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 05:34 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Personal transponder ?

I will check the wires in the connector and I will try relocating it to the front of the car.

Is any on using helios on 27mhz or 75mhz.

Jamie
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 07:01 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I'm on 27mhz
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 07:05 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

I'm on 75 and haven't had any problems. I've seen problems if the tansponder is next to the receiver or if the receiver is on it's side.
Unregistered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 07:43 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I'm on 27, and in 3 of my cars my transponder is mounted on top of my servo, right next to my receiver without any glitching problem....
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 12:24 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

I'm currently in 27, bought a 27 module instead of the std 40 necause it's a pain when everyone else is on the sam freq in 40.. I'm nearly all alone with my 27.125!
The transponder works fine for the moment
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 01:38 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default thanks

I had the recv on its side...I will try mounting it flat and relocating the transponder.

I update you on thur when I go to track.

Thanks,
Jamie
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 01:58 PM   #12
Moderator
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,008
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Did you also switch to a KO servo at the same time?
MarkA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 10:13 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
raffaelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 2,924
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

is the transponder next to the receiver? i have heard of problems with the KO receives being right next to a transponder and missing laps and some glitching.
__________________
24ITA
raffaelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 06:39 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default thanks.

The transponder is next to the recv it is on a losi xxxs so not a lot of mounting choices...I will try moving the transponder away from recv.
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amb transponder, KO helios, 357 fern Tx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 47 05-08-2007 01:49 PM
Helios Problem Glowster21 Electric On-Road 19 07-26-2006 04:51 PM
Ko Helios, personal transponder, chargers, more! aaronb73 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 36 10-16-2005 11:35 AM
Braking Problem (Twister2 and Helios) acutts Electric On-Road 10 05-31-2005 11:56 AM
ko helios problem sedanaddict Nitro On-Road 6 04-11-2005 06:39 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net