R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2004, 12:01 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wild Cherry

I have seen many a racer check & test their stock motor`s by direct power from a battery pack ,spining the motor up to max rpm`s.....
I've got a Robitronic Dyno and the "pack test" actually finds good motors almost as well as the dyno does (go figure).

Quote:
Stock motor`s do not have glue binding the com wire`s like mod motor`s. Thus ,they are real easy to unwrap at high rpm & toss a com wire.
At the least, EPIC's have varnish or thin epoxy on the windings to keep people from re-winding with less turns.

The Motors I've seen with thrown windings that had not been obviously overgeared, have been from foreign objects entering via the cooling vents.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 04:53 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

I heard the Epic binary was legal for stock, but the person I heard that from might have got the info wrong for stock. Anyone else shed light on this?
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 04:57 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

might be legal at his local Track. At Our local races We sometime Don't really care and check motors or anything. Just have fun. Only rules run stock motor.
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 05:02 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,627
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kave
Default

modified bianarys!!! please do tell, i would love to show up at our next big race adn be the only one to have one
Kave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 04:23 AM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
rccarracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mb racer
well ive been lucky so far and have burnt so many motors ,, some look foward to me putting on a show.. hehe I melted a monster once and won the A main with it whille it was on fire ,, melted the motor and even the label shurnk while we watched ..
Well that either says something about your driving or the motor.....
You decide.
rccarracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 10:00 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rccarracer
Well that either says something about your driving or the motor.....
You decide.
He's just talking about THIS season. In the past........well we all lost count!!
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 11:10 AM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,054
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rccarracer
Well that either says something about your driving or the motor.....
You decide.
THANKS GUY"S !!
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 11:25 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Epic Binary stocks are NOT legal for Roar races, but some local tracks are allowing them for club races and even non-roar big races. The motor will NOT be legal any time in 2004. The Epic Binary mods are legal for roar racing though....

You might consider calling trinity and see if they will replace the arm....ya never know.

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 04:43 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

I would send the motor in if I felt it was random or built wrong, but I overgeared it on accident by doing my math wrong and not really checking on where I should really start. The car kit's included pinion was way to big. I though kits would at least be close to where you need to be. I should send the motor to the car kit manufacturer (Yokomo CGM). Anyway the kit comes with a 30t pinion. I just went by trust (actually more like last hour of assembly at midnight, day before race). God, how many new RC drivers are going to do this with this kit? I have a decent amount of experience and I made a blind mistake and it cost me a motor.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor wire extension? beez Radio and Electronics 3 03-25-2008 10:56 AM
19-turn Motor...12 or 14 Gauge Wire? AWK Electric On-Road 6 05-13-2007 02:19 PM
Blackened connection between motor and esc on black wire gamb!or Electric Off-Road 4 04-21-2007 04:01 AM
Percentage of cells thrown away by matchers?? nam_tc3 Electric On-Road 3 10-14-2004 10:59 PM
Extra Wire from Battery pack to Motor? atlrcracer Electric On-Road 19 06-05-2004 09:28 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:14 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net