Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
what makes ur com shape into a cone shape >

what makes ur com shape into a cone shape

what makes ur com shape into a cone shape

Old 02-27-2004, 10:28 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default what makes ur com shape into a cone shape

just a little question what make ur com shape into a cone at the end whn u cut it what im doing wrong do i need a new lathe bit plse help
tc3 racer sc is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 10:37 PM
  #2  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Make sure your lathe is aligned correctly and the bit cuts straight with the comm.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 10:44 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default what makes ur com shape into a cone shape

tc3 racer sc;

Make sure your Bit is sharp and has been set-up properly from the centerline of the lathe.
Either one will cause poor cuts if wrong.

Also if the drive O-ring is worn out, it will not hold the arm down tight against the blocks. This coupled with a worn Bit will cause the armature to be pushed off the blocks when cutting and a tapered (and bad) cut will be the result.
popsracer is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 11:39 AM
  #4  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Check your`s lathes bridge ways & see if they are in alinement (staight) ( two screws with lock nuts )

If one is tighter or looser , the lathe will cut a cone shaped com.

Last edited by Wild Cherry; 02-28-2004 at 10:01 PM.
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 12:20 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,322
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Make sure the armature is shimmed correctly when you put it on lathe, also.
kewdawg is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 07:33 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default thxs for the help on the lathe problem

Originally posted by kewdawg
Make sure the armature is shimmed correctly when you put it on lathe, also.
thxs for the help guys i will look at it agin i think i need a new bit it been 4yrs on the lathe i get some one to help me out thxs
tc3 racer sc is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.