Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
tc4 top speed car no droop? >

tc4 top speed car no droop?

tc4 top speed car no droop?

Old 11-18-2009, 02:49 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (24)
 
phildoggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default tc4 top speed car no droop?

I have a tc4 set-up for running straight line speed only. Can I run without the droop screws or are they necessary? It seems they change and makes handleing over 50mph rough sometimes.
phil
phildoggg is offline  
Old 11-19-2009, 04:40 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (24)
 
phildoggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

anyone?
phildoggg is offline  
Old 11-19-2009, 04:59 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Originally Posted by phildoggg View Post
I have a tc4 set-up for running straight line speed only. Can I run without the droop screws or are they necessary? It seems they change and makes handleing over 50mph rough sometimes.
phil
I have never done speed runs personally, but droop should make no difference to the handling in a straight line if not accelerating or braking hard.

If it effects the handling then one side is lower than the other, but if you just want to go fast in a straight line then I dont see why you cant run without them.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline  
Old 11-19-2009, 09:30 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (81)
 
05forfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Since you only run for straight line, I think only front droop matters (assume no brake before finish line). It is tricky to play around droop, its somehow about weight transition. I think trying to maintain all wheels on the ground is the key as TC4 is 4WD, playing around weight distribution may help also. Good luck
05forfun is offline  
Old 11-19-2009, 10:05 AM
  #5  
Company Representative
iTrader: (6)
 
SweepRacingUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: www.SweepRacingUSA.com
Posts: 1,855
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

yeah get rid of those screws if you don't know how to set it correct or what is that screws going to do for your needs.

if you do get rid of them just make sure your shocks length is same left and right.

without those screws you will have more traction overall anyway which is good for what you doing
SweepRacingUSA is offline  
Old 11-19-2009, 02:29 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (81)
 
05forfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Make sure the springs fully work with down drop if you are going to use droop. In you case, I think you only need to worry about front droop, for the rear, you can try different spring rates and add some anti-squat to reduce front lift.
05forfun is offline  
Old 11-19-2009, 02:54 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (24)
 
phildoggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I might try it sometime without them.. right now they are set to 6 fr. and 4 rear. everything is good now. just wondering if they were needed.
phil
phildoggg is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.