R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-01-2009, 12:19 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,139
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default AMB Transponder repair

Has anyone tried taking an AMB transponder a part to fix it? I broke the wires off mine at the case and I really don't want to buy another one.

I was able to get one end of the case open but everything inside is encapsulated in some type of resin. Is there a solvent that will dissolve the resin so the PCB will pull out and I can re-solder wires?
__________________
Brent Klingforth
Sponsors: Awesomatix USA ~ Roche USA ~ ORCA ~ AVID Bearings ~ R1 Wurks
TQ Wire ~ Montech ~ WTF ~ BSR Racing Tires ~ 2mm Design ~ Helix Designs
5280 Raceway
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
bkspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 01:01 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I've never taken a PT apart, but if they are anything like the house transponders they are filled with silicone and you will more than likely destroy it trying to take it apart. My local track owner sent our house transponders off to have the batteries replaced (I believe it was somewhere in Australia, not sure of the company name), so it may be possible to have someone else do it but may be cheaper in the end to just buy another one. Having said all that, you had might as well give it a go since it is useless anyway and you really won't be out anything if you can't fix it.

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 01:13 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Send it into MRT and get it cloned. Maybe they can fix it as well. LINK
__________________
SMOKEM --- XPRESS --- MONTECH --- SRT
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 05:05 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Arrow

Depending on the age, AMB has replaced them from $0 - to almost full price.??? Not sure what the new company (My-laps) will do... but a ph call is a cheep way to find out.

If you've bought a PT in the last few years, it comes with instuctions on how to replace the leads... used to be a PDF on AMBs site.. but I haven't found it on My-laps.

There is a couple of threads about repair in the nitro on-road, and electronics forums... probably here too.... might want to search them.

Or you can get it cloned. I'm sure you'ed be happy with the results.
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 02:39 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default amb transponder resin

Any luck with finiding how to dissolve the resin in an AMB transponder?
hooperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 07:36 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,373
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Torch I did the same on mine broke the wire right at the end so crack the case open and just soldered another wire at the wire that it's left of the amb transponder problem fix and Then I shrink wrap it...
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 08:27 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
bboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 639
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jochim_18 View Post
Torch I did the same on mine broke the wire right at the end so crack the case open and just soldered another wire at the wire that it's left of the amb transponder problem fix and Then I shrink wrap it...
+1, did the same to mine. I'm not sure if I even had a 1/4'' of wire sticking out of the resin.
__________________
Hotbodies D8-Werks B6/2057-Byrons-Orion LiFe-HiTec Servos-Airtronics M11 2.4
bboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 01:47 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
ah_DaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Just want to share so people stop getting rip off spending $$ to fix, get another one / clone.. etc.
The wire on mine ripped at the end, so I cut open part of the case at the bottom. Using a knife carefully/ slowly remove most of the epoxy until you can reach the two solder tap. And just simply solder new wire and I use glue gun to cover the hole. Then use sticker / velcro to cover up.


ah_DaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 01:30 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

does anyone have an idea how to make those lips back on the transponder? I bought one second hand with the lips cut off. There is a chassis cutout the size of the transponder on my new chassis but i need those lips otherwise it falles through the cutout .

I thought of a smal carbon strip or something but maybe someone else already got a better idea.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 06:27 AM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ah_DaN View Post
Just want to share so people stop getting rip off spending $$ to fix, get another one / clone.. etc.
The wire on mine ripped at the end, so I cut open part of the case at the bottom. Using a knife carefully/ slowly remove most of the epoxy until you can reach the two solder tap. And just simply solder new wire and I use glue gun to cover the hole. Then use sticker / velcro to cover up. ]
Awesome tip! Did this lastnight. Worked great! I found that using a hot soldering iron will melt the resin off to make it go a lil faster.
37racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 09:36 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
does anyone have an idea how to make those lips back on the transponder? I bought one second hand with the lips cut off. There is a chassis cutout the size of the transponder on my new chassis but i need those lips otherwise it falles through the cutout .

I thought of a smal carbon strip or something but maybe someone else already got a better idea.
Just cut a peice of lexan out to the shape of a transponder plus the ears and then servo tape the transponder to it.
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 03:53 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

thanks, great idea!!
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 01:44 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
CSF0623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by ah_DaN View Post
Just want to share so people stop getting rip off spending $$ to fix, get another one / clone.. etc.
The wire on mine ripped at the end, so I cut open part of the case at the bottom. Using a knife carefully/ slowly remove most of the epoxy until you can reach the two solder tap. And just simply solder new wire and I use glue gun to cover the hole. Then use sticker / velcro to cover up.


Thank you very much for the tutorial!! Got my AMB working again after following the pics. I used my soldiering iron and just melted away the plastic and epoxy and put new wires in....good as new!!
__________________
Carl F.
ACTIVRC.COM P1BRAND
CSF0623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMB Transponder Cloning Terry_S Electric On-Road 449 05-20-2013 12:11 PM
Average cost of AMB transponder repair Cain Electric Off-Road 13 09-27-2009 02:35 PM
Fixing AMB transponder Roelof Nitro On-Road 22 07-29-2008 09:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:12 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net