R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2010, 07:40 PM   #166
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icey101 View Post
Ordered my transponders early March (charged then)...they finally arrived in the mail today.

I have not plugged them in or tried to use them yet, but one issue I really do not like is how the transponder number is not really visible. It appears the number was stamped on the housing, then when it was all glued it faded a bit on the bottom, anyone else notice this?
I think its the fact that the case is thin, with the black components behind it makes it hard to read. The early pictures I saw had the number printed in black. Easier to read in black.



The upgrade path is not really worth it. Probably cheaper to sell your current transponder and just buy a new one. Plus it helps out other racers and not MyLaps. I'm sure they want to take all the old ones off the market to keep the prices inflated.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 10:26 AM   #167
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BNiels707 View Post
I placed an order in January (the 16th I believe) and still have not heard anything (except to keep waiting).

I'm guessing like everything with this stupid 'upgrade,' the reality of the situation is pretty far removed from what they are telling people.
I ordered the upgrade in Dec. The transponder arrived yesterday

Gorden
__________________
Gorden
light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 11:20 AM   #168
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

About three weeks ago I was finally told to send my old transponder in. This was by far the best part of the process, from the time I sent mine in to receiving the new one was about 5 days. Glad this whole upgrade is behind me.

If anyone hasn't received their upgrade yet, I would be contacting MyLaps.
BNiels707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 12:40 PM   #169
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I got mine earlier this month. I just wish they didn't use UPS to send to Canada. UPS are extortionists. I got charged $43.27 in brokerage fees for single transponder in an envelope not much larger than a regular letter. So in the end it cost me around $150 US and took 2 months from when I ordered it.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 12:54 PM   #170
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,908
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by locked View Post
I got mine earlier this month. I just wish they didn't use UPS to send to Canada. UPS are extortionists. I got charged $43.27 in brokerage fees for single transponder in an envelope not much larger than a regular letter. So in the end it cost me around $150 US and took 2 months from when I ordered it.
I see some serious problems with companies that do that. $20 for an envelope size, let alone 43.27... Monopoly anyone? We need a competitor to drive costs down.
__________________
Lost in RC limbo
inpuressa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 01:25 PM   #171
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inpuressa View Post
I see some serious problems with companies that do that. $20 for an envelope size, let alone 43.27... Monopoly anyone? We need a competitor to drive costs down.
To clarify, the $43.27 was charged by UPS (United Parcel Service) for bringing it over the border. That is on top of the $20 US that Mylaps charged for shipping. They could have just mailed it priority with tracking through USPS and I would have not had to pay someone to give me my package which they were already paid to deliver. I would accept paying a few dollars more, but when it is almost half the cost of the PT and the PT so small... grrr
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 02:54 PM   #172
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

upgrade to RC4 will ramdom no. send back to you !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 04:24 PM   #173
Tech Master
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

To the folks in Canada - you can clear packages through Custom's yourself. When you have something shipped via ground transportation by FedEx UPS, DHL, etc. you can request that the item be held at the depot for pickup. You then need to do a few things, all of which is detailed in this thread:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/canadian...e-fee-ups.html

I've cleared packages through Custom's before, and the process is simple. You need to have the time, however, so you need to decide if it's worth it. Here in Calgary, the CBSA and UPS are about 5 minutes apart, so it's really no more effort than going to the depot to pick up a package.

For me, I upgraded 13 transponders, and ended up saving almost $70. That was worth it!
__________________
Ken Miller
T4 2015
CRC Twenty5
Dog Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 04:34 PM   #174
Tech Master
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

It looks like they've changed up the packaging of the TP's a bit. I ordered RC4's, and the wires appear to be non-replaceable as the package looks to be epoxied. From their website, RC4's looked to be openable, whereas the hybrid's looked to be epoxied.

Bummer. The nice thing is that I have a bunch of replacement wires that I can use for something else.
__________________
Ken Miller
T4 2015
CRC Twenty5
Dog Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:22 PM   #175
Tech Adept
 
Robby368's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 237
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog Bone View Post
It looks like they've changed up the packaging of the TP's a bit. I ordered RC4's, and the wires appear to be non-replaceable as the package looks to be epoxied. From their website, RC4's looked to be openable, whereas the hybrid's looked to be epoxied.

Bummer. The nice thing is that I have a bunch of replacement wires that I can use for something else.
MyLaps encases EVERYTHING in epoxy, even the loops and coax converter. That way you can't get inside it and figure out their secrets.

Also, I have two rc4 hybrids with broken wires right at the epoxy. It's probably because they use that stiff, brittle wire. But they've monopolized the industry, what can you do.
__________________
Before you judge someone, walk a mile in their shoes. Then you'll be a mile away and have their shoes.
Robby368 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 07:05 PM   #176
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 588
Default

. But they've monopolized the industry, what can you do.


use trackmate system way cheaper
TeamThibault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 08:29 PM   #177
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,284
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robby368 View Post
MyLaps encases EVERYTHING in epoxy, even the loops and coax converter. That way you can't get inside it and figure out their secrets.

Also, I have two rc4 hybrids with broken wires right at the epoxy. It's probably because they use that stiff, brittle wire. But they've monopolized the industry, what can you do.
You can replace the wires...need a bit of soldering skill though..

Basically, strip the outside casing off with a knife, then take a hot soldering iron (preferably with a flat tip), and heat the epoxy that is covering the solder points for the wires. The epoxy will melt away, so you can then use a knife blade to then remove the material. I suggest doing this a few times to make sure you don't go too far each time.
Once you get to the solder points, just clean it all up with a blade again, and resolder in the new wires. One thing to be aware of (and this is certainly the case on the Pure's) is that the red and black wires are swapped over.

To close it all up, I just covered the case in heatshrink, and used a sharpie to colour the exposed end, leaving a little space for the LED to blink through

Now have nice short wires on the case, and it's all black stealth, although doesn't clip into the holder any more. Bare in mind as well, no warranty on that anymore, but it can be done
Attached Thumbnails
NEW MyLaps Transponder-img_4384.jpg  
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | MuchMore |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMB Transponder Cloning Terry_S Electric On-Road 449 05-20-2013 12:11 PM
IMPORTANT: New Product Arrival Alert! (July 2009) rcmart rcMart.com Mega Online R/C Marketplace 6 07-12-2009 08:49 PM
IMPORTANT: New Product Arrival Alert! (January 2009) rcmart rcMart.com Mega Online R/C Marketplace 46 04-23-2009 08:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net