Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Cosel 13A P.S Questions >

Cosel 13A P.S Questions

Cosel 13A P.S Questions

Old 02-23-2004, 03:48 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default Cosel 13A P.S Questions

I got this Cosel 13 A power supply off Ebay For 18$ about 1 1/2 months ago and It worked fine. I put 2 chargers i believe to it (millenium pro, Millenium)and It just shut off. When i checked it out and flipped switch on/off it still didn't work. I put a Custom Switch to it and i thought might be that, But it wasnt. I opened it up searched for a fuse it had one but it was good... . Well So i plugged it back in and let it plugged for about 1 min. I started smelling something burning in it, also started to get hot.I opened it back and touched where it was hot, it was coming from the Power capaciters I believe it is. I have no clue what happened to it considering only used it about 2 times. Anyone have any Idea what might of happened?
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 04:05 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

The only time mine stopped working was when I had the voltage output adjusted too high. Just try putting your voltage output down, and plug it in again. I have two of them, and they are great power supplies. I run my Millennium Pro, and my Quasar Pro off of one. My other PS powers my Tire Truer.

I hope this helps. If not, let your question be heard on this thread (Cosel PS thread):

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...t=how+you+plug

There are alot of people there that can surely help you.

-etzkev
etzkev is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 04:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

Turn left = down(voltage)?
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 04:15 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Yep! If you turn it left (remember: lefty loosie! ), that will lower the voltage output. Just like un-screwing something!
etzkev is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 04:15 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

but the PS doesnt even turn On...
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 04:15 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

It won't even turn on?
etzkev is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 04:16 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

It just Gets hot and smell
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 04:18 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

Originally posted by etzkev
It won't even turn on?
correct Light wont turn on
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 04:18 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Oh man! I'm not really sure what to tell you. It could be fried. I'm really not sure though. Maybe some one from the other thread can answer this.

-etzkev
etzkev is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 04:21 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

qierd how it just shutoff was working and saw my stuff cut power and it was the Ps..
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 07:31 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
Rob Hochberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 457
Default

You get what you pay for... how much are those things? like 15 bucks? You're lucky your chargers didn't fry.
Rob Hochberg is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 07:32 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

yea $17.99
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 09:38 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
 
GTO2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Don't Blink !!
Posts: 2,264
Default

I have 2 Cosel 22A 15V and 12.5A 12V both are working fine. I use Pulsar C and Robi charger.
Maybe 2 chargers makes it overload or something. change the faulty cap to a larger value and try use it for one charger first. See how much amp it draws during charging if it ever gets to work. How old is the PS anyway?
GTO2 is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 10:00 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
EddieO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,417
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

These are quality power supplies. The reason they were cheap was because they were used, not because they are poorly made. They are from some industrial outlet or possibly one of the armed forces surplus. They often replace stuff LONG before its needing it, but in their line of work, its a must to prevent failure.

Like all electronic things, sometimes they fail for who knows what reason....

Later EddieO
EddieO is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 12:27 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

I have one of these power suppies, and I run two chargers on it at no less than 6 amps each. It gets warm, so I place it on its side so the large aluminum heatsink is exposed (instead of it sitting on it). One time it cut out, I don't know why. When I got home, I plugged it in, and it worked fine, and has worked fine ever since. I have been using it for close to 6 months now. Power output is very stable, even under load.

I say, for $18, thats the best $20 spot I have spent in RC.
PitCrew is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.