R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-31-2009, 02:46 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default is my power supply adapter enought?

have accuel 6 charger 5000 2s lipo. The power supply says output of 2A at 12V is that enough?
wantboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 02:58 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Not unless you plan to charge at less then 2 amps...I'd suggest a minimum of 10 amps for a power supply, more would be better.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 03:23 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

what size is the connector for that charger? how long would it take at 2amp?
the charger is only rated a 5a why get 10a?
wantboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 09:46 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

If you use 2A vs 10A, it would take 5 times as long (in theory) to charge your batteries.

But since your charger is rated at 5A then you are only charging your batteries at 40% of the speed your charger is capable of charging at.

You want to have 10A because you may want to run something else off your power supply, for example, another charger... also for "safety"... some cheaper PS's that are rated at 10A... may only go to 9.7A before crapping out... or maybe your 5A rated power supply may need 5.3A to actually run... so if you only bought a 5A rated PS for your 5A rated charger... it "could" (correct me if i am wrong)... fry your power supply...

Always better to have a power supply that can give a bit more juice than what you are plugging into it.

Kinda like... if you are going on a 100km trip... you don't want to only exactly put 100km worth of gas into your car's gas tank...

long story short, you want more amps because sh*t happens.
__________________
Ta04-TRF, EVO 5
Futaba
KO Propo
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 12:39 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ok . im not looking for an actual power supply just AC adapter. also not sure if i will run the full 5A on the lipo may get too hot.,
wantboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 03:43 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
PDX-Spike's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 42
Posts: 1,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wantboost View Post
ok . im not looking for an actual power supply just AC adapter. also not sure if i will run the full 5A on the lipo may get too hot.,
Five amps is appropriate to charge a 5000mAh LiPo.
__________________
Roger Christal - Team Timezone (Hooligans), Rose City Scale Racing, ROAR Member until 9/16/2012
Support the locals: Timezone Raceway, Timezone II, R/C Plus, Portland RC Raceway
McKune Design, Slapmaster Tools, Houston's Engine Service
PDX-Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 04:28 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wantboost View Post
ok . im not looking for an actual power supply just AC adapter. also not sure if i will run the full 5A on the lipo may get too hot.,
If you are using a DC powered charger you will want a power supply not just an AC adapter. Typically those can not take the stresses of RC.

As for why 10a? As stated earlier...you may want to use it for something else later on like a 2nd charger or tire truer.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 05:13 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

5A is right for RC.... If you are charging a 5000mAh battery, this means it will take an hour to charge it, which is pretty standard. It is probably not going to get too hot (I haven't ran lipos yet, but I am pretty sure about it from what I have read.)

A power supply used for RC usually takes 110-220VAC and converts it to 12VDC. The difference between a PS and an AC adapter as stated before is that they typically are not able to output 10A or even 5A at 12V.
__________________
Ta04-TRF, EVO 5
Futaba
KO Propo
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
novak smart tray se issues turboxrayt1fk05 Electric On-Road 33 10-23-2007 12:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net