R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-15-2009, 06:21 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
lowcel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default Tamiya shocks for a T2.

I am wanting to try out some Tamiya shocks on my T2 but I don't know what all I will need. Does anyone have the Tamiya part numbers and any other parts that I would need to make the switch?
__________________
Team Whopperjawed Racing
This hobby is going to $5 me to death.
lowcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 06:28 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
The Hawaiian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: by a lake, FL
Posts: 1,810
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

I have Tamiya shocks on my T2...if you get the shocks new everything you would need is there and I just used the Xray bottom shock mounts.
__________________
Justin "haole boy" Perry USCG (CGC Firebush)
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility, da BEST clay off-road track in Florida.
!!Treat me the way you want to be Treated!!Race me the way you want to be Raced!!
The Hawaiian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 06:45 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
lowcel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hawaiian View Post
I have Tamiya shocks on my T2...if you get the shocks new everything you would need is there and I just used the Xray bottom shock mounts.
Thanks. Are you pretty happy with the change to Tamiya? Also what is the Tamiya part number for the shock set? I want to make sure that I get the right ones.
__________________
Team Whopperjawed Racing
This hobby is going to $5 me to death.
lowcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 07:47 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

whats wrong with the t2 shocks
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 07:55 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
lowcel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
whats wrong with the t2 shocks
I'm having a lot of problems with them. I'm having problems getting droop out of one of them when I put them on any of the inner three upper holes. I have to rebuild them every race. This evening I finally got the car setup right, or at least I thought I did. Then the next thing I knew the spring came off the rear shock because I had the length as long as possible to get the droop. Basicly, I'm just not having any luck with them. It seems like I have one problem after another.

So, I'm either going to get a new set of XRay shocks or a new set of Tamiya shocks. I'm going to start fresh either way. My other option is to just get a new car.

My other T2 is running great and I am having no problems with the shocks on it.
__________________
Team Whopperjawed Racing
This hobby is going to $5 me to death.
lowcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 07:59 PM   #6
-J-
Tech Regular
 
-J-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowcel View Post
I'm having a lot of problems with them. I'm having problems getting droop out of one of them when I put them on any of the inner three upper holes. I have to rebuild them every race. This evening I finally got the car setup right, or at least I thought I did. Then the next thing I knew the spring came off the rear shock because I had the length as long as possible to get the droop. Basicly, I'm just not having any luck with them. It seems like I have one problem after another.

So, I'm either going to get a new set of XRay shocks or a new set of Tamiya shocks. I'm going to start fresh either way. My other option is to just get a new car.
Xray shocks shouldn't do that. I'm not saying you're doing anything wrong, but something is wrong. Tamiya shocks are also good shocks, but not any better than the Xray IMO. Personally I'd just get another set of Xrays or a new chassis.
__________________
TLR - Viper R/C - PowerPush - Spektrum - eXpress Motorsports - B-Fast R/C
-J- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 07:59 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
RandomFellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowcel View Post
Thanks. Are you pretty happy with the change to Tamiya? Also what is the Tamiya part number for the shock set? I want to make sure that I get the right ones.
There are a few different sets. Everything is included. Here is a list:

84008
http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=84008

53571
http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=53571

49355
http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=49355

42102
http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=42102

The 84008s are all black, so they would match your ride the best. Might have to do some looking to find a set. Otherwise, the 42102s are the tops right now.
RandomFellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 08:05 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
The Hawaiian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: by a lake, FL
Posts: 1,810
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

I agree the Xray shocks are good, I have them on my FK05...and if you build them right there smooth...Tamiya shocks are just a little smoother imo and have metal body's and I got mine for a great price from a friend...I am running Xray springs thought
__________________
Justin "haole boy" Perry USCG (CGC Firebush)
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility, da BEST clay off-road track in Florida.
!!Treat me the way you want to be Treated!!Race me the way you want to be Raced!!
The Hawaiian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 08:10 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
RandomFellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -J- View Post
Xray shocks shouldn't do that. I'm not saying you're doing anything wrong, but something is wrong. Tamiya shocks are also good shocks, but not any better than the Xray IMO. Personally I'd just get another set of Xrays or a new chassis.
Tamiya shocks are significantly better IMHO. Maybe that's why so many factory drivers from other manufacturers are running Tamiya shocks. And hey, there's no rule requiring your car to be 100% Xray, so go out and get some Tamiya shocks, slap em on, and be a little different!
RandomFellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 08:14 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
The Hawaiian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: by a lake, FL
Posts: 1,810
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

thats not different...everyone want those babies
__________________
Justin "haole boy" Perry USCG (CGC Firebush)
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility, da BEST clay off-road track in Florida.
!!Treat me the way you want to be Treated!!Race me the way you want to be Raced!!
The Hawaiian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 07:00 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowcel View Post
I'm having a lot of problems with them. I'm having problems getting droop out of one of them when I put them on any of the inner three upper holes. I have to rebuild them every race. This evening I finally got the car setup right, or at least I thought I did. Then the next thing I knew the spring came off the rear shock because I had the length as long as possible to get the droop. Basicly, I'm just not having any luck with them. It seems like I have one problem after another.

So, I'm either going to get a new set of XRay shocks or a new set of Tamiya shocks. I'm going to start fresh either way. My other option is to just get a new car.

My other T2 is running great and I am having no problems with the shocks on it.
Exactly how much droop are you trying to get, where the shocks aren't long enough?

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 08:14 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
lowcel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Exactly how much droop are you trying to get, where the shocks aren't long enough?

Skiddins
The shocks are long enough, one of them just won't go down far enough without assistance. I am trying to get 2.5 - 3mm.
__________________
Team Whopperjawed Racing
This hobby is going to $5 me to death.
lowcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 08:16 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
rcterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: No mans land.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowcel View Post
The shocks are long enough, one of them just won't go down far enough without assistance. I am trying to get 2.5 - 3mm.
You don't have the adjustable pistons in there do you?
__________________
Φ
Glitter Lidz - "My driving doesn't shine but my lid does!!"
rcterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 08:26 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
lowcel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcterp View Post
You don't have the adjustable pistons in there do you?
Nope.
__________________
Team Whopperjawed Racing
This hobby is going to $5 me to death.
lowcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 08:30 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

I would check what is wrong with the shock that gives problems. If the car was not bought new, I would check all of them. Xray sells every part individually so you might be able to get off with a lot less expense than buying a new set of TRF shocks.

I use the adjustable shocks and my car behaves very nicely but I built mine from new.

I admit TRF shocks are easier to build, but the result is the same.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X academygaz Electric On-Road 10619 01-01-2015 04:36 PM
XRAY T2009 bola Electric On-Road 2679 07-06-2014 06:25 PM
NEW XRAY T2 ddesros2 Electric On-Road 5873 02-12-2012 06:56 PM
LOOKING FOR A TAMIYA TL-01 OR TT magilla66 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 8 12-15-2008 01:53 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:35 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net